We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's no place like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Dalton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There's no place like home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I've been coming to the Olde Tavern since I was a little girl - first with my parents, then with my mom after my dad died, then with my own son. Not having been in a few years, I decided to treat myself to a week for my birthday. I was planning on being alone the whole time, but then 3 of my friends came for a couple days to celebrate with me. Brandon, Tony, Sarah, Jena, and David were more than accommodating to all of us and especially to me personally. Every time I have stayed somewhere else on the Cape, I have wished I was back at the Olde Tavern. For first-time visitors and repeat customers alike, this is really a perfect place. The entire place is extremely clean, very safe, within walking or driving distance to anything you need or want to do; very visitor- and family-friendly, and I felt very safe being there as a single woman part of the time. Due to booking late in the season I missed out on a deck room, but my corner room was very quiet and easily accessible and still just a short walk through the back yard to the pool. Brandon, Tony, and David were full of ideas for fun ways for us to spend my birthday weekend with the girls, but the quiet time alone I wanted was also encouraged and celebrated as well. One day a flower delivery arrived for me; not only did they arrange them beautifully for me (thanks to florist Jena being there as well!), but they displayed them on the table in my room so that when we arrived back from the beach, I could see them through the window when we drove in. Little touches like that really make the Olde Tavern feel like a home away from home for me, especially since their family has owned and managed the business for 30+ years now. I'm going back in a couple weeks for a quick weekend, and I'm already planning next year's vacation with them. Thank you again to the entire Bader family and staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsoxrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    43
    27
    19
    13
See reviews for
57
74
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband, baby daughter, and I stayed at this motel for a week. The price was right and the location couldn't be beat. When the weather prevented us from going to the beach, the very friendly staff recommended some excellent nature trails, mini golf, even a drive-in movie theater that was a great option for a small baby. The hotel pool was a great temperature. Free muffins each morning was a nice touch, too. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I've stayed at the Olde Tavern Motel several times over the past few years; usually when I'm visiting the Outer Cape area for short stays. Being in Orleans is a great location as you're within minutes of the best beaches on the Cape and the Olde Tavern is a great hub. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are clean and the property is well maintained....I find it a great value overall and look forward to dropping by for a couple of days in the off season.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The one thing that stands out above all for me is the friendly and helpful service at this motel.
If you value helpful, friendly service this is the place for you. You will not be disappointed. Just got home from our summer trip in Cape Cod. We had another great stay at the Olde Tavern Motel. This year we had to book last minute and due to the last minute nature of our stay our room did not have a room with a deck. It was one of the outer 'wing' rooms instead. The room was spacious, and clean and suited our needs well as a family of four. The location is terrific- Centrally located between ocean and bay beaches allowing easy trips to each and also very close proximity to the cape cod rail trail, shops, and restaurants. The pool at this location is wonderful. My boys enjoyed the pool a great deal and it was a great spot to relax and swim. During our stay we had one day which we were unsure what activities to do, Brandon was helpful and offered many different ideas, finally we decided on trying the Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch out of Provincetown. What a great experience that was for our entire family! We saw many whales, great views, and learned alot.
Olde Tavern Motel was Great service, location, and pool - a great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on an outer 'wing room' this time and it was a pleasant experience. Previously we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Overall, this wasn't a bad place to stay for the money and was actually pretty reasonable considering what other motels on the cape are charging at this time of year.

Its location is convenient to pretty much everything in the Brewster/Orleans area and the rooms were respectable and clean.

I was staying in one of the rooms that did not have a deck so I have no idea whether those rooms felt a little less closed in. But there was really no break, except the sidewalk, between the door to the rooms and the parking lot. There was only 3 feet of distance between the back of my car and the door to my room. That was great for loading and unloading but felt a bit closed in.

The room itself had pretty much everything you'd want and included a mini-fridge. What it didn't have was a microwave. The motel itself had one but it was located halfway across the parking lot in the same closet-like space where the ice machine was located.

The other issue was that the room was very dark. At one point I was trying to read and had every light on in the room and still felt struggled to read without straining.

Otherwise, the staff was very nice and very responsive to questions and requests. The only other comment that I would make is that the continental breakfast doesn't get going til after 8:00 a.m.. Even on vacation, I'm an early bird and, while I"m sure that most people aren't up as early as I am, waiting til 8 for coffee is really pushing it. There were a number of us who were up and headed elsewhere to start our morning.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms with the deck. It might provide a breath of fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mame90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hotel-motel "wings" have been added on to a 200 year old historical building. The rooms are large, well-lit, and comfortable. Nothing is state-of-the-art, but who cares. This is a friendly, happy spot with welcoming hosts, a homey lobby with coffee and pastry, reaslly convenient location, surprisingly nice pool, and excellent value-for-money on Cape Cod. I am a repeat customer and will happily return to my friends at Old Tavern.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikesvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I don't like to write negative reviews, however aside from the lovely enterence lawn and facade and new carpeting it was downhill all the way. The room had energy conserving light bulbs and was very dark. The air conditioner went on and off with a loud noise that kept awakening us all night long. The blankets were so heaverly pilled that I think that was holding them together.The tv set was very small and very old. I don't know how old the acustic tiles on the ceiling were, but they were two shades of brown and very depressing The furniture was so old that the finish was worn off in many places.
Needless to say, I would never stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northandsouthtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldtavernmotel, Manager at Olde Tavern Motel & Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
As the Manager of this Property, I would like to describe the reaction taken in addressing our latest feedback. The Cape Light Compact Light bulbs, have been slowly replaced over this season, in working toward brighter rooms. Instead of waiting for the rest, Tony & Brandon opted to remove and replace the rest of our energy efficient light bulbs. Regarding loud AC's, Many watched the Owners fix the problem, as they finished up on 8/3, an 8 Room A/C replacement project, in addressing all possible AC problems. Therefore, I am confident in ensuring all guests, a nice, quiet Air Conditioner. Now with all rooms up to par with perfectly efficient Air Conditioners, The Owners have acted further, in beginning to order new Televisions, for certain rooms based on recent feedback. It is Clear, the Owners Listen. Please See us in Person, In Giving us a shot to make all good during your stay. All Comments & Feedback are appreciated at the Desk, So We can Make Sure our Guests are happy. Brandon & Tony have begun to offer In-Room Coffee Makers, provide microwaves, & continue to update amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
3.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cove Motel
Cove Motel
#2 of 8 in Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 8 in Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Governor Prence Inn
Governor Prence Inn
#5 of 8 in Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Tavern Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Tavern Motel & Inn

Property: Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
Address: 151 Route 6a, Orleans, MA 02653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olde Tavern Motel & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location is ideal, between Ocean and Bay Beaches! SHORT walk downtown, for all attractions, AND restaurants. Family operated for 30 years, we love being helpful and very friendly. With our rooms constantly being improved, and our pool at 85 degrees everyday, 68% of our 2008 business came from repeat guests! Bike trails, Whale watches, Trips to Nantucket, Fishing -- Brandon is waiting to make your vacation unforgettably special, take advantage of our local connections! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Olde Tavern Motel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Tavern Hotel Orleans
Olde Tavern Motel And Inn
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing