We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governor Prence Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Our 2nd year in a row at the Governor Prence. Mom with 3 daughters, ages 7, 7 & 9. We love the pool just steps from our room, free continental breakfast available every morning, very friendly staff. If you're a beach person, you'll love the location - just 10 minutes to both ocean beach and bayside beach. Minutes from bike trails and plenty of great restaurants and gift shoppes. We arrived an hour prior to check in and they happily accommodated us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicki125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

I stayed one night at the Governor Prence Inn prior to a weeks stay n the cape. What a mistake I made. The room was dirty and just plain gross. The bathroom floor had hair all over as if it wasn't cleaned . The screen door on the slider was broke and the slider hadnt seen a bottle of windex in a long time. Since I was traveling with young children I was totally grossed out ! In the AM when I went to the desk to check out I was rudely told to "just leave my keys in the room". This was becuase another guest was at the front desk complaining about her room. Thankfully it was only one night .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsugerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
govprence, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

I was quite suprised to read this review- since of course we do throughly clean and inspect our guest rooms. If we had known about this guest's complaints prior to reading about them on the internet--we could have addressed the problems before they became an issue. Unfortunately as much as we do try to regularly clean all of the windows & sliders they can quickly become smudged --due to the damp maritime climate here in Orleans. I'm sorrry that this guest did not feel satisfied about their stay here with us.
Cleanliness & guest comfort are always our top priorities here.That is why we have been pleasing our many guests who do enjoy our clean and comfortable rooms, great customer service, and all that Orleans has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Just got back from a 2 night stay this past weekend Fri-Sun. We have a 15 and 11 year old. The room was #53 upstairs overlooking the pool. Great location, nice balcony with 2 plastic chairs and a small table. It was a pet friendly room, but didn't smell at all. I even brought Oust, but didnt' need it at all. The rooms were clean, neat. The bedspreads matched the light blocking sliding glass door curtains too. We had a TV with cable and a small college fridge for drinks. Ice machine and soda machine was around the corner. The bathroom had 8, yes 8 towels (bath) everyday. You don't get that in big hotels. All 4 could shower and plenty to use for your hair as well. Never had to call maid service for more towels. The beds were fine, plenty of blankets. Bring conditioner though. Only shampoo and body lotion and facial soap. Bring your blow dryer as well. Clean bathrooms and powerfull showerhead, so that was rather nice.

No closet, but the back wall with a huge shelf and had a pole with tons of hangers. Plenty of room for an aero mattress for thh beds were DOUBLE not Queen, so for 4 people we brought the air mattress too.

They served continental breakfast which was included, tea/coffee/juice, cereal, english muffins, fruit etc. I only got tea one morning. Walked in the breakfast room the day we checked in and the only con was that it smelled like urine by the window. Its a pet friendly hotel and it smelled in one section of the room by the windows. Just wouldn't eat there. You could however take your breakfast outside as they have table and chairs and umbrella's. There is a Gazebo on the property that is lighted at night and they have a picnic table and bbq grills if you so desire to bbq. Also a badmitton net/volleyball net, so you can play games too. Not sure if you have to bring your own or if the hotel provides it. The rail trail bike path is in back of the hotel. We biked to the end in Wellfleet.

Your are within walking distance of Main St and we ate at a breakfast place up the street and at the Land Ho for dinner, very good on both counts. The Thai Cuisine within walking distance towards the rotary was also very good. Xmas tree shop pretty much across the street from the motel. Great central location in Orleans, for shopping, biking and going to any of the beaches, Nauset Beach, Coast Guard Beach, Marconi Beach, the bayside beach-Skaket. Stop & Shop up the road by the rotary has all Boar's Head cold cut premade sandwiches, so if you stock up there before you hit the beach, save some cash instead of the Last Stop Deli on the way to Nauset Beach.

The Wellfleet drive in is 15 mins up the road, don't go over the limit driving, they patrol. Plenty of restaurants and shops around in Orleans, EAstham and WEllfleet.

Its' not the Ritz but it was clean, the service was good, and the price was right. If you have AAA use it, well worth it. I'd go back again for a few nights but not a week. The pool is huge, a little weary but clean. Overall well worth it, cheap, clean and central to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 46oceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
govprence, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Thanks for the positive feedback. We're always pleased when a guest takes the time to write a review about their good experiences--especially since the internet seems to encourage the negative feedback.
I'm not sure what the unsavory smell in the breakfast rooms was caused by--but I can assure you it was not urine--since although we are a pet friendly facility --we certainly don't allow pets in our dining room--although we do allow pets and their owners to sit and eat outside at our tables in the courtyard.
We're glad to be recognized for the providing visitors to Cape Cod with a good value for clean, family & pet friendly accomodations which are within walking distance to all the many activities,dining and shopping which Orleans has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Very friendly staff made sure we had a microwave and fridge waiting as we had requested. This hotel has rooms without carpets and they do not use scented detergents. This is an excellent choice for those individuals with sensitivities to chemicals. Rooms have plenty of space, pool is large and clean. The location is perfect walking distance for walking to all shops in town. Good value for price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stratokaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

The Governor Prence was a great 2 night stay for the summer on the Cape. It was convenient to the local beaches and comfortable to come back to each night. The rooms were clean and updated and included a mini refrigerator. The kids and adults both loved the pool and inner courtyard for play and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rourkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The location is great: Easy rides to both Nauset and Skaket Beaches. Easy walk to the center of Orleans. Lots of privacy and a quiet environment. A great pool; a large grassy area for sports and picnics. More than adequate continental breakfast. Very pleasant and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shosh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

The room we had smelled so bad ,that I ask to have another, that smelled also,but I was told they wont refund my money.Bed was as old as hotel, hard as a rock, I can't really say anything good about this motel and I have stayed in alot of hotels, motel's . I stayed in Motels 6 recently that was much better by far at a price that was three times less then I payed for this room. I would not recommend this motel to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redsnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
0.4 mi away
Seashore Park Inn
Seashore Park Inn
#7 of 8 in Orleans
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
1 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Orleans
130 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor Prence Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor Prence Inn

Address: 66 Route 6A, Orleans, MA 02653 (Formerly The Governor Prence Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range: £80 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor Prence Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swim in our oversized outdoor pool & relax in our spacious tree shaded courtyard with gazebo. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast served daily in our cafe. We are located directly on the Bike Trails & are a short walk to Main St. Orleans - with its many restaurants, shops and galleries. Free Wireless internet access now available. All rooms are smoke free and are equipped with refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Governor Prence Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Prence Hotel Orleans
Governor Prence Motel
Governor Prence Inn Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing