We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, cosy cottages in a perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Farm Country Cottages
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We've just enjoyed a lovely break at these cottages. Our welcome was very friendly and included a tour of the games room and pool. The rooms had a complimentary cream tea waiting and we clean and very comfy. The cottages aren't huge but we had 5 in our cottage lounge easily enough.
The kitchen was well equipped and included the main equipment as well as the simple bits like condiments.

Location wise, you're within 30 minutes of Longleat and Bath. There are also lots of lovely villages and other sites to explore.

The neighbouring farm shop has a great range and the village of Winsley has a supermarket and excellent pub (The Seven Stars).

Overall, this was a wonderful stay and I'd recommend these cottages without any hesitation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sharpy0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Guest Relations Manager at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to others. The cream tea is an essential start to a break in the west country! Hope to see you again one day

Best wishes,

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had an excellent 4 night stay at the Old Granary. The property is a barn conversion. It was exceptionally clean and well appointed with five bedrooms catering for up to 12 guests. The kitchen had plenty of room including a central kitchen table and a large American style fridge freezer. We really appreciated the gift of scones, clotted cream and milk upon our arrival. There's a large dining area to the front of the property that easily catered for our family group. The living room has Sky TV, and seating for twelve. The Wifi was very helpful as mobile phone reception was inconsistent. The bedrooms had quality bedding and ample storage. The garden has large outside seating and a BBQ. The swimming pool was loved by the kids. The location is great, with many local attractions (E.g. Bath, Longleat Safari, Canals and Bradford Upon Avon). Overall the experience was top class - Thank you Steve, Trish and Tim!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Guest Relations Manager at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Delighted to hear you all had a good time with us and thank you for your kind words. The Old Granary is often a hit with families. Good to know you enjoyed all the facilities and provisions. Hope to see you again one day.

Best wishes,

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was our second stay at the cottages and although excellent first time round, they had managed to improve with more good quality home comforts in the cottages and a marquee in the field for group entertaining undercover. The location is perfect for walking and cycling and the farm shop and cafe serves top quality local foods (Jamie Oliver style)

I was particularly impressed with the local ladies who work there, helpful, cheerful and efficient !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surreywoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Guest Relations Manager at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thanks once again for visiting and for your kind review. Delighted you and the family made great use of all our facilities here and the new marquee shelter. It has been a stunning summer but its good to have back up just in case. Hope to welcome you all back again next year.

Many thanks,

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Well run and organised , very clean , many facilities available with the added bonus of a farm shop . Central to Bath ,Bradford on Avon and the Canals .Has a country feel with the added bonus of a pool and walks.Units have plenty of Character , eventhough a bit small ,however some are larger.There is outdoor sitting ,,however-close to neighbours , the traffic may or may not be an issue. If you want Internet access , forget it ...the office comes first and guests have to wait until the offpeak times .It is fast at midnight.It is very quite at night ,rooms are double glazed . Baths are provided and it all works well if you need somewhere outside of busy Bath. A free breakfast and eggs from the Farm Shop is an added bonus. Not dissapointed , however a bit surprised as pictures on the Internet make it look better. In school holiday time expect dogs and children,,this may or may not affect your stay .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harmony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Guest Relations Manager at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your positive comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your issues with the internet, as we explained we had a bad week thanks to being so far from our exchange. This has now improved, thankfully, but apologies for it being temperamental. The office has a seperate line and the cottages have the better performing of the two.

Best wishes,

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a 2 night stay whilst visiting Longleat (about 35 mins away) Easy to book, very welcoming and helpful, clean accommodation, pool facility is very good. Other benefits are a good pub in easy walking distance and a farm shop 5 mins up the road that sells all the food you will need for your stay. Only minor point is that the road adjacent is quite fast and can be a little noisy (although it was very hot when we stayed so the windows were open) However we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Guest Relations Manager at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Winsley. Yes, we are very lucky to have so many great services on our doorstep. Do let us know if you are too hot in the cottages so that we can provide fans. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Best wishes,

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely cottage and very well fitted out. Made good use of the pool too. The cottages are situated so that walks or bicycle rides along the canal are convenient and 2 miles from the lovely town of Bradford on Avon and not far from Bristol and Bath. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avonlea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Guest Relations Manager at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the pool was a hit. We look forward to welcoming you next time!

Best wishes,

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were 4 families visiting Church Farm Country Cottages (and the Old Granary) - 17 people all together having a wonderful stay. The service is great and both adults and children liked the place. They have a gameroom with biljard and ping-pong (table-tennis) and the pool is in the same building. This is the place to stay if you like it peaceful, and in the same time it is close to Bath (the bus-stop is nearby).

Room Tip: We liked the old Granary :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konrad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Guest Relations Manager at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. You were a large family and it was good to see you made the most of your visit to this area.

All the best,
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winsley
1.0 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 34 in Bath
207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
748 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Country Cottages

Address: Winsley | Bradford on Avon, Winsley BA15 2JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Winsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winsley
Price Range: £120 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run single storey farm cottages tastefully converted from old cow byres with beams and vaulted ceilings. Working sheep farm in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Superb indoor heated swimming pool and games room. Three 2-person cottages and four 4-person cottages. Also 12-person four star gold award barn, The Old Granary (5 bedrooms/3 bathrooms) 3/4 mile. Ample free parking. Free Wifi. Individual patios with own garden furniture and shared garden. 24hour Laundry room. Village pub, The Seven Stars, serving good food and local ales 500 metres. Hartley Farm Shop and kitchen on neighbouring farm. Regular buses and train stations at Bradford on Avon (2 miles) and Bath (5 miles). Weekend, Midweek and weekly stays. Minimum two night stay at weekend. Welcome cream tea on arrival. Families, Pets, Cyclists and Walkers welcome. Gold Green Tourism award. Book online. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Farm Country Cottages Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing