We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired old place...”
Review of Owston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Owston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Owston
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you end up here, and get a room in the Coach House, then go and find somewhere else. If it is golf, gym or spa you're after, those facilities seem pretty good - but food, service and accommodation is 1970's standard, doesn't live up to the promise of the look of the building. In this day and age, to have an old, bulky tv with a freeview box glued to the top is unreal! Picture always distorted into tall and thin, and had to STAND on the bed to get emote to work because of lack of thought of positioning. I have 2 old unused flatscreens that I'm thinking of donating to them. If you have, bring at least one with you.Oh, and a mirror you could use when you want to use the hairdryer...and a hook to put the hand-held shower attachment on over the bath....and a shower curtain to stop flooding the floor.... Great place, massively underdelivers on expectation, sorely in need of refurb and some tlc......

Room Tip: If you must, then stay in the Hall...NOT THE COACH HOUSE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Group of 8 mixed group. All had a thoroughly enjoyable Sunday driver. Bedrooms lovely and spacious. Food excellent apart from bacon bap (bread) tasted stale that's the only nitpick. Definitely would come back again. Staff where all pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russcal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

stayed there on the 1st October for a single night business trip. the drive into the Hall as extremely impressive however that we it stopped. the reception in the Main Hotel looked old and dated very similar to a BnB reception. i was told my room was in the coach house which is not attached to the main hotel were the bar and restaurant are.

The room in the coach house was extremely basic, clean and quite dated. The bathroom had a toilet, WC and a shower with a shower curtain, and thats were the fun started being wet and the curtain sticking too you, water getting on to the floor as the shower was a power shower and a curtain is not appropriate at all.

The service in the bar was painful, the bar tender could not serve any more than one person at a time and with three people waiting to get served i was waiting some time, clearly he need training in multi tasking and bar skills.

however the meals now these were value for money, when my meal came it was like a scene from man versus food. the best value EVER. i could live with a basic room room for the meals. however avoid the coach house.

impressive surrounding but average hotel, in need of modernizing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Weekend stay at this very well placed hotel. The room in the main building we had was very good, clean, well appointed and large. we dined on the Friday evening and the menu although not extensive was adequate. The food was good not great which was reflected in the price. Great setting for walks with 2 golf courses attached that were both very popular throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel is superb value and I often stay here on overnight business stopovers. There is an excellent restaurant serving good value evening meals. There is a nice bar serving good local beers. Also good gym and swimming pool. Would recommend.

Room Tip: cheap rooms are in the coach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gileshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed there last week on business and just wished had found it before . Apparently privately owned and dates back to Doomsday book ! Very quiet albeit tricky to find but very close to A19 and A1 and just 20 minutes into Doncaster .
Room was tidy and good quality bathroom , free wifi throughout and helpful staff . Food was good and not mega expensive . Had the pleasure of playing their 18 hole golf course which is excellently maintained and in the late Autumn Yorkshire sunshine idyllic .
Peaceful nights sleep and excellent breakfast buffet so somewhat sorry to leave . Would certainly recommend .
Stayed in the coach house and there are more up market rooms in main building

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for one night as a little weekend break. Stayed in one of the Executive Bedrooms which was very tastefully decorated with lots of space, Only downside was the heat of the room through out the night as the Aircon did not seem to work. The grounds of the hotel made for a lovely setting and the food was outstanding and well priced. The Bar had a good selection of drinks and most of the staff seemed friendly and happy to help. Would defiantly recommend this hotel and I will consider returning the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mattysmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owston
10.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
12 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
12 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
948 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#3 of 19 in Doncaster
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owston Hall Hotel

Address: Owston Hall, Owston DN6 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Owston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Owston
Price Range: £66 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Owston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Owston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing