We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adequate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkshire Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Berkshire Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed in Pittsfield because it was equi-distant to Williamstown and Jacob's Pillow. The Berkshire Inn was quiet, clean and bare bones. It's a family owned motel and the front desk service was friendly and helpful. The pool was quite pleasant. The morning coffee was excellent. The rest of the "continental" breakfast, not so much. This is a good choice if you are not planning to hang around your room much or have over-dosed on Berkshire chi-chi.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet11238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    50
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
45
48
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Good price $82 for night. Old rooms, old furniture but bed was clean and comfortable. Wi-Fi does work but you have to ask for password when checking in. Feels kinda homy there. Good for crash over. I did late check in early check out. There is a nice looking pool which I didn't try.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivek Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Berkshire Inn: the worst place we have stayed in during our visit in the USA so far: overpriced, lousy service, dangerous electrical wiring. I really cannot recommend this place.

The free WIFI access did not work. Breakfast was really poor: mostly unhealthy stuff loaded with sugar, no breakfast room, only two cast iron tables in the tiny reception area. Staff was unfriendly , when you told them about the problem you had with the service.
We paid 211 $ for one night for a room with two queen beds, a comparatively high price regarding the flaws the hotel has; we paid much less in other hotels with the same room category, but the service and the hospitality was much better in any other hotel we satyed during our four weeks visit of the USA.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkshireInn, Owner at Berkshire Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
It was of concern to note your remarks regarding your recent stay here, at the Berkshire Inn, When you have brought up the concern of the Wi-Fi access not working for you during your stay here, we have investigated the concern with the Wi-Fi issue and it appears that you had multiple devices that were connected to our Wi-Fi service for lengthy periods of time, as we have stated that the “Wi-Fi service is complementary to our guest and is there is no guarantee on Wi-Fi service due to some devices not being able to connect to the Wi-Fi”, as we have tried to explain to you about the Wi-Fi service, it appeared you were not satisfied with any response. We have inspected the room and we did not find any electrical wiring issues that maybe of concern, and there was no concern of any electrical issues brought to our attention.

A concern that we also have is your concern of the “Sugary Breakfast” We try to provide a wide assortment of breakfast items for our guest, as we do cater to a wide variety of people. We try to provide in our Continental Breakfast items such as plain bread, whole grain breads, Whole grain and Plain Bagels, plain and whole grain English muffins, and at least 4 brands of dry cereals such as Cheerios, Special K, Chex cereal brands, Orange Juice, Milk and Assortment of Coffee and tea flavors. There is also Fresh fruits served, also, the continental breakfast is a complimentary service that we provide for our guest to start the day off replenished and refreshed.

We the Perrin family try to emphasize that our facility is a traditional “Mom & Pop” style facility, while we know that this might not be satisfying to some of our guest, but we try to focus on providing a family friendly environment versus a corporate hotel/motel chain atmosphere. While we do understand that Berkshire Inn is not for everyone, we are sorry that we were not able to meet and provide the quality of service that you were expecting. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travel while visiting the USA.

Thank you,
The Perrin Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pittsfield hotels

Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Good value for the price. Premises and room were neat and clean. A few things needed adjustment in the roon (faucet, A.C.). The owner was in with his tools within 5 minutes and very capably took care of the situations.
Enjoyed the breakfast and coffee which was put out for guests each morning.
Room was spacious and included a fridge.
The Perrin family are quite delightful and aim to please.
This is the place if you are looking for simplicity, value, and personal attention if needed.
Convenient to many Berkshire attractions. We were going to Barrington stage which was very nearby,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie8381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkshireInn, Owner at Berkshire Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Greetings from The Perrin Family at The Berkshire Inn, in the Berkshires, Pittsfield, MA

We The Perrin Family would like to thank you for your review of the Berkshire Inn. We the Perrin family pride ourselves on providing family friendly environment and comfortable accommodations for you and your guest, we are glad that you choose to stay here at the Berkshire Inn. We always try to emphasize on the "Mom and Pop" feel of our facility, we are glad that you enjoyed yourselves here. We are looking at the Faucet issue and are currently in the process of replacing them, as the current faucet is a bit confusing to utilize.

We want to thank you for choosing to stay here at the Berkshire Inn, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Perrin Family
Berkshire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I chose this stop based on tripadvisor and the excellent reviews were not wrong. It is a motel from the 50s-60s in style, but it is very clean, scrupulously maintained and the young couple with their two small children were helpful, friendly and dedicated to making their place just right. Recommend highly

Room Tip: Jimmy's Restaurant next door was very good. Italian food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkshireInn, Owner at Berkshire Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Greetings from The Perrin Family at The Berkshire Inn, in the Berkshires, Pittsfield, MA

We would like to thank you for your review of the Berkshire Inn. We the Perrin family pride ourselves on providing a "family friendly environment" and comfortable accommodations for you and your guest, we are glad that you choose to stay here at the Berkshire Inn. We always focus on making sure our rooms are clean and in order for our guest. We always aim to provide plenty of local information to our guest so that they enjoy themselves while visiting the Berkshires.

We want to thank you for choosing to stay here at the Berkshire Inn, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Perrin Family
Berkshire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The young owners of Berkshire Inn are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious and affordable. Many places to eat nearby. A safe environment for a morning walk. Great coffee! Thank you, Perrin family.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkshireInn, Owner at Berkshire Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Greetings from The Perrin Family at The Berkshire Inn, in the Berkshires, Pittsfield, MA

We would like to thank you for your review of the Berkshire Inn. It was a pleasure to hear about your enjoyable stay here at the Berkshire Inn. It is a treat to hear from our guests, particularly those so effusive in their praise! We the Perrin family pride ourselves on providing family friendly environment and comfortable accommodations for you and your guest, we are glad that you choose to stay here at the Berkshire Inn.

We want to thank you for choosing to stay here at the Berkshire Inn, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The Perrin Family
Berkshire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel while our son was playing in a baseball tournament. We couldn't have been more pleased. Very affordable, clean, and comfortable. The Perrin family was wonderful! Would recommend to anyone traveling in this area. Thank you Perrins for your hospitality.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Baseballparent20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
#4 of 8 in Pittsfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.3 mi away
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
#5 of 8 in Pittsfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.8 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire Inn

Property: Berkshire Inn
Address: 150 W Housatonic St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkshire Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshire Inn, is centrally located in the Beautiful Berkshires and downtown Pittsfield, We are within walking distance to beautiful historical downtown Pittsfield. We are short drive to many local venues and sight seeing locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Berkshire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkshire Hotel Pittsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing