We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Pittsfield B&B and Inns
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The inn is near many of the cultural attractions of the Berkshires. More importantly, the staff (basically Gary and his father) were uniformly helpful and cheerful, going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The room was comfortable and airy, and the property is well-maintained. The flowers and plantings around the backyard made breakfast outside a treat. Speaking of which, Gary made a wonderful three-berry French toast on our last morning. If you are headed to Tanglewood, this is a great place to stay!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lestroyens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
53
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

This is a charming and clean B & B centrally located in Pittsfield, MA, so it's close to all the major attractions. We had a lovely time. The rooms are kept very clean. The owners put a lot of attention to detail: there's nice handsoap and shower gels in the bathrooms and the towels are excellent.

The dining room is very clean and charming: it is a very well-lit large room with a beautiful view of the garden. In the summers you can sit out side on the patio.

Breakfast was excellent! They serve a delicious home-made oven-baked breakfast and there's also plenty of fruit, yogurt and cereals to compliment the main breakfast dish. We had to be somewhere early that morning so the owners were very kind to accommodate us and serve breakfast much earlier than the usual breakfast time.

The owners were exceptionally helpful in providing us with dining suggestions (Spice was an excellent restaurant we went to, with live entertainment and great food). They kindly make reservations for you. They're also very knowledgeable about the various attractions in the area, as well as the history of the Berkshires.

The Inn has wireless internet, which is always useful. Our laptop doesn't have a wireless option, but they kindly brought a wire for us so we could connect to the internet!

Overall, this is a very cozy, charming inn with very helpful, knowledgeable innkeepers who go out of their way to make your stay a comfortable one.

I would most definitely return here!

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WorkToTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCordsville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2007

It was so comfortable – the room and the bedding. This was the cleanest B&B we have ever stayed at. All of our other experiences at B&Bs have been memorable but we think it was the owners and Innkeepers that made this experience so great. They were so friendly and accommodating, from coffee in the morning to giving hand written directions to towns of interest. We came to enjoy the great theater of Barrington Stage and get some much needed rest. With the peacefulness and comfort we met both goals.

The service and wanting their guests to enjoy themselves was so much appreciated. The relaxed atmosphere, attention to comfort with all the details, the beautiful renovations and the delicious breakfast each morning makes us want to make the 13 hour drive again! One of our best experiences ever!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaTravelers36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2007

This small family run Bed & Breakfast was wonderful. Conveniently located for the Berkshires and Tanglewood. Not only is the accommodation beautifully decorated, it was immaculately clean. Breakfast was excellent with Gary, the Innkeeper, preparing gourmet food for his guests of a standard you would normally only find in a five star hotel. However, what really sets this Bed & Breakfast apart from the rest is how helpful, friendly and kind the Innkeeper and his family are, going way beyond the call of duty. If you are in the area, you will not find better.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2007

The Inn is a wonderful place to stay, very relaxing atmosphere, wonderful people, and amazing coffee. I recommend that anyone looking for a great place to stay, stay here. Be sure to visit Spice while you're in town as well as Chocolate Springs.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank B&BQueen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2006

The White Horse Inn is under new ownership and the McGovern family are doing an amazing job. I stayed at the Inn several years ago and liked it. When I stayed last month I LOVED it!. The bathrooms have all been done over and look great. The dining room was completely remodeled and is a beautiful, sunny spot for breakfast. There is an outside deck which looked perfect for eating but it was a bit too chilly the mornings I was there. The rooms have all been painted and redecorated and they have a comfortable and hip sort of look to them. And the bed!!!!! Wow. The bed was unbelievable. I slept in until 9 and could have slept longer (usually I get up by 6:30). And the family is so wonderful. They are all involved and they were so sweet and hospitable. I found the whole feel of the Inn to be very warm and welcoming and they certainly did whatever it took to make our stay perfect. I will be back and I will recommend the White Horse. Thanks for the great stay!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank StewieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 October 2004

I liked the owners, they were friendly and eager to please. I think they ran a good B&B.The rooms, linen and bathrooms were clean.

The coffee in the morning was good and strong and plentiful. Pittsfield itself is dead and depressed but that's not the B&B's fault....Just the economy.

Word of advice.....Ask for a room in the back, they're quieter!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
1.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
#4 of 8 in Pittsfield
423 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
2.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
543 reviews
8.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: 378 South St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6804
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Pittsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing