We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Exercise!”

Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Jeremy Point Jaunt from Wellfleet Marina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This monument commemorates the Pilgrim's first landing in Provincetown (not Plymouth), where they conceived, wrote and committed to the Mayflower Compact - the foundational document for the democracy America enjoys today. The Monument is the tallest all-granite structure in the U.S. rising 353 feet above sea level, and at the top, visitors are provided the most spectacular view of Cape Cod.In addition to the MOnument, the Provincetown Museum presents the unique cultural heritage of this historic town with special exhibitions and permanent displays.The Monument and Museum has ample parking, is open daily from APril 1st through November 30, and NEW this year - a food concession call the "Shallop Cafe" where visitors can enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Provincetown and the Bay.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“History and Exercise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Worth the trip to Provincetown. Inexpensive history lesson. Two museums and tower climb included in fee. Steep climb for this middle aged, out of shape mom, but worth it and I encourage others to do it. Take your time and the views at the top are very much worth the effort.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank merrydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    310
    64
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were on vacation staying in Falmouth, but took a day trip to Province town. We went to the pilgrim monument. It was very inexpensive to get in, and although the climb was a bit high, it was so worth it to get to the top. The views were breath taking! There is protection completely surrounding the top of the monument so no one falls off.
The museum was far larger than we originally thought. It wasn't huge but for the price it exceeded our expectations.
We were very impressed, and would go back again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank heidi7311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A neat little piece of history in a party town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

You can see the monument from all over town, however it is worth taking a trip to the actual monument and museum its quick and fun for history lovers

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Versace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lot of steps...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I traveled to Cape Cod in August of 2012. We stayed in Falmouth but made a day trip to Provincetown. We went to the Pilgrim monument because of all the good reviews on Trip Advisor (and because of my need to fill every second of my day with something new and "exciting"). The museum was okay...I guess I'm not really a history buff. The monument was a whole lot steps leading to a whole lot of disappointment. The view was just okay, definitely not worth the trek up the narrow, winding staircase. There are plenty of beautiful views in Cape Cod and most of them don't require a fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank msrugg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always take visitors here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is the premier landmark to visit in Provincetown. Spending every summer in Ptown since 2002, the museum is great for families - not too big and not too small. The climb up the tower for the views is manageable for those in their 70s, like me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing