We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Literature Comes Alive”

Herman Melville's Arrowhead
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in Pittsfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Closed for the season. Tours will start in May, 2017.
St Augustine FL
Level Contributor
318 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“History and Literature Comes Alive”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had the good luck to visit on a day when the head of the museum gave the tour. She was both entertaining and knowledgable. She talked about his life, the time period, the Berkshires, the different books. We were fascinated.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank havaneseangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    53
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
226 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A Showcase for Melville”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our tour guide, Cecilia, made the life of Herman Melville interesting and we learned much we did not know about the author whose major claim to fame, "Moby Dick" became popular long after his death. If it wasn't for a granddaughter who made this possible, this homestead would probably just be another house on Holmes in Pittsfield. There is nothing spectacular about the house and most that was there in the years Melville was the owner is no longer around, but with the guided tour you learn about this author which makes it worth a visit.

There was also an exihibit of sculptures about African American soldiers in the Civil War that was interesting. Coupons for a discount on the admission are available in free tourist magazines which you find readily available at motels and restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Calhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fascinating House”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

You tour Arrowhead with a guide. Our guide was extremely well-informed and our tour was wonderful. It is amazing to imagine Herman Melville writing here in the shadow of the Berkshires. There is a small but interesting shop on premises.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DEngelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This high quality tour will inspire you to (re)read Melville”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We arrived before the first tour, which is at 10 am (and again every hour after), with time enough to go on the nature trail. FYI: tour rates are $13 for adults and children & students (with I.D.) are $8.00. The nature trail is well marked from the parking area and heads through a field and into the woods. It's about a 15 minute walk and I do not recommend the woods section because it leads nowhere, is short, and is not scenic. In late July the woods were pretty buggy. The field does offer good views and only takes a few minutes to stroll up so I recommend that.

We were the only two on the tour and our guide (Will) was informed and personable. You can tell that he takes an interest in Melville and because he does he keeps yours. If you have a question, and I had many, he will likely have an informed response.

The house itself is neat to visit as it is where Melville wrote most of his most famous works and you get to absorb a fair approximation of what he did, himself. The furniture is historically accurate and much of it was owned by the Melville family, if not by Herman himself. The tour is about 45 minutes and the time went by quickly and satisfyingly. Neither the house nor much of the furniture is aesthetically impressive as the Melville's were not wealthy, so I would not recommend visiting unless you are particularly interested in literature, history, or the writer.

Herman Melville’s Arrowhead is open daily from Memorial Day Weekend through Columbus Day, from 9:30 am. to 5 pm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pcouture29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I learned a lot”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Funny how I live near New Bedford, the city mentioned in Herman Mellville's "Moby Dick" and didn't know anything about the book or the man who wrote it until I drove three and a half hours away to this mans former home in the Berkshires. Its a very modest place for someone so famous, but take the tour and you'll find out why

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walt_Lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herman Melville's Arrowhead also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Been to Herman Melville's Arrowhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing