We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Inexpensive Lodging in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Blue Hill
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean Inexpensive Lodging in a Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Olde Tavern Motel and Inn is a family run motel on Route 6A close to the center of town and in a great central location for seeing Cape Cod. It is a one story 1950s style roadside motel with two long wings off of a central reception building with a heated pool in the back. The decor is tired mid-century. It is clean and has been well maintained but not updated. The TV is not a flat screen, the shower curtain is so flimsy that it clings to you when you turn on the water, the lighting is dim, and there are not enough electrical outlets for modern needs. On the positive side the staff is welcoming and entertaining, the grounds are very nice, and the price is right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    43
    27
    19
    13
See reviews for
57
74
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

**Now before you read this and let it influence your decision on staying here, allow me to state we did not see any other rooms. The check-in room had a nice log cabin feel, but the halls were old and dirty and smelled of pot. I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt and say they gave us their shabbiest/oldest room available, and forgot to clean it, maybe...***
Booked this place on booking.com, about 87 dollars a night (for 3 nights).
Had decent 4 star reviews, photos on booking showed a bit outdated, but clean rooms, lush grass, all nice and everything. Arrived at 3 PM to check in. Place looked really worn, everything cracked or peeling, patchy grass with a lot of muddy wet spots. Nothing like in the professional photos.
We see another couple who had been waiting there for over 15 minutes with no one checking them in. A lady came to let us in and started talking to all of us how she waited half an hour to get checked in the day before that, how no one answers the phone (not even the emergency number)... How there is no continental breakfast (despite being advertised) and no one made any coffee the day before. Just letting us know.

At this point my fiancee pulled out yelp reviews on this place. 2 stars, great. Same problems with people waiting and no one checking them in, no coffee of breakfast... No staff...

Anyway, a guy (he was high) comes in, hazily saying how the owner is away for some reason and he is stepping in for him. Gives a monotone overview, limp handshake, and leads us through a funeral home hallway into our room. Small, cramped, out of date everything (50's fridge and tv it seemed, extremely old and stained decor).

The whole room smelled like smoke (despite no smoking sign), was filthy, from sticky carpet to stains on the wood and lamps, extremely stained chars with what seemed cat hair on it, and hair on the shower curtain.
The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Pilled blnket.
Within 15 minutes we spotted 3 small bugs on the wall, took pics, showed it to the guy and got our refund. Wish I took pictures of the dirt for proof too, for they only refunded us for two nights out of three (apparently since we checked in, that counts as staying overnight, even though we barely stayed till 4 PM???), saying it was up to the owner to decide if he was going to refund us for that night.

It's been 5 days and no one got in touch with us, we keep calling each day and the dude keeps saying he can't do anything since the owner isn't back in the motel, but doesn't know (or won't say) when the owner will be back so we can talk to him and get our money back.
We almost went home since the refund money didn't get on our card till 4 days later and everything else seemed booked at the last minute, but managed to find a much, much nicer motel elsewhere, with very nice owners. If you want a good deal and great place with lovely people, go to Eagle Wing Motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have been going to the Olde Tavern Inn since about 1999 when my girls were still small. Since then, we've made the Olde Tavern Inn our spot to stay while on the Cape. The rooms are kept very clean (one of my pet peeves), beds are comfy and it has a nice deck on the back leading to the pool. The staff is always willing to help out in any way possible to help in giving you the best experience on the cape. You feel like you are a part of their family while visiting. It's close to the beach (5-10 minutes away to the national seashore) and they have the Lobster Pound right next door! Very convenient. The pool is located in the back of the motel for a more private experience and is kept in pristine condition! You can't beat the price and the experience. Great for families and/or those that just want to get away and experience a great get away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here for a few weeks while visiting the cape and it was a fantastic stay! It's a great spot with awesome rates and super friendly people. The rooms are clean and well taken care of. Brandon, the owner, is always available to help you with anything you need. He gave me a map and personally noted great places to eat, and the nearest grocery and convenience stores. The pool is great and the motel itself is set back nicely with plenty of room to move around in the parking lot. Helen the housekeeper is excellent too, very friendly and she even got me my personal favorite brand of soap. I would definitely recommend the Old Tavern Motel to anyone visiting the cape!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Great price, spotless/cozy/comfy room, perfect location, wonderful service. Brandon, the owner/ manager goes the extra mile to make sure you are accommodated. If I have to stay in the area again, without hesitation, I would go back to the Olde Tavern Motel

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BDL74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The staff had a wealth of local information and offered me several options to suit my family's needs. The rooms were nice, with kitchen curtains and a weathered wood deck looking onto a peaceful wooded backyard - perfect after a half-day of driving.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich_p_of_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We came here during peak season when Obama was vacationing. This was the only place that had a room to commodate my husband, our infant son and my parents.

The reviews made this place sound great but when we got there it looked run down well more tired and the rooms were dark and unwelcoming. The bathroom had black mold in it which wasn't great as I like a clean bathroom. Overall it was kept clean and didn't have any other faults.
Beware the 'continental breakfast' it is just coffee you serve and prepackaged tiny muffins. No variety in the muffin either. There is no breakfast room its in the main lobby which you pick up.

This place is fine if all you are doing is sleeping for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keshala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
3.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cove Motel
Cove Motel
#2 of 8 in Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 8 in Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Governor Prence Inn
Governor Prence Inn
#5 of 8 in Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Tavern Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Tavern Motel & Inn

Property: Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
Address: 151 Route 6a, Orleans, MA 02653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olde Tavern Motel & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location is ideal, between Ocean and Bay Beaches! SHORT walk downtown, for all attractions, AND restaurants. Family operated for 30 years, we love being helpful and very friendly. With our rooms constantly being improved, and our pool at 85 degrees everyday, 68% of our 2008 business came from repeat guests! Bike trails, Whale watches, Trips to Nantucket, Fishing -- Brandon is waiting to make your vacation unforgettably special, take advantage of our local connections! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Olde Tavern Motel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Tavern Hotel Orleans
Olde Tavern Motel And Inn
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing