We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love motels from eras past”
Review of Berkshire Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berkshire Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Dayton, OH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love motels from eras past”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This inn was lovely. A 40s-50s motor inn with a parking place outside the door. Great for unloading our luggage. My husband, my mother, her sister and I all stayed one night in the last week of July while traveling through. We used 2 rooms and both were quaint but outfitted like the 50's. The rooms were comfortable, we all slept well. We did use the pool and it was also lovely. The only problem we had was with the wi-fi. My laptop refused to see it so the hotel staff logged it on their private network, very accommodating service; although my netbook found the wi-fi no problem. I would stay here again and I would stay more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    51
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
45
49
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

In August our party of four stayed one night at this traditional one-story motel, a few minutes drive from downtown Pittsfield. We were making a rest stop on the long motor trip back to Eastern Massachusetts from the Finger Lakes region of New York State and to visit a friend living in Adams, MA. This is an old-time motel and the outside was being re-painted during our stay. We stayed in one of the rooms with two queen beds and a pull-out sofa; the room was fairly tight but acceptable. The room and bathroom were clean but was what you would expect in a motel from the 50s.The queen beds were comfortable but the pull out sofa was not because of the metal bar in the middle; so we took the mattress out of the sofa and put it on the floor where the comfort was acceptabe. Staff were accomodating; continental breakfast was barely acceptable. We did not use the outdoor pool but it looked inviting. Being over 65, I obtained the senior rate so that the cost of the room was very reasonable at about $30 per person, all costs included. I would recommend this motel for a short stay in the Pittsfield area for people on a budget.

Room Tip: the family suite is a good buy for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillSir2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

In June we booked tickets for an August Tanglewood concert and found that most of the hotels in the area required a two night stay. Based on the reviews, although expensive, we booked The Berkshire Inn for one night. This hotel was anything but a value. The small room was dusty, the soap actually gritty, there was one packet of shampoo and when we asked for more, only one was offered. The bed had some kind of rubberized mattress pad, a fire alarm was set off by the steam produced by the shower, the breakfast was minimal at best and, to make the whole thing even worse, we saw someone walk in at the time of our check in and book for half what we paid. We are frequent travelers and sadly, the reviews were the least accurate of any Tripadvisor recommendations we have used in the past. Our advice would be not to book early and, if one night is required, seek other accommodations near Lenox. We saw many vacancy signs after we had arrived.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pittsfield hotels

Innerkip Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Berkshire Inn for one night the second last week of July. The gentleman that checked us in was very friendly and accommodating. We were given a coupon for 15% off the local Italian restaurant which was within walking distance. The grounds were well kept. There was an outdoor pool which we didn't have a chance to use.There were other patrons using the pool so I'm assuming it was clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The room was clean and basic and the room rate was very reasonable. The bathroom was also clean.If you are looking for a clean, basic motel I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

In this land of two night minimum stays and leafy B&B's, the beautiful Berkshire's can still be enjoyed on a budget and on one's own schedule. We love the region and all it offers in the summer, from the Clark Museum in Williamstown to the Concerts at Tanglewood and great restaurants in between. The Berkshire Inn is located central to them all right off Rte. 7 and at a reasonable rate. We had a room with two double beds that suited us perfectly. The place is a bit dated (personally, I love those old '50s style faucets at the sink and shower) which is not always so bad provided its well maintained. The new owners seem to be trying to do just that but have a bit more to do. This is our second summer there and hopefully we'll be back next summer.

Room Tip: No hair dryers in the rooms. Ask at the desk or better yet, bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncleirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Egremont, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is an old style strip motel, a bit rundown but with immigrant owners who are trying to upgrade it. They were painting when we stayed there, and it needs it. We stayed in the larger rooms ($10 additional), which had a few additional amenities and larger bathrooms. (One vexing detail: the bathroom door couldn't be fully opened because it hit the toilet seat.) There was a continental breakfast that was adequate but nothing to write home about.

Good: Clean, no smells, terrific prices, quiet considering the location.

Bad: The pool isn't heated.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are worth the extra $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My daughter and I were in the Berkshires to see Oklahoma at the Colonial Theatre in Pittsfield. We stayed at the Berkshire Inn 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and very comfortable. Even better, it was affordable! Also enjoyed a refreshing dip in the pool. Would definitely recommend the Berkshire Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJDurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
#4 of 8 in Pittsfield
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
2.8 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
#5 of 8 in Pittsfield
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire Inn

Property: Berkshire Inn
Address: 150 W Housatonic St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkshire Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshire Inn, is centrally located in the Beautiful Berkshires and downtown Pittsfield, We are within walking distance to beautiful historical downtown Pittsfield. We are short drive to many local venues and sight seeing locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Berkshire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkshire Hotel Pittsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing