We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fastfood greasy eclectic menu joint with a misleading name.”
Review of Land and Sea

Land and Sea
Ranked #25 of 164 Restaurants in Peabody
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fastfood greasy eclectic menu joint with a misleading name.”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Everything on the menu is fried. There was breading all over the floor in the kitchen which looked dirty and the tables in the seating area were all dirty. The restaurant looks like a closed down McDonalds which was reopened as an interesting Greek Restauraunt which you can only tell by the pictures in the eating area.

We were visiting in from NY and decided to try this place based on the 11 reviews above.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nytravelfan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good fried shrimp”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Neighborhood place, great fried fish- I had shrimp and onion rings- excellent. Quick service. Cole slaw is a little weird- cabbage only, no mayo, which is OK, but it tasted almost like sauerkraut. Maybe because they gave me so much that it was overwhelming to eat. Order at counter and pick up.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saguarocactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
177 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very good roast beef sandwiches”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Hadn't been here for 4 years or so, I'm not in Peabody like I used to be. Stopped here in May with my sister, for roast beefs. She usually gets their excellent fried food, but abstained that day. They also have excellent chowders, which I used to pick up for my Mom, who lived nearby.
Another place with the same staff and owners forever. The owner still recognized my sister from 40 years ago, when she worked for him, when it was just an outside stand!
So if you want reliable, delicious, fresh food, this is the place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belcamp, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious and FAST!! Need I say more?”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stopped on way home to Baltimore after week in Peabody. My fiancee ran in and got us lunch while I was fueling up at Shell next door. Before I was done she was walking to me at station with bags of delicious food. Perfectly fried and lightly battered. Scrumptious! We'll be back many times!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stu_Needel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best fried fish I've ever had.”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Fried clams, flounder, scallops, shrimp...even the onion rings...wonderful! This is the place to come for no frills, counter service fried seafood.

Helpful?
1 Thank john127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Land and Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing