We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Jesse Harlow House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jesse Harlow House
Ranked #1 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A stay at this wonderfully historic B & B is all that you could ask for. Tastefully decorated rooms, privacy, and gourmet-like breakfasts are in store for guests. Kathy and Dennis make an extreme effort to make guests feel both welcome, comfortable and "at home". When we first arrived Kathy showed us around and emphasized that we were encouraged to "help ourselves" to drinks and home baked treats throughout the day. Her recommendations for sights to see and places to dine were most helpful. An easy walk for all that Plymouth has to offer along with gracious hosts makes the Jesse Harlow House and ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

A big thank you to Kathy & Dennis for opening up their beautiful house and letting us stay there.

We stayed in the Schooner Room for 3 nights which is beautifully themed and decorated.

The weather was great during our stay especially for October and we were able to eat Kathy's wonderful breakfasts on the verandah which made for a great start to our days. Thank you Kathy for for the recipe for baked French Toast!!!

The verandah featured again on one of our evenings when we sat out there with Kathy & Dennis sharing Dennis' Limoncello and "putting the world to rights" - it was like visiting with friends.

The location is just right - far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to be able to walk to bars and restaurants.

A wonderful stay and would happily return.

Room Tip: The Schooner Room is beautifully appointed and has an en-suite shower room with a large shower. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallGuyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This historic B and B is awesome! Kathy is a wonderful hostess, gracious, caring and informative. The whole place is spotless and tastefully decorated. Breakfasts are delicious and never rushed. The multi-leveled back patio and living room are warm and inviting areas to relax and mingle with other guests. Our days here will be very fondly remembered and made our visit to Plymouth and Boston extremely special. This was our second stay at this terrific B and B and we are already planning our next trip. Saying goodbye to Kathy was like saying goodbye to a close friend! Staying at the Jesse Harlow House will become a highlight of your stay in Plymouth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Previous reviewers have already waxed lyrical about the Jesse Harlow House, and I would endorse them. The location is set back from the seafront, just off the main street through the town in a small square overlooking the Civil War memorial. Given the business of the shore front area, this makes the location ideal for anyone wanting to enjoy the town without being swamped.

We particularly liked the veranda, which was great for chilling out.

Without doubt, though the gem is Kathy, her efforts to provide the best service to her clients, and her ability to make you feel welcome. This goes well beyond what you would expect from a hotel reception. Breakfasts were varied (We were there for 3), and none were the same, but all were excellent. Really didn't need lunches after these meals, and in any case there were always the most wonderful cookies left out, with chilled fruit flavoured water.

Kathy gave us some really good pointers for evening meals- East Bay Grille, and Blue Eyed Crab, both of which were excellent. We wanted to see her husband's restaurant/ tavern as well and had our last dinner there- Boston Tavern in Middleboro, about 25 minutes drive away. This was a great find for us. Really buzzing roadside inn where we had surf & turf that was truly sensational in every sense. Followed up with a Chocolate Bomb, and I was in heaven! Definitely recommend anyone, particularly red blooded Brits, to go there.

Overall, a great 3 days. We're usually hotel users, but if all b&be are as good we would never look further.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I planned a visit to plymouth to see if we wanted to relocate to this beautiful town. Our experience at the Jesse Harlow House was beyond delightful. Kathy and Denis were the perfect inkeepers. We had reserved a 2 night stay and decided to stay another night. Food was fabulous, the company was wonderful. After the first night I felt like we had found some friends for life.
Her garden was so serene and her home ... well it was a "Home" that we will always come back to. Detail, details, details ... she did not miss one. This is certainly a place to not skip over.
We will be back soon. Jane and Steve

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janepio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I've frequented B&B's for ~25 years, & rank the Harlow first. This historical building is wonderfully restored, lovingly maintained, & comfortably furnished. Many spaces to relax inside, in the lovely gardens, or near the Coi pond. Kathy, the innkeeper, is generous with her time & talents. Her open friendliness made for an exceptional experience, & contributed to my ranking the Harlow as the best in my experience. I felt comfortably at home instantly. A talented baker & chef, Kathy pampered us with terrific breakfasts & superb tea treats. She shared recipes with us, & was quite inspirational. Walking distance to the sights & restaurants. Don't miss this jewel if you are visiting in or around Plymouth.

Room Tip: All lovely, quiet rooms -- you can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was such a wonderful bed and breakfast - Kathy the owner was so hospitable, friendly and welcoming and made us feel right at home. It is a charming historic house that is decorated beautifully (I took pictures of the kitchen because I want to pattern my kitchen reno after it) and updated for comfort. The breakfasts that Kathy made were amazing and even the snacks were incredible - including these Louisiana gooey cake bars that I completely stuffed myself on. I can't say enough about this B&B - it was the best one I have ever stayed in and I have traveled quite extensively. Stay here if you can - it is fantastic!

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms in this b&b! we had a tour and they were all lovely....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
777 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
0.7 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#9 of 9 in Plymouth
287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesse Harlow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesse Harlow House

Address: 3 N Green St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3416
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing