We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, gracious host”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Pittsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have driven by White Horse for six years during our semi-annual trips to the Lenox-Pittsfield area, but never stayed there until two weeks ago. John is a gracious host and he provides a wonderful breakfast. White Horse is similar to many B&Bs in nearby Lenox, but the room rates are lower. A range of rooms are offered, but the small higher charge for the larger rooms is worth it. If you want the quietest room, ask for one that faces the rear of the property. Try the Barrington Stage or the Colonial Theatre while you are there. We'll go again during our next trip.

Room Tip: The king rooms are a lot bigger than the queen rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newengland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Owner , John McGovern was the perfect host. Even though our stay was, only one
night,we enjoyed being there. The Inn was clean and our room was very comfortable.
Our best wishes to John.

Bob & Mable Leytze

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My friend and I spent one night at White Horse Inn for a girls' getaway. It was lovely. The host, John (I think, I am bad with names) was wonderful and catered to our every need.
The inn is on the main road that leads in to Pittsfield, but that isn't exactly route 95, and I never heard any noise at night. We were in room 4, with a king bed. I would recommend White Horse Inn. It is very nice. Keep in mind that you are not staying at Blantyre, but you are not paying that price tag either! Breakfast was nice. We weren't all that hungry, but we did eat some of the main dish. There is also a selection of cereal, etc. I thought that we received a good value for what we paid, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelqueenie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have stayed here several times and each time is as good as the first only we get more and more comfortable. We feel at home from the moment we walk in the door. Gary is most accommodating about arrival time and is there to greet us when we arrive. The only commitment is to supply a time for our breakfast arrival as it is truly a gourmet treat! From spinach quiche, to baked French toast to homemade banana bread. Comfortable peaceful sleep, full bellies to start the day. What could be better!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0VE-TRAVEL-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My parents, wife, and I stayed at the White Horse Inn for one night this past weekend and recommend it highly. The house is beautifully restored, exceptionally clean, and we were treated like family from the moment we arrived. John was extremely accommodating. My dad doesn't get around very well and John was happy to change our arrangements so that my parents had a ground floor and didn't have to deal with the stairs. We selected two rooms with king-sized beds each with an ensuite bathroom.

It was FREEZING in Pittsfield when we arrived but our rooms were both radiator heated and additionally equipped with a faux fireplace space heater that kept us very warm all night. The high thread count sheets and down comforters were also much appreciated. Bathrooms are small, but impeccably clean. Free wifi is available, so I was able to pull out my iPad and read about Kim Jong Il dying and passing his nuclear arsenal to a 26 year old who looks like a cross between Chunk and Data from The Goonies.

Breakfast was great: baked French toast with raspberries and blueberries along with a large spread of fresh fruits, yogurt, English muffins, raisin bread, and cereals. We were offered cranberry or fresh squeezed OJ, a selection of Twinings teas, or coffee. There's a deck off the back of the house that I imagine would be lovely when it's not 12 degrees outside.

The house really is beautiful. John mentioned that they spent a good six months on the restoration. It was really relaxing just sitting in the living room and imagining that I was insanely wealthy, with a staff that waited on my every whim, heated my room, and baked me French toast. We also forgot to sign the guestbook, so that's a good enough reason as any to return.

Room Tip: It's only a few more bucks for a king- sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This was our first stay at the White Horse Inn but not our first trip to Pittsfield. White Horse Inn is only a mile and half from downtown Pittsfield and a great walk on a fall day. The Inn also has a great back yard and deck. We had a choice of rooms and I highly recommend Room 2 and I hope it's available when we go back. Our host were very nice and the breakfast was great. We ate at Elizabeth's, ask the owners about it, it's a great find.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rokoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed at the White Horse Inn recently - exceeded all expectations - nice rooms with king sized beds, fully up to date bathroom, gracious hosts, and excellent breakfast custom-ordered in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTraveler126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
1.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
516 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
11.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
#6 of 8 in Pittsfield
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: 378 South St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsfield
Price Range: £94 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Pittsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing