We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Favorite”
Review of Land Ho!

Land Ho!
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Riverside, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We always stop at Land Ho when we visit Orleans. Tables are small and close, but the atmosphere is convivial. The nachos are the best in town and they do burgers and sandwiches very well. This time, my husband ordered the steak special and asked that it be cooked medium - it arrived seriously overdone. Probably best to stick with what they do best!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    226
    81
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, CT
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Old Time Favorite Stop”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We rarely make a late night stop at Land Ho, but being our last night on the Cape on a 16 night stay, the situation presented itself. We had cleaned up the cottage we had rented for two weeks, and packed the van for the trip home. We had a late, late night card game planned with family who were at the Academy Playhouse seeing Les Mes. We were too late for the regular menu, but were in the mood for Burgers, and it was outstanding. They make the very best Kale Soup I've ever had, which went great with the burger cooked to perfection,

The biggest surprise to us was the added space they have added, a few years back I might add! We've been in there since, but always used the main entrance in the rear, but this time happened to park by their "other" rear entrance, where they also have outside dining. We've noticed that before, but thought it was a different place. Live and learn, but no matter which way you get in there, you're going to have great food in a fun atmosphere, with a unique "Special Board" chock full of great menu items. You'll also see many locals there, a good sign when looking for a restaurant. Bring the little ones, too, it's one of the best spots to entertain them with "I Spy". For variety, you can also try their location in Harwich,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeridenTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food & quick service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Both my husband and I had the fried scallops for dinner on our last night in Orleans. The restaurant was really busy, but we were seated and our food was served quickly. Overall, good food and quick place to eat in Orleans.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average on all fronts”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are in Orleans for most of the summer and several times off season, and keep wanting to like Land Ho. We have tried this restaurant 10 times. Off-season, the bar is great and the food is good. During the summer, though, it's all just average. Even when we have tweaked our summer beach days to beat the crowds for dinner (arriving at 5pm sharp), the reception has been impersonal and the service has been inconsistent at best. On a positive note, the local seafood offerings are very good. Steak or chicken options are not the way to go,though (have never before had a $23 "medium-rare" steak cooked gray-brown all the way through, or breaded chicken tenders that sauce couldn't rescue). Bottom line: As much as we like the decor, we won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClamSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, NH
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Casual and fun!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Love this place and have been here many times! We love the casual atmosphere. Although the tables are tiny so larger folks take heed as you may not feel so comfortable
sitting here, which is a shame. Food is consistently good, pub fare. We enjoy it all year round!

Helpful?
Thank cbhnewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Land Ho! also viewed

 

Been to Land Ho!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing