We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just spent one night at Above the Bay. It's a great choice. Sandy, the owner, makes you feel right at home spending time chatting and giving suggestions for places to visit, restaurants, bakeries, etc. She knows the area well. When I called for reservations, she asked about food allergies and preferences. The room we had, Erin's Room, was exceedingly comfortable and well appointed including a spacious private bath. Breakfast was and very tasty quiche and homemade scones among other choices. The inn is across the street from the ocean in a very nice residential neighborhood and Sandy is an outstanding and thoughtful hostess. Don't hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sng49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    15
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
135
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Sandy, your host at the Thornton Adams, is one of those people with whom you feel comfortable from the moment you meet her. She is very caring & friendly which makes your stay in her absolutely beautiful home that much more enjoyable! She has decorated the entire home as well as each room impeccably while maintaining a very warm and cozy feel.

The Thornton Adams could not be more ideally located. I don't think there is a closer B&B to Plimouth Plantation (which I would rate as one of THE TOP ATTRACTIONs in Plymouth), which is literally a short walk down the street. And while other B&B's may be located closer to downtown or Plymouth Rock, Mayflower II, and all the other "touristy" places, the Thornton Adams, which is only a very short drive (1/2 a mile maybe?) away from all of these places, provides you with a quiet respite in a residential neighborhood of beautiful homes -- you can almost feel like you live in Plymouth, rather than just "sightseeing" with all the other throngs of tourists staying downtown or on the water!

I hope to be able to visit Plymouth again in the near future as I did not really have enough days to enjoy the town and its surroundings fully. When I do, the Thornton Adams will be the only place I'll want to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms that I saw were beautiful, but the one in the front upstairs had a beautiful view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericktown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Thornton Adams is conveniently located a half-mile from Plimouth Plantation and a mile to the center of Plymouth with the Mayflower II, Plymouth Rock, the historic First Parish Church and the Faith Monument. Ron is a friendly, welcoming host and Sandy a very warm hostess. In making our reservations by telephone, we felt we knew her even before meeting her in person. Sandy also gave helpful hints for eating out and sight-seeing, and her breakfasts hit the spot! Although getting up and down stairs is a bit difficult for folks our age, we really enjoyed the jacuzzi room--so basically we loved everything about Above the Bay.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were really nice, but the jacuzzi room is wonderful...spacious room, comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Thornton Adams house is gorgeous. Sandy was a warm, kind and very thoughtful hostess. We quickly felt right at home. We loved our pretty blue room at the top of the stairs. We had a great breakfast and really wished we could have stayed longer. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: Blue room is very pretty and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanatangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this delightful Bed and Breakfast. The room was decorated very tastefully and was adequately spacious. The location is ideal for getting to the historical sites that we went to Plymouth to visit. We were happy with their onsite parking as that can be a problem in Plymouth. The innkeeper Sandy provided a fulfilling breakfast and was accommodating to our needs, and the area sights and restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAtravelers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Above the Bay at Thornton Adams B&B is everything I had ever dreamed of and much more. My family celebrated my Mother’s 91st Birthday there. The Owner and Innkeeper, Sandy was very friendly, helpful and courteous. When she heard that I was in the hospitality industry ~ The Black Horse Inn in Warrenton, VA ~ and hadn't had a vacation in years she upgraded my room to the honeymoon suite, which was spacious, clean, and comfortable. I felt like a queen! The views were magnificent. Our trip to Plimouth (yes the spelling is correct) Plantation was unsurpassed--a must do! The Blue Eyed Crab was a great suggestion for dinner in downtown Plymouth. Our trip was a dream come true thanks to this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are terrific with wonderful views of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackHorseMadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I cannot say enough about the wonderful experience I had with Sandy and her beautiful home! She went out of her way to provide us with information for our visit in Plymouth and provide a beautiful, comfortable, clean home and delicious breakfast every morning. Every touch was so well done from the dining room table each morning to the beautiful decorations and food. We had planned to stay only one or two nights, but it was so great we stayed three nights. Sandy made us feel so welcome and she was so helpful in every way at her home, as well as helping us with the research and touring we were doing. I felt very pampered by her caring, thoughtful ways. Being unsure about Bed & Breakfasts in the past, she certainly provided an experience that was great for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.6 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
4.9 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel 1620 at Plymouth Harbor
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast

Property: Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast
Address: 73C Warren Ave., Plymouth, MA 02360
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic Colonial style B&B with ocean views and beautiful gardens in an upscale area only two minutes to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II, Plymouth Rock, Pilgrim Hall Museum, and Whale Watching. Also, minutes from miles of public beaches, golf course and wonderful restaurants, pubs and shopping. We are only 15 minutes to Cape Cod and a 55 minute train ride to Boston. We have an elegant King Jacuzzi Suite, a beautiful Queen room and a wonderful family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing