We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Monument to the Forefathers

National Monument to the Forefathers
Ranked #2 of 68 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
kent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Easy to find and well worth spending a little time here reading the names of those who came to America .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kelly032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    102
    39
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice walk and view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

A few blocks away from the Mayflower & Rock. Most interesting because people don't realize it is there. Great view back to Plymouth Bay, worth a quick look see.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TrisGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Somewhat interesting...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Not authentic to the landing of the Pilgrims and frankly seems out of place. Just put there to add something to the "tourist trail."

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank capegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the largest granite monuments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

nice place to take a walk a good place to stop and rest and even bring a little picnic lunch ..in the nicer weather and not far from the center of town...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

For someone who grew up on the South Shore pretty much my whole life, I never knew this statue existed. Through school field trips, historical day trips, and the countless times I've been to Plymouth, it took a small little sign at the corner of the street reading "Forefather Monument" for my other half and I to look at each other with a quizzical look. As we approached the monument I was astounded at how peaceful it look against the beautiful blue sky. And mammoth. Ginormous. How could this have been hidden from my prideful Massachusetts, Boston Strong persona???
As I read up on the history of this monument, again I was astounded that not only had I never had an awareness of the monument, but most people from this area didn't know of it either.
Whether you are from the area or are passing through Plymouth, please do yourself a favor and seek this out.
It is truly a hidden gem of American History.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank AmyBeck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Monument to the Forefathers also viewed

 

Been to National Monument to the Forefathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing