We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Major water problem!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Major water problem!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our stay started well on the evening of June 17, 2014. Check in was easy, the room was clean and pleasant. When we woke the next morning (day one of a two day stay), there was only a trickle of water coming from the faucet in the sink and bath. After a few minutes, that trickle became no water at all. The building is 6 floors and we were on the 6th. We called the front desk and were informed they were working on the issue but that our room would be free for the previous evening. About an hour and a half later, there was enough water to actually shower. After breakfast, we returned to the room to find again there was absolutely no water.

We consulted with the front desk staff and manager who advised they are aware of the water issue. There are two other hotels nearby that draw water from the same water main which is insufficient to supply all of these rooms during the peak AM usage time. We were told the issue affected everyone on the 5th and 6th floor that day and that it would not be resolved any time soon. They were consulting with the "city". They offered to move us to a lower floor but that the hotel was fully booked that evening so whoever was placed in our 6th floor room would also have the same issue. It was very clear that this is a recurring issue that the staff and manager were fully aware of.

Luckily, we had a flexible schedule that morning and were able to wait until demand slowed enough to actually get showered. I find it unacceptable that they are aware of the issue and continue to fully book the entire hotel. Yes....our room was free for the night. But, the water issue caused us to cut our trip short by a day and just head home that day. Beware anyone who stays at this hotel and is placed on any of the top floors!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Here at the Hampton Inn we take all our reviews very seriously. Unfortunately, we are on the end of a city water line which greatly effects the water pressure, however I think you will be happy to hear that we are currently working on the issue and expect it to be resolved very soon. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you,
Guido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    221
    101
    43
    18
See reviews for
237
177
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roseland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotels in Boston are very expensive and out of most of my company guidelines. The price is very good distance is 11 miles from the city, but a good value and comfortable surroundings. The staff was friendly courteous and attentive to my needs. I enjoyed staying there and will do it again on my next trip to Boston Area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at the Hampton Inn, and we can not wait to welcome you back as a guest in the near future! Feel free to contact me any time for reservations!

Thank you,
Guido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Nice hotel, really good staff. About 20 minutes easy drive to airport. gas stations close by to fill rental cars if required. Safe location. Few eating places close by. Ask for room away from busy highway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor! I am so glad to hear that you found our hotel and staff to be pleasant as well as our hotel being in a convenient location! We hope to welcome you back as a guest in the near future.

Thank you,
Guido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel was the perfect combination of good price, comfort, and great location for our trip to the Boston area. we were able to catch the commuter train into the city from Salem and drive ourselves to great sites like Lexington, Concord, and Plymouth. The free breakfast was very satisfying, and the bed just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 876diannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. Our hotel has a good location and is right in the middle of some great local attractions! I am so happy that you found our hotel to have exactly what you needed. We hope to welcome you back as a guest in the near future.

Thank you,
Guido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curaçao
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Easy check in, friendly people, but felt sorry we accepted the accessible room (because the requested King bed room was not available yet). This accessible room was spacious but lacked that cozy feel. Bathroom full of bars, which we (luckily) don't need yet... the bars stained the walls, didn't look nice. Hotel is located in a hard to reach spot at Rte 1. We asked for an area map with driving directions, which was not available. Good variety at breakfast (we would've loved some cheese though!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. I am so happy to hear that our staff and our breakfast left a positive impression on you. I am sorry about the king accessible room not having a cozy feel, but I am happy that my staff was able to find a solution to check you in early. We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

Thank you,
Guido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a great hotel with friendly staff, free wifi, a pool and a workout room. A bunch of us came up from NJ for a wedding. After the reception, we were able to hang out in the lobby where there are a ton of tables used for the included breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, wow! Omelets, Canadian bacon, waffles, bagels and pastries, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. The woman taking care of the breakfast was really nice, giving everyone a last call when she was getting ready to close it down. The room was exceptionally clean, although there was an odd odor when I first walked in. It sort of smelled like dirty socks, but it didn't seem to permeate the room the whole time I was there (2 days). The room was gigantic. My only complaint was the guy in the room next to me was rather loud and I could hear everything he said during several phone conversations he had. There was a locked connecting door between the rooms, and this may have been why I could hear everything next door. My friends who just had full walls between their rooms said they didn't hear anything. The price of the hotel was reasonable and it's right off a major highway. Warning though: traffic into Boston can be a nightmare. Give yourself enough time if you're going in for something and have to be there at a specific time.

Room Tip: Unless you're looking for a connecting room, ask for a room without a connecting door. Any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQ420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you, Suzy, for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Here at the Hampton Inn we strive to make every guests experience more than enjoyable. I will be sure to pass on your nice compliments to our staff. I hope we can welcome you back as a guest in the near future.

Thank you,
Guido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I was just spending one night before I went to another hotel closer to Salem. Unfortunately the bathtub drain had an issue and the repairman didn't get to the hotel until almost 10PM. The code for WI-FI didn't work and the hair dryer blew a fuse. In the end I was promised a certificate for a complimentary stay at any hotel in their system.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I will personally look into these issues. I am glad to see my staff worked to correct your problem with the Be Our Guest Certificate. I hop you will give us another chance in the near future. If you have any concerns please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you,
Guido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peabody
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston-Peabody
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
North Shore Hotel
North Shore Hotel
#2 of 9 in Danvers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody

Property: Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Address: 59 Newbury St, Peabody, MA 01960-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn/Boston Peabody is located on Route 1 at the junction of Routes 95 and 93 about 25 minutes north of Downtown Boston. Our hotel offers all the great amenities that Hampton Inn Hotels are known for including complimentary wireless in all guest rooms and public space, complimentary hot breakfast and our new Jump Start Fitness exercise room. Our indoor heated pool is available from 9:00am to 9:00pm daily and we offer, upon request, rooms with either a king size bed or two doubles. Most rooms with king size beds offer a pull out couch for your convenience. We hope to welcome you soon to our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston - Peabody Hotel Peabody
Hampton Inn Peabody
Peabody Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing