We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location in middle of Pittsfield”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Location in middle of Pittsfield”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Building is pretty ugly -- a product of urban renewal from the 1970s which resulted from the tearing down of the old train station and other more charming structures. Of course, once you get inside the advantage is that you can no longer see this building . In any case, the amenities and level of service are all quite good for this class of hotel and the location is central to a lot of Berkshire attractions from the high culture of Tanglewood and Mass MOCA, to skiing at various local resorts and to hiking in the mountains. The parking is free although in a particularly ugly parking garage. The staff was very helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank neur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    151
    109
    58
    23
See reviews for
127
108
22
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have had the opportunity to stay at many hotels in the past couple of months, traveling to and from Boulder Colorado, staying in IHG hotels along the way. Nothing compares to the experience I have had during my stay(s) at the CP Pittsfield.

Upon walking through the door, the desk staff were welcoming and helpful. They went the extra yard to make my stay enjoyable. The maintenance staff is always on task and it is clear that the GM has his priorities in order as the place is clean, the pool is sparkling and everything is running like a well oiled machine.

The restaurant staff is courteous and efficient and the food is as good as it gets. No reason to leave the place! When I did check out, I was sent off with a cheerful request to return soon. Something I will definitely do when I'm in the area.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room for whatever the reason, the front desk will change it for you if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We go for our annual family Christmas gathering and the Crowne Plaza is close to family, restaurants and several attractions in the center of town. The location is what brings us here. The hotel could use a bit of updating and the parking garage is under renovation. The staff is helpful and accommodating and that makes up for the updating issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel is old and uninviting form the exterior, but it was a great price and conveniently located in downtown Pittsfield. The Berkshires are lacking in mid range affordable lodging, you either have $300 per night or $65 per night on a non holiday off season weekend (higher at those times), so for $120 the Crowne Plaza was a good bet. The front desk staff was awesome, the lobby is large and inviting (opposed to the bleak concrete courtyard out side) and the rooms are clean, however dated. The hallways could use new carpet and the furnishings are 20 years old, the TV offered limited channels and as usual the internet was slow, but FREE!
We were disappointed to see that breakfast was $12.99 or $2.50 for a cup of to go coffee, but there are at least two coffee shops within a block of the hotel so I recommend one of those.
Overall, I would stay here again if the price is right, just don't expect to be amazed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomeduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear tomeduke,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My daughter and I had a truly wonderful experience here. This is a full-service hotel. FYI, my daughter had oral surgery prior to our visit and I wanted a place for us to rest and recover. We slept and watched TV in our room, but most of all, we had access to the facilities--the lovely pool, the gym, and the many in-house and nearby opportunities for dining. I used some of them when she could not. Our room was quiet and warm and our beds were comfortable. Service was prompt when we needed it, even off hours, for example when we needed more towels after swimming. We enjoyed the staff at breakfast and at the desk, truly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The place was built in the 70's and as such is not on par with the newer places you may have stayed. That being said it was clean and the staff were friendly. It is a skip to a great Irish Pub where we ate and indulged in a few cocktails as we were walking. The room was toasty warm on a freezing windy night in the Berkshires. Noise was the only complaint I could muster if asked and that was from the rude neighbors slamming doors in the wee hours. I would go back there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Betsy315,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I appreciate your positive feedback on the level of cleanliness, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. However, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced caused by the noise. We try our best to ensure all guests have a great stay and undisturbed sleep. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seacoast, nh
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I should have know something was up when there were printed signs stating "No hockey sticks of any size allowed in the hotel" the place was packed with youth hockey kids and parents.

Our room was in the courtyard around the pool. After returning from dinner around 7PM, the pool area was complete madness with jumping, yelling kids - 12 packed into the adult only hottub) with no consideration of the rooms less than 12 feet away. This went on until about 9:30 PM when some of the kiddos and their families heading to their rooms in other parts of the hotel, great I thought as I headed down at 9:45, they are packing up, I can get a relaxing soak in. No, no I could not - security came along and told us to clear out, pool area was closing - I tried to plead my case that until now I could not get into the hot tub area due to the rambuctous kids.

If my compnay wasn't paying for this one night stay, I would have made a complaint, but now I know to ask if they are hosting groups for any event before I complete checking in.

Room Tip: check if there are any large groups before completing check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucelegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear brucelegs,

Thank you for sharing your recent staying experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.

We strive to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our valued guests to enjoy while staying with us and it is clear we did not in your experience. We will review our internal procedures to ensure that such a situation does not occur again. The City did have a large soccer competition during the time you were here. We try to ask that they refrain from running around the Hotel and be mindful of our other guests, but sometimes, we cannot reach all of them and we're so sorry it disrupted your stay.

Again, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us! If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Regards,

Brenda Johnson
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
431 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.2 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
544 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Pittsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Pittsfield

Property: Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Address: 1 West St, Rte 7 & West St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Pittsfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Pittsfield-Berkshires Hotel offers a convenient downtown location, minutes from Berkshire attractions including several public golf courses,Tanglewood, Norman Rockwell Museum, Hancock Shaker Village, summer theater. One hour to Albany (NY) Airport. All guestrooms equipped with complimentary high speed internet. Free wireless Internet access in all public/lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Pittsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield Hotel Pittsfield
Pittsfield Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing