We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Owston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Owston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Owston
Mpls
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The setting was beautiful and the room was nice, but there were a few issues that would prevent me from returning.
We had a table for 8:00 in the restaurant. We were seated at 8:30 and our orders weren't taken until 9:00. We didn't get our food until around 10:00. So don't plan on eating there unless you can spare the whole evening.
When I went to go to sleep, the bed was poorly made. Also, it didn't have a top sheet so you either had no covering or a heavy duvet. My room was adjacent to the elevator so I got a fair amount of noise. When i asked about moving so I could get a better night's sleep I was told that they probably didn't have any where to move me to.

Room Tip: Don't get a room abutting the elevator. My satnav took me to a street that doesn't go throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MplsDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    109
    71
    40
    42
See reviews for
55
91
7
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

What a shame, visiting there for a wedding. No one with ipad or I phone can get internet connection. Seems to be an ongoing problem. No good at all for business use, or, if you want to send and receive info quickly for an important event, plus a host of other internet necessary stuff. Very frustrating!

Room Tip: If you want wifi connection on any apple devise, go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finecitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Owston hotels

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Owston Hall Hotel is set in a wonderful location surrounded by lovely countryside and a superb golf course. It has first class leisure facilities and a grand historic building as a centre piece and thus all the ingredients to be a first class destination hotel. Unfortunately some of the other ingredients are just plain missing - most notably high quality food and service and a lack of visible front of house management. The rooms in the 'coach house' are of variable standard but are reasonable value for money, particularly if secured with the usual online discount.
I have stayed here 4/5 times. However, my most recent visit was the most disappointing. I ordered a pint at the bar and was served by a friendly and welcoming lady. Even as she was serving me, the head waiter was shouting orders to her without any regard or respect for the customers or the lady. I then requested the menu from the lady behind the bar and very apologetically she informed me that she was not allowed to give me the menu and would request that one of the restaurant staff brought one to me. I perused the menu, which was uninspired to say the least, and selected two dishes from the specials. I was offered a seat in the restaurant but indicated I would finish my pint in the bar until the food was ready for service. In the meantime, the clearly misogynistic head waiter continued to shout instructions to the lady behind the bar. She was clearly embarrassed and upset by the behaviour and the failure of the head waiter, despite requests, to provide one of the waiters as cover the bar to allow her to pop to the toilet. I then took a quick call from my partner and just after I answered the head waiter then interrupted me during the call by invading my personal space to advise me that my starter was served. Within 60 seconds I received a total of three reminders that my starter was served despite the fact that I had quickly finished my call and was ordering a glass of wine to accompany the meal. The restaurant staffs' oppressive and off-hand behaviour caused much amusement with others in the bar and again the bar lady had to indicate her embarrassment. I quickly moved to my table and as I was sitting down the head waiter then approached me to ask me if everything was 'ok'.... I indicated that I did not know as I hadn't yet sat down and clearly hadn't tried the food! The reason for his concern was immediately clear .. the batter on the salt and pepper calamari was thick and solid and far from being a light tempura. Consequently, the calamari was over-cooked and rubbery with little of the expected spice from the salt and pepper. Very poor. The waiter arrived to remove my plate and asked how it was but clearly ignored my reply by indicating 'that's good' before swiftly moving off. The main course then arrived and it was like a first round amateur master chef disaster ... over cooked fish, non crispy skin, the fish ravioli was thick and heavy and inedible despite being smothered in a tomato sauce. I left most of the dish and awaited the approach of the head waiter ... but to no avail!. Clearly he could see I wasn't happy and didn't want to take any feedback.
The kitchen clearly needs dramatic improvement to the standard of food to be consistent with the quality expectations of customers of this type of country house hotel. The restaurant front of house is truly awful and needs urgent attention and some proactive and visible management to address the standards and customer experience. If these issues were addressed, I am sure that the reputation of the hotel would quickly improve and more repeat business would be built up.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have full showers and only have hand held showers which are functional if not desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Group of 22 golfers stayed for two nights in early May. The course was great for a mixed group of handicaps. Grounds were lovely and they even sorted the weather for us. All the staff were warm, helpful and welcoming. Maureen and Mark excelled in looking after us. Food was great with a wide selection on offer. Well stocked bar. My room in the main building was great but some mutterings about the dated single rooms some of my party had in the Coach House. Despite this, it was a great venue and one that we will return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snippy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

In lovely surroundings. We stayed here for a friends 50th birthday celebration. Its an ideal location for a celebration. We stayed in an executive room that was spacious with a large bathroom. The party was great and the staff very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was superb. It was buffet style self serve and the quality of the food was really good. If you get the opportunity go down into the basement and enjoy the pool and jacuzzi . Its a great place to relax with phased mood changing lighting. Really nice !

Room Tip: Book an executive room they are well worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights with my partner as had a wedding (at different location). Therefore just used the hotel and not its facilities. Paid £66.50 per night.

Driving into the grounds I had high expectations; granted it was the evening, but the hotel itself still looked grand.

Parked up and went inside. Spoke with reception (he was a bit weird), and was told we were staying in the 'Coach House' annexe, down the road to the left! We were told to put all our bags back in the car, with no offer of help!

Luckily we drove but if you were to walk, it would take 3 minutes with no lighting.

The room itself was incredibly disappointing. Very small and dated, with a tiny tv (that you had to turn off manually) and the shower could barely fit one person in. The bathroom also flooded whenever you had a shower! We were only given one towel - when phoning reception for another it took 30 minutes to get one!

No bottled water in the room, and even the cold water tap came out luke warm, so recommend you take your own!

The main hotel may be lovely, however if you get a room in the Coach House annexe, flat out refuse to take it! Especially if you are planning on using the bar / restaurant, as the walk back to the annexe in the dark would be trully awful.

A friend from up here told us this hotel was a bit posh! Maybe it's because we are snobby southerners (as most the poor reviews for this place are by us), but it not by my standards and is definately not worth what you pay for it.

Do yourself a favour; if you are just wanting a hotel to stay at; go find a travelodge or premierinn!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

this was the surprise of this week as the room i booked was £64 room only.Located outside doncaster, I stayed in the coach house which is a separate building to the main hotel. This hotel boasts a championship golf course, gym, spa with steam room and jacuzzi and well groomed grounds and buildings. the room was not to the standard shown in the pictures and may be last on the list for renovation but it was clean and in reasonable order for the price. a nice shower big enough for two but no bath if that is your preference. unfortunately i was unable to use the inclusive gym and leisure facilities but looking in they seemed in good order. staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive and the food in the restaurant was easily the best i've had in recent months. There was even free wifi in the rooms, the signal wasn't great from my room, but it worked. I have earmarked this hotel as a favourite for my next visit to the area. Bravo Owston Hall, I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Goto reception without your bags as there is at least one other building where the rooms are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfxuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owston
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
14.9 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
16.2 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owston Hall Hotel

Property: Owston Hall Hotel
Address: Owston Hall, Owston DN6 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Owston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Owston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Owston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Owston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing