We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Being One of The Best Chinese Restaurants on the Cape!!!!”
Review of Hunan Gourmet III

Hunan Gourmet III
Ranked #48 of 57 Restaurants in Orleans
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Back to Being One of The Best Chinese Restaurants on the Cape!!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

For a while this place was a mess with very poorly flavored run down food. It is now back to being an "A class" Chinese restaurant with a huge menu, fresh ingredients, and MAJOR flavor. The restaurant and buffet are nice, but I really enjoy the take out. Food is ready when promised and the portions are fair. It is a little pricey, but everything is so good it is worth it. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area. Be sure to get the crab ran goons...the spring rolls are a little disappointing, but that's the only "complaint". The staff is very friendly and accommodating - even went out of their way to make special chicken and broccoli for a customer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spindrift2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the better Chinese restaurants on Cape Cod”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Cape Cod is not known for good Chinese food, but this place rises to the occasion. OK.. It's not China Town in Boston, or NYC, but for an area that is usually cursed with bland Pilgrim Chinese food, this place is actually not bad. Love the fried rice ( they will even make it without egg for me!) with shrimp or beef or chicken. The lobster is done three ways, and they even have Peking Duck!
No atmosphere to speak of, but a good solid dinner at a reasonable price.
Over several visits we have seen Asian families dining there, which leads me to believe there is a western menu, and a " real" menu. I just wish I spoke Chinese to be able to order the real stuff!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastWindSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“TAKE OUT”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Never a problem , take out is ready when they say and it's always good . We usually get a Hunan special , fried rice and egg rolls .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 86GeorgeW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“itty bitty portions”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I went for lunch, about 1:30p.m. I was the only one in the place, including the bar. I ordered #19 from the luncheon specials. Orange chicken with friced rice and 3 crab rangoon. The portions are tiny. Merely a tasting. Which is unusual for Chinese portions. 3 small crab rangoon, were tasteless. A quarter cup of rice with a bit of soy sauce mixed in, a pale tan. You could hardly see the pork bits, 3 peas, 2 slivers of carrot, I think, and a bit of scrambled egg. The orange chicken was about a half cup of chicken chunks, many so dry, I could not chew them. There was nothing to "take home". No wonder I was the only one there. Like many old Chinese restaurants on Cape Cod, they are struggling to keep the lights on. I don't expect this place to be in operation much longer, unless their evening "buffet" is extraordinary. I will never know. The Double Dragon on the other side of town has no competion to fear from Hunan Gourmet III. Stay away!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank commentmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Some new items on the Buffet Tables”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We've been enjoying the buffet here for quite a while, but it's been about 2 years since our last visit.
They have added a some sushi items to the buffet as well as a sushi bar.
This is always a very dependable and filling meal, good efficient service and good quality food.
The have peel and eat shrimp, crab legs and lots of noodles, rice and vegetable and meat dishes. Favorites like boneless BBQ pork, chicken wings, etc. etc.
they also now feature a selection of ice cream novelties, Hood ice cream and of course almond cookies.
There is nothing fancy here....but it's good food and very reasonable. If you have a coupon from stop and shop or the weekly paper you can get 10% off...for 2 people with no drinks, except tea, it will cost you $25.00 plus tip!
They serve beer-wine and I think other drinks....soda also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Capemalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunan Gourmet III also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Gourmet III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing