We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly very good, but a few drawbacks.”

Panchos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 171 Restaurants in Pittsfield
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Mostly very good, but a few drawbacks.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Pancho's has a good selection of authentic tasting dishes; however, service and some sides aren't up to par.

Their "standard fare": Burritos, Tacos, etc. are all very good and their specialty dishes we've had have always ranged from good to excellent. You should be pleased with almost any main course.

Their sides, particularly the rice, salsa, and guacamole, are not up to snuff, and their tortilla chips are poor at best. More care needs to be taken with this, especially since the chips are often the first thing you taste in this type of restaurant.

Service can also be a bit slow and non-attentive.

No clue why they don't take care of these seemingly easy fixes. It would change the whole experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C from NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go, not worth it”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Worst Mexican food, doesn't even qualify to be called that. Had frozen Margaritas, guacamole and tostatas here. Everything sucked terribly! Even the chips was old and tasted like a shoe. How the heck do you screw up tortilla chips? The guacamole was watery. Yes, WATERY! And the tostatas we're served half frozen.
This place is a joke. Worst spent $20 ever!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueberry90012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service.”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

A friend had recommended this place. We went on a Sunday night, and Pittsfield was fairly empty. So, we weren't surprised that the place was mostly empty except for one large family. The manager greeted us very warmly and sat us down promptly. However, it took the wait staff about 10 minutes to get out table. We didn't mind so much since my wife and I were just enjoying each other's company, but seriously, it took a long time. We ordered Guacamole that never came. However, our entree platters were very good. My wife got the Tacos and not a complaint. I got Chicken and Chese Enchaladas which were very good. No complaints about the food, just the service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Recently dined here on a week night and the place was basically empty - two tables. We are from N.C. were there are dozens of Mexican restaurants in my town (owned and staffed by Mexicans), so we are accustomed to very good Mexican food. I realize this is the only Mexican place in town, so my expectations were not very high going in, but they didn't even meet my lowered expectations. The first negative was the waitperson (only one on staff that night). She never smiled a single time and acted like she was ready to leave an hour ago. She has no business working in the hospitality industry. After she took our order, she walked over to an empty table to bus it (rather than go place our order with the kitchen) and that took about 5 minutes. We were the only people ordering. What was the rush to bus a table in an empty restaurant and make the customers wait???
Secondly.....the food just wasn't that good. And they didn't have any chicken to make our parrillada. The refried beans were substandard. The rice was bland. The Chorizo had a terrible texture and fell apart. Worst Mexican meal I have ever had. Edible, but not good. We will not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hilburno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western MA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Mexican in the heart of downtown.”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

A great lunch or dinner spot. Real, traditional Mexican food. Outstanding tacos and burritos. Great value for lunch specials. LOVE the traditional tacos. American style also available. Wash it down with ice cold beer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RD1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panchos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Panchos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing