We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governor Prence Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have stayed on the cape probably around 15-17 times so far, and had always drove past the Governor Prence without giving it too much thought. Probably because of their dull color scheme and logo designs (if you are a manager & see this, consider freshening up your colors/logos). This year I needed a hotel room last minute for 2 nights and luckily the Governor Prence had a room open. Overall, I was EXTREMELY pleased with my stay here. The location can't be beat, since it is within walking distance of most restaurants/stores in Orleans and a short 5 minute drive to Skaket & Nauset Beach (the 2 best beaches on the cape). The staff is extremely kind/helpful and they make an honest effort to try to impress their guests. The rooms were also surprisingly impressive, offering a mini-fridge, television, two arm-chairs and a nice view overlooking the pool/ back gardens. Not to mention the complimentary breakfast was a nice touch that most hotels don't have (including some "high-end" ones that I have payed a lot more for in the past). Simply put, you can't go wrong with this place and they definitely have a good set-up and environment going for them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AlexVWisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time and effort to write such an excellent, positive review of your stay here!
It's great to get the perspective of someone who has had so much experience staying in many different locations around the area--over the years.
I certainly do appreciate your input regarding our color scheme and logos--
However I would respond by saying that Cape Cod & Orleans is a very traditional area-- which holds history and our colonial past in high regard.
Also the citizens,regulators and inspectors here in town highly value & appreciate conservative colors-- which are appropriate to this area.
We hope that you will return to stay here with us again--now that you have found us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a very clean and reasonably priced motel. The continental breakfast is fine but the coffee was not drinkable. The maid service was excellent and reliable and kept our rooms very clean for us. What was truly disappointing was that their wifi service sucked! It wasn't good in the room or in the lobby area. In today's day and age, how could you not offer a high quality internet connection to your guests? It probably wouldn't even require that much of a capital investment on the owners part.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here.
We're glad to see that you found us to be very clean and reasonably priced-- which I would think most people would regard as the most important aspect of a motel stay!
I'm sorry that you felt the Wi-fi service to be inadequate for your needs.
Please be assured that we have indeed-- invested quite a bit of time and capital/$ into making improvements to our WIFI service over the last few years--and will continue to do so--
We do realize how important it is for our guests--which is why we will continue to work on making it better for all of our many future customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Perfect location between Skakut and Nauset beaches.
Front desk staff were great and were very helpful in giving directions. Room was clean and quiet.I left a pair of shoes and they have promised to mail them back to me!

Room Tip: quiet and clean room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissygm1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thanks Chrissygm for taking the time to write a review of your stay here with us.
We appreciate it when a guest is willing to share their positive experience with the online community.
I hope that you have recieved your shoes--by now--and that you will return to visit us here--again--soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

After we checked out of another place in Orleans which was VERY unsatisfactory, the staff at the Governor Prence not only took us in during the height of the season, but made an exception and gave us a room that was not one of their pet friendly rooms just to accommodate us. The Inn is quite old and dated but the office staff and housekeeping staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Pricing was fair. Bed was comfortable, bed linens were quite nice, bathroom was clean and towels were very good quality. Complimentary breakfast went way beyond coffee & rolls ~ toast, bagels, danish, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, variety of juices. Large pool. Wi-Fi just OK. Our room was too far away from their "hotspot" so we had to go to lobby to use laptops. If you don't mind "old & dated" give them a try. Nicest people in town!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DM20122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

It was an alright hotel for just sleeping and resting in. Stayed for two nights. Had a wonderful time. There was a great pool that had a deep end of nine feet. It also had a wonderful continental breakfast containing Eggo waffles, muffins,
oatmeal, orange juice, and much more. If we come back to Massachusetts, we will consider staying again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Marc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here with us.
We're glad to see that you enjoyed ALL of the food --and our pool-- as well as the restful time spent in your room.
We hope that you will return and stay here with us again-- in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent three nights at the Governor Prence recently. Found it to be ideal for our abbreviated vacation. It offered us a central location in Cape Cod where we can come in and have a much needed sleep at night after spending all day visiting and exploring so much the Island has to offer. We were also able to get complementary fruit; oatmeal, and coffee early in the morning before leaving for our daily adventure ...whether going off to P-Town; Falmouth, or Martha's Vineyard.
Did I mention that the Gov Prence was quite comfortable and very affordable compared to other hotels on the island? Well, I just did!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a nice accurate review of your stay here with us.
We appreciate your feedback-- and hope you will return again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Room was immaculate. they supplied a pack and play for our baby. All linens were spotless. The day we checked out I called hours later if we could use their pool, as taking a baby to the beach is a pain, and they let us come back for the pool!
Front deck was very very kind and understanding. Will be back for our next trip to the cape.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for the nice review.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here --and intend to return in the future. Our many satisfied repeat customers are our best endorsement.
It puzzles me-- that despite the many, many recent positive reviews that our ranking here is so low-- compared to others here in town-- which makes me suspicious of the whole process --and misleads potential customers --who don't take the time to read all the positive reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
0.6 mi away
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
1.0 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seashore Park Inn
Seashore Park Inn
#7 of 8 in Orleans
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Orleans
127 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
1.5 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor Prence Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor Prence Inn

Address: 66 Route 6A, Orleans, MA 02653 (Formerly The Governor Prence Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range: £62 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor Prence Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swim in our oversized outdoor pool & relax in our spacious tree shaded courtyard with gazebo. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast served daily in our cafe. We are located directly on the Bike Trails & are a short walk to Main St. Orleans - with its many restaurants, shops and galleries. Free Wireless internet access now available. All rooms are smoke free and are equipped with refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Governor Prence Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Prence Hotel Orleans
Governor Prence Motel
Governor Prence Inn Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing