We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cove Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband booked this motel for us to stay as a family for a few days. We have rented houses in different locations on the Cape over the years, mainly Chatham, Harwich, and Yarmouthport and wanted to see what Orleans was like. I must admit for $200 per night I was expecting something alot nicer. We travel alot for vacation in the US and Canada and this is not a $200 per nite place to stay, high season on the Cape or not. It is an average motel, very old looking, rooms are just ok, outdated. Our room had a toilet that made a horrible noise every time it was flushed, an exhaust fan in the bathroom that made a loud noise and had dead bugs in the ceiling light in the bathroom,. If it was less than $100 per nite I would recommend it, but it it is your typical average MOTEL and definitely not worth $200 per nite. I didn't interact with any of the staff so I cannot comment on the helpfulness nor did we use the pool (we went to the beach which is close by).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank roselynnbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    77
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
55
52
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We reserved 3 nights for July 4th weekend. Very nice proprty layout with quiet surroundings despite being on a somewhat busy road. Great pool area with pretty view of the bay. Lots of trees and greenery around and a nice little walking path down to the dock by the water. Rooms were clean and grounds well-kept. Very convenient location with lots of eating and shopping places in walking distance, and Skaket and Nauset Beaches just minutes away by car. My only issue was the restrictions on number of people in the rooms. Good advice to call ahead with the number of people and ages in your group so they can accommodate accordingly. As I did not know this, our group had to separate and use another hotel for 2 nights due to no vacancy at The Cove. They should definitely clarify this on their website to avoid confusion and inconveniences. Otherwise, would definitely stay here again and just book two rooms next time!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtcc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The staff was very friendly and professional. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious for the entire family and all of our stuff. Our children enjoyed the picnic area by the water, and I found it a pleasant spot to devour a chapter of a favorite book with my morning coffee.Orleans is a great location for exploring the Cape from, and The Cove is a welcoming and homey spot to use as a base for the whole family.

Room Tip: worth getting 2nd floor room for the water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_from_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gb
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We spent 4 nights at the Cove Motel.
The staff were most helpful with any questions.
The rooms very clean and cleaned every day. The rooms are quite large and have good facilities including a fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. Fresh coffee every day and kitchen towel.
Free internet connection is also available.
The rooms are well furnished with a comfortable bed, blankets rather than quilt, a table and chairs and patio furniture on the shared courtyard. Your car can be parked right outside your room.
Some might say it needs redecorating, we feel that cleanliness is more important.
As mentioned by others there is a quiet period at night so not the place for parties but very suitable for those that do want to sleep at night.
Orleans is conveniently located on the centre of Cape Cod.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

My best friend came out for a visit over Labor Day. Opted to do a "staycation" and could not have picked a better spot. My friends bus from Logan was late so I called ahead and they gave me the room number and said they would open the room and leave the key.

We were waiting for the possible hurricane - things were handled very calmly. I loved the patios outside the rooms and the quiet hours really were a benefit.

It was such a comfortable place that I would recommend and stay again.

Loved being able to walk to breakfast, ice cream and dinner.

Very nice place.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank capeWinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

2 star gem. Nice property across from the Christmas Tree shop on route 28 in Orleans. Large rooms with everything you need. Comfortable Queen bed felt brand new. Roomy sitting area with large sleep sofa, table and chairs, TV to view from bed or couch. Gazebo and picnic tables near the water. Tables and chairs outside the rooms to enjoy a morning coffee. Bakery and ice cream shop just steps away. The room was equipped with touches you expect in a higher rated hotel like hairdryer, coffee maker, refridgerator, microwave, iron, ironing board, shampoos, soaps, and lotions.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MINNEAPOLIS
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

My family and I stayed at the Cove for 2 nights, the last week of July. We rented 3 rooms, being 5 adults and 8 children. Our experience was fantastic. Check in was easy and quick. We booked our rooms a day before we arrived as the hotel that we were supposed to go to had a terrible review and we were hesitant to stay there. The Cove was extremely accommodating!

The rooms were very clean, large in size, and one room even had 2 bathrooms. The rooms were easily accessible and very convenient. Each room had an outside table and chairs, which came in handy to hang up wet towels. It was also to spend time outside in the evenings. There was a fridge, microwave, and even a stove top in 2 of our rooms. It was nice to have snacks and breakfast readily accessible. The grounds around the hotel are beautiful. The view of the cove in so peaceful. It was wonderful to have a picnic table to have dinner and snacks on. The pool area was clean and the pool was warm. The kids had LOTS of fun!

The hotel is within walking distance of a really cute bakery and ice cream shop, as well as a few restaurants. The location was perfect for us, being close to both Nauset and Skaket beach. We will definitely stay here again, we can't say enough good things about it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kagmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
3.6 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Governor Prence Inn
Governor Prence Inn
#5 of 8 in Orleans
144 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Motel

Property: Cove Motel
Address: 13 S Orleans Rd, Orleans, MA 02653-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Motel Orleans, MA - Cape Cod
Cove Hotel Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing