We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family fun”

Plymouth Whale Watching
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Wasn't sure if my boys ages 4&8 could handle this 4 hour your but they loved it. Great sights and harbor tour on the way out, the naturalist did a great presentation about whales and then gave great direction and commentary once whales were spotted. Awesome experience the kids can't wait to go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    9
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A great afternoon at sea”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a great whale watching experience. We were able to see 2 different types of whales and had multiple sightings of each. The information provided was interesting and kept the attention of our children. The staff was extremely friendly and asked if we had any questions. They were also very safety conscious as it was a windy day and the sea was choppy. The Captain kept us out longer than the planned tour time as we were in the middle of viewing a group of whales. It was a great family adventure and well worth the ticket price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

With the realization and understanding that the whales are not going to wait for us to arrive etc. there is still the hope that these people supposedly know what they are doing and have been at it long enough to at least provide a reasonably good look at at least one whale. All we saw were two tails in the distance and a couple of blows as the whale came up for air but did not surface. The boat was one of their smaller ones and did not appear to be the cleanest especially on the lower deck. The sound system was terrible and we did not hear much of what the "naturalist" had to say. Because of rough seas the trip back was extremely unpleasant. On the trip out the "crew" including the captain seemed to be having a wonderful time chatting in the cabin. It's and hour and a half out and an hour and a half back which would seem to leave about an hour to search the area for whales. The captain was not there for anywhere near an hour maybe he wanted to chat some more with the young ladies in the cabin. All in all it was a totally lousy experience. It seemed what they were must adept at was trying to sell photos and buttons to you on the way back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Longstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a great time”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We started off with some great views of Plymouth Harbor that were narrated. Once we arrived at the Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary we started to spot blow. Total whales seen were 11 of three different species and several grey seals. The crew were all very friendly and the on board naturalist from New England Coastal Wildlife Alliance was excellent. I would highly recommend Capt John's Whale watch

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank polaris185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have been to three whale watches in the n-e, two from boston and this one from plymouth and we would rank this one far above the other two. The boat was clean, small and well equipped (clean , large bathrooms NOT located in the bottom of the vessel which can make it very unpleasant in choppy waters), staff very friendly and helpful and an educational team on board with wonderful displays for adults and kids. the weather and time of year (early summer) was definitely in our favor, there were so many viewings of humpbacks - moms and calves breaching, flaking.. four humpbacks actually swam to our boat and were so close we could see their nostrils. We had two kids in our party - 6 and 10year old - and they loved the trip for the friendly guides, talk, displays they could touch, activity books and of course the viewing. Overall, a must do if you are in the area. The only scam is the town parking - there is only parking available for four hours and so you will end up getting a ticket - the locals are open about it. you must prepare to pay the $15 fine....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank baileydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plymouth Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Plymouth Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing