We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The librarian is most helpful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayflower Society House and Library

Mayflower Society House and Library
Ranked #17 of 68 things to do in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is the headquarters for the General Society of Mayflower Descendants.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The librarian is most helpful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were helped by the librarian to begin our search for Mayflower ancestors. She was helpful and guided us with thoughtful ideas to work upon when we arrived home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good research option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I visited the Mayflower Society Library several times. The librarian was extremely helpful. They have some wonderful resources available to learn about the Pilgrims, your ancestors in the area, and the general area itself. I would highly recommend it as a stop for anyone visiting the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ishmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful tour and great guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

A jewel in Plymouth, beautifully maintained and furnished with many of the items of the Pilgrims. The Mayflower Descendants should be very proud of this beautiful eighteenth century museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
515 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Brilliant guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The guides really make this place come to life. It was a shame that there are only two original pieces remaining in the house. I wish iIhad been told at the beginning that to be a member of the Society you need too be a proven decendant of a Pilgrim father as that would have made it even more interesting. Its excellent-go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
455 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Wow, a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was a complete surprise to us. We had found this museum while heading down to the Mayflower II. We found the guides to be extremely knowledgeable and engaged in the era and benefits of the museum/house from both the historical aspect but also for the educational prospective.

Being somewhat of a history buff and student of the era, I found the guide(s) to be extremely knowledgeable and significantly increased the value of the tour for us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank canadian_investor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayflower Society House and Library also viewed

 

Been to Mayflower Society House and Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing