We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is wonderful of quaint town”
Review of Orleans Inn

Orleans Inn
Ranked #31 of 58 Restaurants in Orleans
Price range: US$5 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Elegant waterfront dining in a Victorian Sea Captain's mansion.
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Food and service is good. Bathrooms is clean but could be updated but it is probably due to a VERY OLD building. The view is wonderful, best from the bar area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DaleAnn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. The Inn was built in 1875 and is a Victorian Sea Captain Mansion. We did a multi-million dollar renovation. We are known for the cleanest bathrooms and friendly service. We are glad you enjoyed the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We just vacationed at the Cape off season at the end of September. Restaurants in Orleans all still open with a large, affluent permanent base of customers. We ate at 7 different places and all were full, busy and delicious - all except this place which was none of those. There was only one other customer so it was kind of spooky, although the view of the coveis spectacular. Prices were high - this being our highest bill of the seven. My steak (seafooded out at this point) was chewy but cooked to order. We won't return with all the other choices available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank WestHartford_CTTomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

We are glad you enjoyed the spectacular water views. We have 319 seats in 4 dining areas. When one dining room is full we open another so guests do not have to wait. The Inn is 6 stories with guest rooms and several dining levels. You may not be aware of the personal service of up to 1000 guests daily as the Inn provides intimacy and privacy. We have not increased our prices in 3 years and have been rated among the best values for restaurants on Cape Cod. Our family takes great pride in serving our wonderful guests that return to the Inn for the experience. We are thankful to them for the appreciation they have for the effort our family has made over the past 17 years saving this historic institution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

eat a day before in awfull restaurant and decide to go princetown and start to select some restaurant in half way ,the dock downstair have nice and quite view ,the service was polite need more friendly .i eat the duck salad ,was ok look more chicken than duck but taste good .after i have the salmon ,was nice cook serve with rice and asparagus .. good to stop there for drink and food need more create dish to make this restaurant the place to stop in cape cod

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robinson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for the nice review. I am glad you found us. It is nice to be appreciated. We try our best. The deck is very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've been on the Cape for 3 weeks now, and are "restauranted" out! We hadn't been to the Orleans in yet, a staple in our annual trck to the Cape, We shared a lobster salad an the fish tacos, and didn't dissaoint! Among the best of the lobster salads we had. Tacos were also very good, It was a pleasant lunch on the deck, as the weather was perfect. Add a pleasantc service group made a good day better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ciaotebaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review. The deck has been very popular. We are keeping it open as long as the weather is nice and staff can accommodate the guests. We will continue to serve in the Tavern on the Cove throughout the year. Our lobster salad is known as the best and we are glad you enjoyed your meal. We do not have fish tacos so you may have been mistaken but we have many other options. The staff have been wonderful and we are glad you enjoyed the service and overall experience at the Inn. Hope to see you again. You really made our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Ate at the Orleans Inn last night. The family loves the view from the deck. The view is wonderful, the service is excellent but I would have to rate the food as fair. We live on the Cape and have gone to the Inn occasionally. The menu seems to never change. I see the same things on the menu time after time.
My husband and son ordered the scallops. They were unattractive on the plate and had little taste. A little butter could have really helped.
I want to see the Inn continue but they could use a little innovation in the kitchen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pescerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for your suggestions. We are actually working on a fall menu. The summer menu is so popular we can't take items off or guests complain. We handle such volume in season we stay with tried and true favorites. I am amazed at how efficiently the chef accommodates individual requests while serving an average of 1000 diners a day in season with 319 dining seats in 3 distinct dining areas as well as room service for the hotel.We are able to get a little more creative off season. Thanks for your kind comments on service. We are so happy with the staff. Our managers have found an outstanding staff and they have done extraordinarily well with training and experience. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orleans Inn also viewed

 
Orleans, Cape Cod
Orleans, Cape Cod
 

Been to Orleans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing