We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small, friendly B&B in a good location”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Pittsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Together with another couple we stayed three nights and used The White Horse Inn as a base to attend Tanglewood, Shakespeare Theatre, hike in the Audubon Wildlife Sanctuaries, visit The Mount and visit a local winery. The owner John McGovern is a perfect host. He offered helpful suggestions and made our dinner reservations at various restaurants. He also served an excellent breakfast. The inn is small, but very clean. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are air-conditioned. The deck and the shady lawn in the back are nice places to enjoy a glass of wine and review the events of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our guests at the White Horse Inn, and thank you especially for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Your very kind words are much appreciated.We hope that you will come back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

The McGoverns are the perfect hosts at this wonderful B&B. We only stayed one night but are sure to return. Our room was well appointed and spotless. There is so much to do in the area.
The location is ideal for a tour of the Berkshires.

Muffinman

Room Tip: I recommend the larger rooms. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abenakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our B&B. We really value the feedback we receive from our guests and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a great stay at White Horse Inn. John is a wonderful innkeeper that takes pride in his B&B, and in making sure his guests feel welcome. The room was comfortable and very clean. Great value for a great price. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSinNYC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your stay at the White Horse Inn. We are so glad that enjoyed our B&B, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Best,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The White Horse Inn is exactly what everyone should expect of a New England bed and breakfast. Everything in our stay (my wife and I) was up to our highest expectations if not beyond. We stayed four nights with John and his wife at this inn and we felt like we were family. I will demonstrate through itemized sections our thoughts on each area we thought was important for our stay...

Room: Great! Comfortable bed. Great linens, towels, and very, VERY clean. The place was spotless throughout, but the room was exceptional. Private bath that was well appointed.

House and Grounds: Beautiful old horse farm house with well maintained grounds where one could relax and enjoy the lovely New England spring. There is a porch and gardens where guests are welcome to walk and enjoy. The breakfast room is a sun-porch so breakfast is taken as one watches the sun come into the back gardens. Very pretty.

Breakfast: Absolutely great. John was a wonderful host. Very gracious place settings with both hot and cold breakfast options. Coffee and tea are served all day upon request. More than being a good host, John can seriously cook. His baked French Toast is something special.

Intangibles: It's one thing to have a nice B&B. It's quite another to be a nice person who actually cares about making sure people are able to enjoy their stay. John and his wife were very helpful when we arrived to get us to our room. John had menus and recommendations for local restaurants--all of which were great! Finally, he had suggestions about things to do and places to see that people may not know about initially. Without this overt hospitality the stay would have been sufficient, but John's welcoming demeanor made this place a first choice in the future and somewhere we will recommend to anyone coming through the Berkshires over-night.

Room Tip: Book one. They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbt12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review of the White Horse Inn. It means so much to us to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you sometime again in the future.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed for one night while passing through the area on business and was seriously impressed (and I'm hard to impress). The whole place was spotless, with a beautiful deck and effortlessly gracious host, John. I slept deeply and dreamlessly in an incredibly comfortable bed - I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Hi Zoe. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the White Horse Inn, and thank you for your very kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and having you stay as our guest.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The inn is clean and welcoming. John, the owner, is congenial and helpful. Pittsfield is not exactly a bustling metropolis, but the inn is close to restaurants and Jiminiy Peak. Overall, a great place to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt121485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Wonderful place to stay. John the owner was very knowledgeable and helpful. He made you feel at home and even made a great breakfast. Highly recommended. Bed was comfortable and room was cozy but very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
1.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
512 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
#6 of 8 in Pittsfield
463 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: 378 South St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsfield
Price Range: £95 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Pittsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing