We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Was great”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a view from the room the best ever the from desk Elizabeth was very nice and helpfull I'll go again in the summer this time was to cold the people very nice the prices little up there but the food was good

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonila1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your taking the time to let others know of your experience at the Surfside Hotel and Suites. We look forward to seeing you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    261
    103
    35
    23
See reviews for
224
390
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visit P-Town every year for the last 5 years and Surfside Hotel has always been a significant reason for our visit. We normally stay at an Ocean Front King and occasionally at Light House when it is available. Light House is so amazing. You have your own private deck with a direct access to the ocean. In high tide, the water come so close to the deck and you feel like you are in one of those eternity pool. Ocean Front King is cheaper but it does not disappoint you at all. You have a panoramic view of the water from your own room.

Some of the comments complain about the room condition and breakfast. The rooms have gone through a major renovation and I really do not understand why people still complain. The rooms are meticulously cleaned and very well maintained. We love their breakfast. They have daily hot meal with variety of bagels and bread. You can make your own waffle too. It is very simple and enjoyable breakfast.

If you happen to have a family with active kids in a room directly above you, you will notice the kids' running around. But that's what's kids are. If it become excessive, just call the management office. They do a great job maintaining a peace and quiet environment for all of the guests.

It sits about 15-minute walking distance from the center of the town. It is a wonderful walk on Commercial street to the center. Since it has some distance from the center, it is very quiet.

Management team is full of hospitality and they do wonderful job to make your stay a memorable one.

If you think this hotel is too pricy, check the real-estate price of some of the ocean front properties in P-Town. The location, quality of the room and the hospitality of the management definitely justify their pricing.

Room Tip: Ocean Front room is highly recommended. The balcony is shared and there is no partition between roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Masayoshi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing the Surfside each time you come to Provincetown. It's always a pleasure having guests return year after year for their vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Needed a 5-night solo accommodation for a conference in Provincetown. The Surfside was just right. The comfortable third floor room overlooked the bay, and I enjoyed the sunrises, sunsets, and seabirds. Room was clean and was equipped with a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and plenty of outlets. Wonderful quilt made for a cozy night. I imagine their free private parking lot would be much appreciated during the crowded summer season. The hotel appears to be just a mile from the town center, but Fanizzi's restaurant is practically on the premises and a little market is just down the road. A delicious breakfast buffet was ready each morning at 8am with eggs, sausage, waffles, bagels, juices, coffee, tea, and more. All of the staff seemed friendly and eager to please. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almostgrownup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities the Surfside has to offer, we look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's no wonder why, for the past 30+ years, the Surfside Hotel is the place I stay when visiting Cape Cod. Located .9 miles from the center of town, it is the perfect location when you want to escape the Ptown crowds during the busy months of summer. Waterfront rooms that overlook a private beach with a view of Cape Cod Bay. Equipped with refrigerator, microwave, flatscreen tv and wi-fi access, the rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast is served daily, and Dave is always there to help you with the waffle machine. The gas fire pit was a lovely amenity that was added just last year. As of this writing, the outdoor pool area is being refinished, and will be ready by summer. What a great option to have during those hot summer days. Having seen all the changes to the property over the years, Elaine and Dave continue to enhance the Surfside Hotel's offerings, making it more enjoyable their guests. What brings me back to the Surfside? No doubt, the hospitality that Elaine, David and Staff offer me year after year. In fact, I'll be back in July!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jsnoopy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review, always a pleasure having you with us, thank you for choosing the Surfside Hotel and Suites for your vacation getaways - we are looking forward to seeing you many times again this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I came here this week as a special getaway for our anniversary. We booked a waterfront king room.
Please understand- we came at the very beginning of the season. Surfside opened april 1st. We arrived on the 9th. Most of provincetown was still closed or opening late april. Honestly? Best time to go. We practically had the very beautiful private beach to ourselves. The room was awesome. Small but the bed was like sleeping on a giant pillow. Wish we could have brought the bed home lol.
If you're a smoker like I am please understand this is seriously a non smoking hotel. But they make it really convenient for those of us who need it. There are ashcans by the elevator and smoking is allowed on the beach. Just not on balcony or in rooms. Not bad at all.
The staff was so amazing. They arranged our whale watching trip and and were super helpful in everything we needed. Even ran into Elaine and Kelsey in town and they were just so friendly.
If I have any downside it was that we didnt get to see the fire pit lit. And it was for lack of trying. Totally not their fault.
We will most definitely be back. The experience was one we will not forget.
Please stay here- it may seem a lil pricy but trust me go off season and its worth it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bellafinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review, always pleasure having you with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you come to Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Perfect ocean-side properly with a private beach. Extremely comfortable room and warm hospitality. The location was great, it is an easy walk to town with parking for hotel guests. Good breakfast and exceptionally comfortable bedding. Well run, clean, very attentive staff, great ambiance, and we utilized the wonderful pool as well as the ocean.

Room Tip: If available, great to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frostandcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We thank you for your review, always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and their wonderful newly remodeled water view rooms. Our employees work very hard to make everyone's stay with us a memorable experience. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in the part of the hotel overlooking the sea and the view out to sea and along to Provincetown harbour is spectacular, especially at sunrise/sunset. Room well furnished, but let down by a shabby bathroom - badly chipped bath and cracked surround. Disappointing that the sliding glass doors out to the view open onto a communal balcony/staircase. Soundproofing non-existant. Be prepared to hear everything that goes on in the adjoining rooms - take earplugs! Complimentary coffee/light breakfast available at reception. Easy stroll to cntre of town and restaurants. Free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review, you will be happy to hear that we will be remodeling our bathrooms very soon. As for the balcony, the town does not allow private balconies in buildings higher than two stories, we are sorry but this is something we cannot control. We hope that you will try us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
949 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside Hotel & Suites
Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing