We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay with Cape Cod charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governor Prence Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Erving
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrific stay with Cape Cod charm”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I had a great weekend stay at the Governor Prence. Very conveniently located, walk to town and restaurants. Direct access to the bike trail was awesome! A clean, comfortable room, very comfy bed and quite contributed to a great night's sleep. Staff was friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast offered many carb choices (waffles, bagels, muffins, toast, donuts), hard boiled eggs, cereal and fruit. Coffe and juice are available all day. The grounds are very pretty and it's nice to have the pool and big "backyard" so you aren't stuck in a room. We'll be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank goingforadrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review of your stay here!
We are always glad to know that a guest enjoyed their visit here with us.
We have made many improvements here over the years- as well as added many food items to our continental breakfast. It nice to see that our customers notice-- and appreciate the efforts which the staff, owners and I make to try to ensure that our guests enjoy their time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    53
    25
    17
    12
See reviews for
51
47
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff was very helpful and accommodating offering fantastic advice on the area. The rooms were very cleanly and spacious. The location was perfect to take advantage of all that Cape Cod has to offer. For the price, you can't beat the Governor Prence Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
It's great to know that our guest's enjoyed their stay here and we really appreciate it when they share their positive opinions with the audience here on this web-site.
We appreciate it when customers are willing to take the time to write favorable comments regarding their visit here. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is the second time that we stayed at the Governor Prence Inn and we were just as happy the second time around. The room was clean, a nice size with a view of the pool in the back of the motel. A lovely, better than average breakfast was included and all the rooms had free Wi-Fi. It is centrally located in walking distance to a wonderful Ice cream Store. We could not ask for anything more and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We always appreciate it when a satisfied repeat guest spends the time to write a nice positive review of us online! We all work hard here to try to ensure our guest have a positve experience here.
It's unfortunate that our ranking here doesn't reflect the many recent positive reviews which we have received.
This web site does potential customers a disservice-- by allowing phony reviews which other operators pay reputation management companies to post online-- to mislead people who read these reviews into coming to the wrong conclusions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New Hampshire, United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When I was looking to book this trip I consulted Trip Advisor as always. I saw the reviews were mixed. Many folks don't like this place for various reasons. Well, the reviews that were bad were for things that really can't be helped on the cape. Yes, the facility is an older one. They have been in business over 40 years!!! Yes, it does have that dampish smell when you first enter. Again, it's Cape Cod. It's wet here! The Inn itself is in a great area. Lot's to do and see. It is within walking distance from shops and restaurants. Three beaches in under 5 miles. We had a great time here. The room was big and very clean. Beds were comfortable. The fridge and microwave were very convenient. We had a large deck. It was very peaceful. The staff were great, helpful and friendly. We had a hard time figuring out how to use the TV (not that we were there to watch TV, but it's good to have for children in the evening!). I called the front desk and Joe came down within 5 minutes and got it all straightened out. The continental breakfast was good. I don't know why people compain. It's continental. They had coffee, juice and pastry. Waffles and donuts and muffins too. The pool was big and clean. Check in and out were quick and painless. If you only like slick, high rise, chain hotels this is not the place for you. This is small and peaceful and rustic. We were so glad to find this place. We will come again.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a deck and it was great. Big and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review!
I couldn't have said it better myself--
It's too bad that this web-site is dominated by fake "reviews" manufactured by "reputation managment companies" on behalf of their paying customers-- and dissatisfied,unhappy people who feel compelled to enumerate every flaw in everything which they encounter.
I'm glad that once in a while the real story-- written by a real genuine guest-- makes its way onto this site!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terryville, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a very nice place to stay. Not so much the facility, although it was nice, clean, comfortable and very very dog friendly. But the staff is fantastic and they made the stay go from average to exceptional. Everyone from the manager to the maintenance man was helpful, extremely friendly and cheerful. It was like family but better because the was no drama! They have a very nice breakfast set up and the day after check-in we were greeted by name with our morning coffee. In this day and age, that is exceptional. I would not stay anywhere else on the Cape, and I tell everyone I know the same thing.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet, Room 50 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
The owners, staff and I always appreciate it when a guest takes the time to write a nice positive review.
We all work very hard day after day, year in and year out to make our facility better and to try to ensure our guests-- and even their pets-- enjoy their stay here with us.
This year we have already recarpeted our lobby, purchased new curtains for 25+ rooms and are in the process of reroofing the woodsview building as well as added some new items to our continental breakfast menu.
Its nice when a guest recognizes all of our hard work --its too bad that it's not reflected by our ranking here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My Black lab Hunter did not want to leave he went to 5 different dog parks and shores including the one behind HIs Room! I went swimming @ Nauset Beach nice,Had the best lunch and Dinner on the cape 7X @ nearby Land Ho,Coast Guard Beach was Free! My room had a Brand New TV and mattress. I can't wait to return. Many Many Many Thanks to Betsy and David they really took great care of hunter and I. Its is a must stay !

Room Tip: Book it right now before peak season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are always grateful when a happy guests takes the time and effort to write a positive review--and even recognizes the extra effort of specific members of the staff.
We all work very hard here-- to try to make sure that all of our guests leave here with the desire to return again.
It's nice to know & see online that our efforts are acknowleged,appreciated and recognized!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for a few days in September, the week after Labor Day. The summer throngs end abruptly after Labor Day. Yay!
This hotel is on the bike trail that runs the length of much of the cape. The price was about $80 per night. That's about all the good to say for this place. You get what you pay for… The rooms and bathrooms are in serious need of updating, though as clean as can be. Breakfast was standard motel fare: cereals and pastries, coffee, tea and milk.
The staff were pleasant and professional.
If looking for a reliable and cheap hotel, this one will do fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I am glad that this guest liked the cleanliness of the motel and the price. The owners staff and I try very hard to provide our customers with clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price--and I'm pleased that we succeeded. This is one of the many reasons why we have so many repeat guests--over the many years we have been in business. We are also pleased to get positive feedback on the pleasantness and professionalism of the staff--which is very important in a guest having a good experience when they stay here with us.
However--we know that we can always do better--especially since people's expectations have become very high in the past few years --This is why we do continue to invest both time and money into many improvements--last year among other things-- we replaced the carpeting in many rooms-- and our work is continuing and ongoing. It is always a challenge in an older facility to make improvenments and updates while preserving the character of the property-- and keeping the price reasonable.
The staff and I look forward to welcoming both new and repeat guests here next May 2014 --when we plan on having a newly recarpeted and painted lobby and many other improvents to the rooms greet them- upon their arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
3.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seashore Park Inn
Seashore Park Inn
#7 of 8 in Orleans
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 8 in Orleans
117 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor Prence Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor Prence Inn

Property: Governor Prence Inn
Address: 66 Route 6A, Orleans, MA 02653 (Formerly The Governor Prence Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor Prence Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swim in our oversized outdoor pool & relax in our spacious tree shaded courtyard with gazebo. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast served daily in our cafe. We are located directly on the Bike Trails & are a short walk to Main St. Orleans - with its many restaurants, shops and galleries. Free Wireless internet access now available. All rooms are smoke free and are equipped with refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Governor Prence Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Prence Hotel Orleans
Governor Prence Motel
Governor Prence Inn Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing