We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Clam Chowdah in Mass”
Review of Cabby Shack

Cabby Shack
Ranked #7 of 207 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: "The CabbyShack, on historic Plymouth harbor, is the spot for gorgeous views, tons of seats under the sun, live music all season long, and seafood so fresh it practically jumps straight from the ocean to the kitchen. The basic boiled lobster weighs in at about a pound and a quarter. But those in the know ask for the super-sized three-and-a-half pound Big Man's Lobster. Equally eye-popping is the 'Big Shack' Roll. It's the biggest lobster roll in town, overflowing from a grilled buttered roll. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, the CabbyShack sells thousands of them a week. It's the perfect summer meal, for the perfect summer day. The CabbyShack's menu is loaded with fun summer foods like hand battered onion rings, colossal shrimp cocktail, golden fried clams, and -- believe it or not -- some of the best bar pizzas on the South Shore. But the dish they're most famous for is their award winning clam chowder, served in a fresh baked bread bowl. Rich chowder, big lobster rolls, and fun all summer long, keeps everybody coming back, to the CabbyShack." - Phantom Gourmet
Braintree, MA
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowdah in Mass”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The chowder at Cabby Shack is the best hands down but that is all I would get. Over all the seafood is just ok and a bit over priced. Better off just getting the clam chowder and some tid bits. More of a hot spot at night and best to have your chowder on the upper deck.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuy02184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    254
    167
    66
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Besides chowder, a bit disappointing”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We had been to Cabby Shack before and liked the chowder so we decided to go back on this trip to Plymouth. Chowder was good as usual, but rest of experience...not so much. Server was very young, extremely slow and had little to no personality. There were two interesting drinks on menu. Asked for a small sample of one (a mixture of two summer beers) before we ordered an expensive pitcher of the concoction - was told no. Ordered a mixture of Guinness and Blueberry beer and was told we had to order two because they no longer had Guinness on draft and they didn't want to waste half a can if Guinness. What? It's on menu! Honor it. Next we ordered a crab sandwich and was told the price was $2 more than on menu. Yes, she said multiple times their "new menus" would be delivered soon, but honor what is written until they show up! The food we did order was average at best.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thought it would be better”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I wanted a decent dinner for our last nite in Plymouth. We had just got done with whale watching and saw Cabby Shack. It was approximately 6:15 pm. Didn't look too crowded. Went in and there were just a few people waiting, not many. Girl said it was going to be 30-40 minute wait. I looked around and saw at least 4 empty already cleaned off tables that could have seated my family of 4. So we went out in the tiny lobby and sat on the bench and waited. Finally we were called after about 30 minutes and we were seated over in front of the window where the sun was shining so bright on us my daughter had to put on sunglasses. Waitress came and got our drink order but never once offered to pull down the blind to block the sun from our eyes. I eventually had to ask if we could could pull the blind. Anyway, I ordered broiled scallops with baked potato and pasta salad. It seemed like we waited an eternity for our food. Scallops came out super hot but baked potato was like room temperature. Pasta salad was very good. Our waitress came back only once to check to see how our meal was. Finally she came back again and at that point we needed take home boxes. She returned with the check and boxes. And that's about all she wrote. Although I don't think the service was the best, the scallops were good. I would consider trying Cabby Shack again if I'm in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferE299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Was good”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Price for two whole lobsters was good my husband loved the whole experience and was right by the ocean great view didn't like the chicken Marsala had a stomach ach after the waitress was very nice. At night we went past and looked like they had a dj looked like it could be a nice experience

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service poor food”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It took us 70 minutes to get our entree even though it was not that busy. When we did get it the fries were cool and my scallops were way over cooked. We had to repeatedly ask the waitress to get us thing that should have come with the entrees - a slice of lemon with your fish perhaps, no tartar sauce with scallops, asked for sauce was given coleslaw, a second round of drinks maybe? Now if they were busy you might forgive some of the poor service but that was not the case. Have been there before but will not go again and will not recommend - there are many other options! Obvious the staff at least our waitress was not trained or well managed. Someone is not keeping their eye on the ball - the owners???

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skylar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabby Shack also viewed

 

Been to Cabby Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing