We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Governor Prence Inn
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(Orleans)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn(Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skaket Beach Motel(Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Motel(Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod(Eastham)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southfleet Motor Inn(Wellfleet)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Bluffs Inn(Eastham)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
41
58
25
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
58
25
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfasthuge poolcape codroom was cleanrail trailshower head was very lowbig picturepoop bagswood viewwalking distancethe location is perfectsmall fridge and microwavesmall dogrooms are smallgazebojoebeaches
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We had a wonderful experience at Governor Prence. We were arriving well after office hours; Fran the night manager went out of his way to make sure that we were able to get into our room easily. The room appeared to have been newly renovated; it was spacious, with a comfortable King-size bed, nice rug, a microwave and a fridge. The room was quiet, and we slept well. In the morning, we awoke to great view of the pool, and a cute dog sitting on our doorstep. The continental breakfast was very satisfactory. Betsy at the front desk made us feel very welcome. Bernie, the head of housekeeping, did a marvelous job of making sure that the room did not suffer any ill-effects from the rainy, moldy summer that we have had so far; the room was fresh-smelling, and sparkling clean. We returned home after our weekend at Governor Prence feeling refreshed and invigorated! Governor Prence was a lovely find! We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We chose the Governor Prence because we expected to need to bring out dog along on the trip and it is one of the few in Cape Cod that allows pets. It would be tempting to say that the Governor Prence is more like a kennel that allows people to stay, too. It's not THAT bad, but the rooms and furnishings and building in general are tired and worn out. The bathtub could not be cleaned with anything short of a grenade. Anyplace else in America this would be an average, old motel. Its prices reflect the quality of the experience. It is well located and the rooms are larger than the usual motel, so if you're planning to spend all your time in the pool and on the bike path, its may be a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i10q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
govprence, Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2009

Our staff and owners always strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests. Although we have been in business here for over 40 yrs and have been satisfying-- in many cases several generations of families/guest-- we are never-the-less disappointed when we are unable to meet all of our guests'expectations--
Our rooms here are always throughly cleaned and inspected by our head housekkeeper prior to each guests arrival--and we would not rent any rooms to any arriving guests which weren't clean.
Our staff are continually painting and repairing our buildings and rooms.
We take pride in the fact that we offer our guests-- and their pets-- a good value for their vacation here on Cape Cod --
We look forward to welcoming back our many repeat guests--and continuing to satisfy all of those who appreciate our great location, our sparkling outdoor pool, and clean comfortable rooms-all at a great value-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

The only thing up to date in this motel is the TV. The rooms are sparsely furnished with outdated cheap rickety furniture.

I do believe in "you get what you pay for", but having stayed in some other inexpensive motels in the Orleans area, this motel would be more appropriately priced in the $60 to $90 a night range.

This motel is in dire need of renovations. The room's furnishings from the beds, the furniture and the carpeting look like they've been in place since the early 70's.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My wife, son and I were bicyling the lenght of Cape Cod and we chose the Govenor Prence because it adjoined the bike path , had a pool and was in Orleans.

The hotel and room were worn, but relatively clean....ideal for families with young children. The breakfast was adequate.

The staff were very nice and accompdating, so our one-night stay was pleasent. The price was in line with the accomodations, so if you are price sensitive, it is a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Argus02090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We chose this place because it was one of only a couple motels that had a vacancy left. We checked this website and others and it was the highest rated from what we had to choose from so that's how we picked it. Got a great internet rate of $119/night for two nights. We figured why stay at a place for $40 more if our options were all "middle of the road" places.

The Governor Prence Inn is only middle of the road because it is old. Yes it could use some updating but the place was clean. We booked a "traditional" room, which was the cheapest and we were very happy. There is no need to book a room that costs more (unless you need a family size place). Standard hotel mini-soaps, Pantene shampoo and Vaseline brand lotion. Plastic wrapped cups and a refrigerator are also provided. 20" TV''s with cable. AC worked great. Breakfast is mini bagels, danish, Kix or Cheerio's, OJ, Cranberry juice and coffee. Housekeeping did a great job.

The pool was big and clean - plastic chairs, plastic tables and cracks in the concrete but we are talking about a seasonal motel on Cape Cod - what are your expectations really?

There are a number of "old school" standing steel BBQ grills and patio tables. Did not use the grills but if so I'd just scrape it clean, lay down some foil with cooking spray, light up some charcoal and cook away. BTW - no one was doing this. If we did we would have had the grounds and pool to ourselves.

If the GP was brand spanking new or renovated it would have been sold out no question. The location is perfect and the people who work there are very nice.

Bottom line ... the Governor Prence Inn is a perfect place to stay to hit the Cape beaches for the weekend. I find no reason to go elsewhere and spend more money. They earned my business for a return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockytherockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews