We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our best hotel experience in YEARS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
John Carver Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Bridgewater, Massachusetts
1 review
“This was our best hotel experience in YEARS!”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

What a wonderful stay. The staff, in every instance, was friendly and personable ... front desk, room service, gift shop, Hearth n Kettle, even the Lifeguards at the pool. The room was clean and comfortable. I always knew the inn was there, but never pictured it as nice as it was. We will certainly return here, I especially would like to try the Beach Plum Spa. The pool is great - the kids had a BLAST - and we enjoyed the hot tub and sauna. The John Carver Inn is the perfect getaway for families and couples alone. I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbates2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    229
    123
    56
    36
See reviews for
373
166
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We just returned from a Saturday night stay at the hotel and loved the place. The
check in was super fast and our rooms were as requested and very nice. The room/furnishings looked completely new and the room was super clean. We ate at the bar on our arrival mid afternoon and the food was quick and delicious. The kids swam and the pool was great and not crowded. The next day we arrived at the Hearth and Kettle again, on Mother's day and were seated without a wait. The food and service was excellent . All of the staff at the hotel were friendly, especially the woman who worked in the gift shop. My daughters bought Mother's Day gits that Sat and Sunday and she couldn't have been nicer, talking with them and wrapping their gifts at no charge. She left such a nice impression with them as she went out of her way to be helpful and nice.
Lastly, the location is great and you can walk to everything! We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Arrived on a Friday evening and the hotel was rather empty. Our room was comfortable and clean. Ate dinner in the Hearth and Kettle as we have before, this is our third visit to the John Carver Inn.
The waitress was slow although the restaurant was pretty empty and she spent a good part of our time there chatting with friends at another table. It took 15 minutes to get my first drink and the second I ordered did not arrive until after we had finished eating. Though she seemed pleasant she was very inattentive the food seemed as though it had sat under a heat lamp for a while before being served which could be explained by her absence for so long. The food was below their normal standards.
The following morning we ate there again and the service and food were much better but my 12 year old and I could hear through the wall a man in the kitchen cursing out another employee.
We went to the pool after dinner and the hot tub was beyond filthy. There was a ring around the sides and dirty scum floating on top. I informed the desk the next day.

I have always enjoyed the John Carver and hope I just had a really bad one time experience. A little elbow grease and a bit better management of the restaurant staff would improve everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnn0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We went to John Carver Inn during April vacation. Front desk staff was very busy, not friendly. Yes, hotel is dated but we weren't there to stay in the hotel the whole time! Our room had a very peculiar smell and we had to open the window which didn't seem to help. (The smell was not from the pool...) The pool was good for the kiddos, hot tub area for adults. Pretty good value and we booked early so I received a sizable discount. We ate in the connected restaraunt. Good basic food, nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghandix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Very Clean,nice to have hearth and kettle "to go" Great fun at the pool!!
Didn't matter to me,but room decor is dated wallpaper and border.and dated window treatments. Bathroom looked like it had been updated. But so neat and clean didn't matter at all!
Housekeeper even wrote me a personal note ,thanking me for the tip I left her. It was well deserved..
Lifegaurd on second day rather "strict" but doing her job.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double queen Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise5067Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We just got back from an overnight with our five year old. Check in and out were a breeze. Price was great. Location is fabulous, walk to everything! Our room was great and the beds were very comfortable, bathroom was spotless. My one and only issue was with the pool. We booked the trip taking school vacations into account., thinking we would avoid large crowds. We were very surprised to learn when we arrived at the pool that there were 3 birthday parties booked for the day. The loud parties took the area over. I had not idea that they hosted parties at the hotel pool. The pool is awesome, we were just a little overwhelmed by the crowds. Also be advised that the lifeguards are busy doing homework, eating, texting and chatting. Keep a really close eye on your kids, it gets a little crazy!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucylu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed here this past weekend and had a nice time, Kids loved the pool. Eat at the restaurant, food was ok, had great service. Hotel is older but in nice shape, rented a Jacuzzi suit, it was nice but a lot smaller than I envisioned. Over all a nice place and I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstraUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
6.1 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
270 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Carver Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Carver Inn & Spa

Property: John Carver Inn & Spa
Address: 25 Summer St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — John Carver Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your John Carver Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Carver Hotel Plymouth
John Carver Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing