We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Better All the Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Getting Better All the Time”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This pleasant motel, just outside of the downtown madness of in-season Provincetown, offers a comfortable and congenial place to relax. The rooms are newly and tastefully decorated, the staff helpful and accommodating, and the breakfast buffet both generous and tasty. Special mention should be made of Dave, the energetic Navy veteran who makes sure that everything is ship shape at all times. An extra plus: it's dog-friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room -- on the ground floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review - we certainly did have a busy winter getting ready for our guests, happy to hear that you again enjoyed your stay with us. The new waterfront sliders with locking screens are a hit with everyone, who doesn't want to fall asleep listing to the ocean. What a great view to wake up to in the morning, Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. I will pass your breakfast comments on to the man in charge, he will be happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. We welcome all your furry friends, we hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    266
    104
    35
    23
See reviews for
231
397
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We visited with our dog for the second time in three years. The beachfront rooms had been significantly upgraded in the interim, with new curtains, and flat screen TV. As ever, the customer service was impeccable, especially Elaine on the front desk, and Dave looking after breakfast, which was varied and great value. The rooms are cleaned thoroughly each day, and a missing bath plug was replaced within five minutes of the request being made. Certainly if you are looking for a pet friendly hotel which welcomes gay or straight families you'll be hard pressed to find better.

Just a couple of peeves. The wifi, while excellent in the main building, is temperamental in the beachfront rooms. And we felt that, while the no smoking policy is explained to people, some guests seemed to think that smoking on the terraces was allowed, thus filling the air conditioning units with second hand smoke. Notices on the terraces, please!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes our waterfront rooms were newly remodeled in the winter of 2011-2012, everyone seems to love the improvements. Also this past winter new sliders with locking screens were installed in the waterfront building, letting that cool ocean breeze in during the evening hours. The smoking on the balconies are a problem we do have no smoking signs along the rails, if we are informed of someone smoking we immediately go to them and encourange them to smoke on the beach, we will continue working on this. We are working on the WIFI, we seem to have a handful of rooms having and problem and should have this resolved by the end of the month. We hope to see you and your furry friend with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Wanted a car-free Cape excursion and this hotel "fit the bill." It is an easy 10 minute walk from the ferry to the hotel. (We took the 90 minute high-speed ferry from Downtown Boston; roundtrip $85) Downtown P'town can be a bit noisy and congested and I appreciated that this hotel was outside the hub but right on the bay. Breakfast was included and it had a nice variety of offerings. Our room was clean with two double beds. Our sliding glass door leaked during a rainstorm and left our carpet wet. The reason I am giving this hotel a lower rating is because the back verandas that look out on to the bay are not private and they are loud. If the management could address this I would give this place 5 stars (and if you fellow Traveller don't care, then this is a 5-star spot with great prices and amenities. Did I mention clean pool?) On our stay people came up and down from the beach via the back verandas. Because there are no locks on the screens, we had to keep our door to the ocean closed at night because of guests coming and going. We loved the chairs on the veranda and sat out with a glass of wine, but again, with people coming and going it felt less private

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to hear that we did install sliders with locking screens on the first, second and third floors, the fourth floor will be completed during the winter months of 2014, however, we are unable to have private balconies, Provincetown requires two exits in all rooms due to safety issues. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at Surfside Inn twice already and we always made sure we get the waterfront view. As always, no complaint. Staff are friendly, breakfast was yummy and it is a pet friendly atmosphere so we feel right at home. Our pets really loved the stay and we would come again....hopefully soon:) Oh yes, it is not that far of a walk to get to down center.

Room Tip: Always choose waterfront view...a little pricy but worth it:) Can you imagine waking up to the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jacobsfamily29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you and your pooch had a wonderful time at the Surfside. The views are truly spectacular of Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. We thank you for your wonderful comments and look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel on the beach and a great value. Loved we could bring our pooch too! A long walk to town but it was a great way to work off those marguritas! It was so relaxing listening to the ocean just outside our room. Being able to sit out on the deck and enjoy the view made it even nicer. Will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to see that we met your expections while staying at the Surfside. Our staff will be pleased to hear that their hard work paid off and they have another satisfied customer. We hope that if you are in the area again you will once again stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Elaine and the staff are always welcoming. I got married on that beach 5 years ago, and family and friends stayed there and loved it. Fanizzi s threw us a wonderful party. It's the perfect set up for happiness, great rooms, great restaurant, and amazing Provincetown!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for your review Chris. Always a pleasure having you with us, my staff works so hard making this all happen, we look forward to having you with again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

short walk to town but on quite side with private beach, great views the king room was only a few steps to beach .there was a great restaurant right next door for lunch and dinner . the room comes with a great breakfast of waffles and bagels and eggs and fruit would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for choosing the Surfside Hotel during your stay in Provincetown. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your waterfront room and the amenities at the hotel. The view is spectacular especially of Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. We are on the quite side of town however, as you know just a short walk to the restaurants, shows and attractions ptown has to offer. Our staff works very hard, my breakfast person will be pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast, he works very hard each day preparing a great breakfast to start everyones day with a smile. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,001 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside Hotel & Suites
Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing