We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay again! [Chandler House Penthouse]”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayshore/Chandler House
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again! [Chandler House Penthouse]”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This was my first time to PTown with my partner who has been before. We were looking for something a bit special to celebrate my inaugural visit to this wonderful location and settled upon the Chandler House Penthouse based on based on a combination of location/views/room quality. It lived up to every expectation we had!

It's very well located for exploring PTown (less than 10 min walk to the heart of the town). Has absolutely STUNNING views of the PTown bay area and harbour (I witnessed the most incredible sunset & moonrise of my life on our first night there). It's location at the top of the building means the room is not disturbed by other guests and has beautiful high ceilings and double-height windows. The room was kitted out with modern furniture, appliances and couldn't have been cleaner.

All-in-all it was exactly what we were looking for. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Walking distance from downtown p-town. Quiet and quaint location. We took the fast ferry from Boston and walked from the dock to our front door in 10 minutes. It was AWESOME!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Bayshore twice in the past and are staying at Chandler House this week for our wedding. Every time we come to P'Town we check out other rentals, but always end up here. Immaculately clean waterfront units, gorgeous views of the bay, wharf, Long Point light and the monument, friendly staff, pet friendly and parking - what's not to love? Far enough away from the center of town to be quiet but close enough to enjoy a nice stroll into town. Fully equipped kitchens (yet no lobster pot in Chandler 5?), Clean towels and trash removal daily, bed linens changed and unit fully cleaned mid-week. Ceilings in some units are a little low, so be careful if you're tall, but not a problem for me (at 6 ft) except raising hands above head to put on a tee shirt.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValleyTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

It was short notice, but they had two nights available in Bayshore number eighteen. We chose Bayshore because dogs were welcome. We brought our two young small dogs. There were many dogs staying here this week. Loved the private beach, clean condo, lots of towels. Staff very helpful. Short walk to town, but just far enough away to be quiet. Angel Foods, just a short distance away for many of your needs. I look forward to many more stays.

Room Tip: Check out all the photos and ask what floor you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fowler_frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radnor, Pa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Chandler House. The condo was immaculate and well supplied with kitchen supplies, entertainment and anything else you would need for a pleasant stay. #5 is a great condo - on the second floor with a great view of the bay and plenty .large enough for two or three people. It is close enough to the center of town to walk there in ten minutes but far enough away that sleeping with the windows open was no problem. We would definitely stay here again. This is a pet friendly room though it was so immaculate you would never have known it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mk1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

My husband and I , along with another couple, spent New Year's Eve Weekend in Unit #2 at Chandler House. Very comfortable accomodations, one bedroom has it's own bathroom. The gas stove came is handy during the winter. Private deck is nice with table and chairs-just a 8 second walk to the water's edge. Kitchen is spacious and well equipped. Commercial St is located just outside the Master Bedroom. If you are a light sleeper you may hear people outside late at night in the middle of the street (then again, it was New Year's Eve weekend). Overall great location, a short walk to Angel Foods for some gourmet items and a short walk the other way to the Mews for a martini! We would return again next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkkakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York,NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Bayshore (formerly Hargood House) is a fantastic place to stay in Provincetown. The bay facing units mostly have fantastic views and the beach at low tide is a fascinating walk, filled with marine life (clams, scallops, tiny shrimp and crabs -- though I wouldn't eat any of them!).

The location is exceptional. Bayshore is on the quiet East end of Ptown and is an easy walk into the center of town. Right nearby is the Provincetown Art Association Museum, Angel Foods, and the Mews.

A couple of things to note about Bayshore:
1) Not all of the units have views. Get a brochure and talk with the person who takes your reservation to make sure you have a unit with an ocean view.

2) The units are condos and are furnished by their owners. This means that the standard of the decor can vary somewhat (but I've never stayed in a shabby unit).

I stay at Bayshore at least once a year and look forward to my stay the rest of the year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.2 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Masthead Resort
Masthead Resort
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Colony Inn
Cape Colony Inn
#2 of 15 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayshore/Chandler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore/Chandler House

Property: Bayshore/Chandler House
Address: 493 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2449
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Bayshore/Chandler House Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing