We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crowne Plaza Pittsfield Mass.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
midland park, nj
1 review
“Crowne Plaza Pittsfield Mass.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a very relaxing week in the Berkshires. We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Pittsfield. Everyone seemed to try to make things as easy as possible for us from the time we got there. We were offered a fridge and micro which was delivered by a maintenance man named Fran. He was prompt and polite, hooking up the appliances in just the right place and helping my husband to find enough outlets for his phone, Ipod etc. He made us feel welcome and at home from the first. Thank-you Fran and all of the Crowne Plaza staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    146
    104
    54
    21
See reviews for
123
95
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were staying at this hotel for 2 days. We were planning to stay in Lenox however it was expensive so we picked Pittsfield because it was close and the rate was reasonable. . The hotel was just around the corner from the downtown strip. First, the city is old and depressed. No good restaurants at all. No shops either. Even the Movie Theatre was old.
The room was pretty basic. There were 2 sinks, one in a separate area before the REAL bathroom. The counters in there were made for children We could have sat on the floor to use the sink. The coffee maker was on the sink counter, odd. The room was small but had all the necessities. We could only get a queen size bed because the king size rooms were smoking rooms. We did not smell any smoke in the building so at least that was good.
The bed comfort was horrendous I think the floor would have been more comfortable. The pillows (I think they were pillows) uneven squares that were 12' by12". We requested 2 more (not much better) so Bring your own pillows!
Try to find a breakfast place because the buffet was horrible The fruit was hard so you couldn't eat it!! Unless you like Steam table food then don't waste your money.
Definitely did not enjoy my time. Would never go, and would never recommend it!

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more to stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear carsrn,

Thank you for your business and your review. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

It is unfortunate to hear that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had in your room and with some of our amenities. Additionally, I am sorry that you did not find our location to your liking. We deeply regret that these aspects have negatively affected your overall experience with us.

We welcome feedback as it assists us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pittsfield hotels

Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel is suffering from way too old-itis. It needs an update to this century badly. The sad part is the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Seems a shame to waste such great folks on a hotel where you can't take your shoes off in your room (eeewww), the workout equipment is probably on loan from the Smithsonian as the world's oldest, and the entire place just smells of a basement. I would avoid this at all costs and only got stuck staying here recently on a business trip because it was last minute and smart tourists booked every other acceptable hotel in the area to capacity. The location is fabulous, and it would be a gorgeous retreat if someone would pay attention to it and bring it up to Crowne Plaza standards. Frankly I'm shocked it carries that name.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipersMom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear PipersMom29,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to note that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and I am glad that you liked our location.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us and regret that you did not find our hotel to your liking. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

When we checked in, thefront desk clerk told us our room was up two flights without elevator and poolside. He asked, "Is this a problem?"
Me: "Yes."
Clerk: "Well, we are totally sold out, so that's the best I can do."
The room was very noisy until about midnight every night because pool does not close. Pullout sofa blocks only egress out of room.
Room fairly clean, but carpets throughout hotel remind me of dorm room at end of school year- nasty! Would not recommend especially at the prices they charge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJB413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear TJB413,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff, the noise during your stay and poor cleanliness. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

It's definitely not the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, but, as other reviewers have mentioned, for a Crowne Plaza, I expected more. The parking garage (which is something like $6 a night) has these strange white stalagtites hanging from the ceiling that drip on your car overnight. We've washed our car and can't get the marks completely off which doesn't exactly cause us to remember the place with fondness... If it was free, that's one thing, but if you're paying to park, you don't expect the garage's ceiling drippings to leave a permanent stain on your car! The pillows are half size (normal width but half the length) which might not seem like a dealbreaker, but it's definitely odd. The shower was nice, the free wifi was a bonus, and the staff was very courteous and friendly, but overall I'd probably try another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Don't park in the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear BethanyfromNY,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff, shower and internet.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding parking arrangement. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stay over the July 4 weekend for Williams College. The hotel is only half an hour from the campus. Great Service in the front desk and buffet breakfast is excellent. However, the room could be updated better. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopgirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Somewhat less than I expected for a Crowne Plaza. It feels more like a Holiday Inn Express and that's being generous. Nevertheless it does have good facilities including a pool - enclosed in glass so it gets very hot and steamy in the summer. The wi-fi was virtually undetectable in our room and the door card reader took about ten attempts each time to open. A passable place to stay but not good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulS269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear PaulS269,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with our facilities. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the wifi and the room key. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We value your comments and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.2 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
8.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Pittsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Pittsfield

Property: Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Address: 1 West St, Rte 7 & West St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Pittsfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Pittsfield-Berkshires Hotel offers a convenient downtown location, minutes from Berkshire attractions including several public golf courses,Tanglewood, Norman Rockwell Museum, Hancock Shaker Village, summer theater. One hour to Albany (NY) Airport. All guestrooms equipped with complimentary high speed internet. Free wireless Internet access in all public/lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Pittsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield Hotel Pittsfield
Pittsfield Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing