We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to listen to the park ranger” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plymouth Rock

Plymouth Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
US$625.20*
and up
Private Day Trip From Boston to Plimoth Plantation
Ranked #7 of 68 things to do in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now surrounded by protective pillars, this unimposing rock was allegedly the first piece of land touched by the Pilgrims in the New World.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Make sure to listen to the park ranger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Plymouth Rock was much smaller than we anticipated and really isn't much to see, but I wanted our children to see this historic landmark. The park ranger that was working that day told everyone about the history of "the Rock" and its travels. Although I am sure he has given that same speech a hundred time if not more, His story was both entertaining and informational. Pay attention if there is a park range speaking when you visit and you will learn some interesting facts.

Helpful?
2 Thank JamesinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    410
    543
    146
    63
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“If in the area ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The rock with "1620" etched on it, is representative of the spot where the first pilgrims landed, having arrived from Plymouth , England aboard the Mayflower. I say representative, because this spot isn't where they actually landed. The rock is smaller than I expected it to be, especially when contrasted with the size of the monument surrounding it.

The surrounding area is pretty. There are nice restaurants and little gift shops, as well as the state park and Mayflower 2. So if this is on the way to someplace, it's okay a quick visit. I'm not sure I would drive out of my way just for the rock though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MadhuDRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't go out of the way for this”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The first time I saw the rock, I was disappointed. I had always pictured a huge spectacle, but it's set down a little way, very small, and the shadows make it very hard to photograph. Don't go out of your way to see it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
533 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Not much, but plenty to see in the neighborhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

You probably won't spend more than 10 minutes here, but fortunately there are other things in the neighborhood to make a visit worthwhile (Mayflower II is one).

As you'll discover, the rock isn't much and wasn't even considered significant in any way for more than 100 years after the arrival of the Pilgrims. This was not where they first landed (that is in Provincetown) and the significance of this site is more symbolic of the Pilgrim experience than it is of any true historic importance.

So, if this were the only thing in the area, it would hardly be worth going out of your way to see. But as part of a visit that includes the Mayflower II, Plimoth Plantation, and other neighboring attractions, it's worth a brief visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just go see it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

If you're in Plymouth, it is so easy to walk to just about everything that you might as well go see Plymouth Rock. Yes, it's behind metal guardrail and the architecture of the monument over it is a bit grand, but it's the story and sense of history behind it that is neat. People from all over the world were visiting the location, and I was glad they had an opportunity to see this piece of America's history (whether it be the actual rock or not). The walking paths and promenade are also nice and offer plenty to do.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank feehery27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plymouth Rock also viewed

 

Been to Plymouth Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing