We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Dragon - CLOSED

Spice Dragon
Cuisines: Asian, American, Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
NJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant with very good food and service. Great variety (sushi to steak). Suitable for a casual dinner before the theater or a special occasion. Really liked a couple of the specialty rolls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njtaylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    13
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Decent--not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Food is fine--prices are fair--place is clean--but man oh man, is service S L O W !!! Waitstaff needs a lot of training. Decent enough experience--and would come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“should have trusted the reviews!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The reviews all said decent food but terrible service! I should have heeded the advice! While the food was pleasant(not great at all) the kitchen seemed to not care at all. The restaurant was not packed on a Saturday night and the poor waiter apologizes to every table about the lack of service from the kitchen. I find it odd when the staff is nicely dressed but the owner is in old jeans. If he was lax then the staff will follow. The sushi bar was under staffed and the kitchen seemed to not really care. I will not eat here again. There are other better choices in Pittsfield.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A surprising find in a small city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This handsome restaurant on the main street of Pittsfield has a friendly atmosphere that makes it a pleasure to visit. The menu has a strong Asian emphasis, but there are ample American cuisine choices. The sushi is excellent (and half-price on Wednesdays) and we love the flatbreads. Lots of other choices at a variety of prices make this a good place for those who want a major dinner as well as for those who want something lighter.
The friendly bar is the perfect place for a solo diner. There is a convenient parking lot at the rear of the building and a city garage across the street. Barrington Stage theater company is around the corner so it's a perfect place to have dinner before a show or after a matinee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good local Asian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We only had a VERY short amount of time before seeing a 7:00 show. Once we told them of our dilemma, Shari advised us on which dishes we could get quickly, then served everything without making us seem too rushed. The Japanese rolls were good if typical, and the Pad Thai was only OK. But the decor is quite attractive, the staff was friendly but professional, and the menu was fairly inventive, especially for a small city such as Pittsfield. We went back for a drink after the show, and had another very pleasant visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bulldogNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Dragon also viewed

 
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing