We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy, but watch the bill padding!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuscany Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tuscany Tavern
Ranked #28 of 203 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wageningen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoy, but watch the bill padding!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The food, prepared by the energetic cook in the open kitchen, was excellent. But the bill was something else: it started off with the desert menu not listing any prices and the waitress claiming not to know them, but assuring us that none were more then $6.00. Well, the sorbet was billed at 6.50, one entre was billed $1 more then stated on the menu, the other one $2(!) more, and 60.05 for food and $14 for drinks was added up to $75.05 (instead of $74.05). When I pointed all this out, the person mumbled somthing about "ahh, this calculator", and the bill was corrected with no word of apology. One price deception and three outright mistakes on one bill and without any apology does not look like an accident to me, but rather like a deliberate scheme. Too bad, and so unnecessary, given the great quality of the food! Enjoy, but watch the bill!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    31
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The food was terrific. The wait staff friendly. It's a little place with not many tables which makes it a quaint restaurant. I suggest reservations.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Italian food outside of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

In a small unprepossessing restaurant on a boring main street in North Plymouth we found the best italian food we've ever had outside Italy. Share the starter, because it is large, and save enough space for the excellent choice of main courses. Must be the best restaurant in Plymouth. Do not be seduced by the lure of the waterfront but venture to North Plymouth instead. You won't be disappointed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crustyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth, ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Culinary delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Ever since new owner Lou brought in new chef Jeremiah a couple of years ago we come in at least once a week. From the appetizers to the desserts, and everything in between, the creations that are served are second to none. We bring friends in that are self described "foodies" and "food snobs" that can't believe what comes out of the kitchen. I look around town at some of the other establishments that I put in the "not bad" category and think "these people don't know what they are missing". Excellent food, good drinks, clean bathrooms, and good service keep us coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harpduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food and wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent the day in Plymouth visiting the various sites. At the end of the day we consulted TripAdvisor for a good restaurant. Tuscany Tavern had delicious food, friendly staff, wonderful ambience and reasonable prices. We look forward to returning there again soon and highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuscany Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tuscany Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing