We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at Above the Bay for 4 nights this week and had a wonderful time. Sandy is an awesome cook and hostess. The breakfasts were outstanding, the room was very comfortable and the house very charming. Sandy was very helpful in sharing her knowledge of the regional sights to be seen, restaurants to eat at, even an artisan bakery in the area. We hated to leave because we felt so at home and so spoiled. The location was perfect - just outside of the downtown noise and madness but close enough to all the local sights. Wished we could have stayed longer, will definitely be going back next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank khersh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 3-day stay at the Thornton Adams B&B. The food, hospitality, convenience, and location were superb!. We will definitely stay there again when our travels bring us to the Plymouth area.

The innkeeper, Sandy, was most helpful and flexible with our morning site-seeing and golfing schedules.

Room Tip: Select one of the front rooms for a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen_and_Rand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This B & B is absolutely lovely inside and out. The accommodations were superb, Sandy our hostess provided excellent suggestions for dinner and detailed info on Historic sites that should not be misssed! The breakfast in the morning was a first rate gourmet meal prepared by Sandy and beautifully presented at a lovely, elegant table.

We were hesitant at first to stay at this location due to a further proximity than most of the historic sites. Actually we realized it was way better to stay here in such a magnificent setting with peace and quiet overnight. If we had stayed closer to the historic sites it would have been extremely noisy!

Do not miss the opportunity to stay at this property if you are in the vicinity!

Room Tip: Any room at this property would be an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Sandy spared no effort to help us, whether providing local information, excellent breakfasts, or even needle and thread for an urgent repair.

The rooms were spacious and airy, with the best bed ever. I never heard the other guests, except when we joined them for breakfast. There was plenty of room for luggage and a luxurious, large bathroom with a jacuzzi (Marnie's room). We were able to come and go without disturbing other guests or the hosts, and parking was no problem. The inn is beautifully furnished and very clean. The Internet connection was perfect. It would have been nice to have had an entire week to explore the area and its attractions. The inn is not located in the bustle and noise of Plymouth but in a quiet outlying area. A lovely visit and a highlight of our vacation!

Room Tip: Marnie's room was luxuriously large with a heavenly extra large jacuzzi tub. Breezes blow throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cornhuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just spent two relaxing nights at this lovely B&B in Plymouth. We flew into Boston, took the Plymouth and Brockton bus (much better than I expected) to Plymouth, and Sandy was kind enough to pick us up from the bus drop off! She made lovely breakfast options and even made gluten-free pancakes for me! We were in town to celebrate a relative's 95th birthday and Sandy generously sent some of her famed cranberry cake to the birthday girl. We made many memories at this B&B and recommend this inn for those who are looking to be close to the ocean, to be treated with kindness and gracious hospitality, and a very comfortable place to rest your head.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TexRoseBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed four days at Sandy and Ron.

Their large house was the perfect starting point to discover the beautiful area of ​​Plymouth.

The room was large and comfortable and the homemade breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATRICE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was one of those places where we could have stayed forever. A quiet spot to a very busy town, the home was absolutely beautiful and our room was very, very nice. We had Marni's room. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi, comfortable bed, and the general beauty of the home. We sat out on the deck and had a drink. We had a gourmet breakfast that was very tasty and plenty of food. This in a town that took us by surprise. We expected to see a couple of things here, but there was so much more to see. This place is very close to the Plimoth Plantation which is a must for anyone visiting Plymouth. Besides this B & B, be sure to go to Sandy's on the beach, Cupcake Charlie's, the Mayflower, Plymouth Rock, and Plimoth Plantation.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms. I highly recommend Marni's Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
1.6 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
775 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
285 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast

Address: 73C Warren Ave., Plymouth, MA 02360
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: £109 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic Colonial style B&B with ocean views and beautiful gardens in an upscale area only two minutes to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II, Plymouth Rock, Pilgrim Hall Museum, and Whale Watching. Also, minutes from miles of public beaches, golf course and wonderful restaurants, pubs and shopping. We are only 15 minutes to Cape Cod and a 55 minute train ride to Boston. We have an elegant King Jacuzzi Suite, a beautiful Queen room and a wonderful family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing