We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Yardarm is our local go-to pub for a good dinner.”

The Yardarm Resturant
Ranked #17 of 57 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: The Yardarm Restaurant is a small place with a big imprint. In the last decades we've prided ourselves on being the go-to meeting spot for locals in Orleans. On any given day, you'll find townsfolk like fisherman, physicians and plumbers all sharing stories over drinks or watching the Patriots. The Yardarm is a place where friends meet and where new friends are made. A big reason for our popularity is our food. We have a variety of dishes in different styles, from steaks to Gumbos but there's no one else quite does fish like we do. In fact, the Yardarm is where the local fisherman go to eat. We even serve forgotten traditional favorites like Cod Cheeks. Then more come in for the friendly service. Everyone from the owners down to the wait staff has made it their utmost priority to serve you well, and you'll definitely notice the smiles on our faces and attention to detail as you slowly realize like you're dining at a friend's place. There's no where else quite like the Yardarm!
Orleans, MA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Yardarm is our local go-to pub for a good dinner.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Yardarm offers a wide variety of good food. We like the fish and chips (2 sizes), steak tips, broiled fish dinner, spinach salad, salad with broiled chicken, and their excellent hamburgers. . Food isn't fancy but tastes like the cooks know what they are doing. Servings are not as generous as they used to be, but this place is still one of my husband's favorite places. We like to go early for lunch and/or dinner, as this little place fills up and there is often a wait to get a table. Wait staff is friendly and accommodating. As long as you enjoy an old fashion pub atmosphere and good food, this is always a good choice, as long as you are willing to put up with a bit of a wait for a table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudiiPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Yardarm Resturant, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. From our Fish and Chips to our hamburgers, it's so nice to hear that you've tried a variety of our menu items. It's great to know that you always receive friendly service, as well. Of course, I appreciate your patience with the wait, and I hope you'll come by to see us soon.

Best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    138
    45
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Big burgers, extremely friendly staff!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went with fiancee for quick lunch on mother's day.
The place is a really nice diner, with the owner being this very sweet older lady, immediately starting conversation with us while we waited for our food. She had a really good relationship with the waitresses, helping them out and all in all, it seemed it was one of those really relaxed family diners (not like the one I know where everyone snaps at each other and tension is high).
Anyways, we started of with grande nachos and ordered a burger w/fries each.
The burgers are huge! Very tasty and filling.
Mine came very burned, but they immediately replaced it and apologized profusely! No big deal, accidents happen!
We were very pleased with this place and will visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Rare affordable restaurant on Cape Cod.........”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

is why locals flock to The Yardarm year round! I have mixed feelings about letting y'all in on the local's secret but others have tipped me off when I'm away and consider this payback. Entrees start at $9.95 on the Tavern section of the menu for one of my favorites: homemade fish cakes with baked beans. Last night we had swordfish tips with linguini (delicious!) for $14.95 and baked scrod with asparagus for $16.95 as our focus is seafood when we're on the Cape. There were 14 nightly blackboard specials in addition to a menu with something for everyone. Try it, you'll like it BUT don't mention my name.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield Falls, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Burgers this side of the Mason/Dixon Line!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stopped in for a burger and a beer. What we got was an ice cold draft and one of the best burgers we've ever had. We happened to show up on KY Derby day. The crowd was loud and the mood was festive. Overall, one of my best tavern experiences to date.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, CT
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is an excellent restaurant. The food was superbly cooked. Its a place the locals go. You don't have to dress up. I recommend the orange ginger calamari.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dbkusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yardarm Resturant also viewed

 

Been to The Yardarm Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing