We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed at Surfside Hotel & Suites in Provincetown on July 4-6 2014 and was very pleased with the accommodations. The hotel was clean, reasonably priced, the staff very friendly and accommodating and it is conveniently located on Commercial Street. They also have a large parking lot behind the hotel which was very convenient. I think they normally have a 3 night minimum stay but allowed me to book 2 nights and they also allowed me to check in earlier than their posted time (I don't think my room was ready but they sent someone to clean it when I arrived). Best of all, I forgot some items when I left and didn't realize it for a couple of days. I've had this happen at other hotels and called within an hour or two after checking out only to be told "no, we didn't see your item in the room". I emailed Elaine Quigley two days after leaving and received a response within a couple of hours telling me they found my items and will be mailing them to me. The hotel offers several amenities that I didn't have time to enjoy like a pool, light breakfast, coffee (coffee maker in the rooms also) and a bar.
I will definitely stay here again and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Commercial street have a small view of the beach and good sunlight.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel provided an option for declining towels and linens if they are not needed.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your taking the time to let others know you enjoyed the hotel as well as the service. We try hard to accommodate early check ins when possible. Our lost and found is kept for 60 days so we were happy to return the items to you.
I hope that we will see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    246
    102
    35
    21
See reviews for
208
362
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

First time to Ptown and staying at the surfside made it a great vacation. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help. Look forward to our next visit and seeing Elaine again. Recommend paying to stay in the beachfront rooms

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review we appreciate you taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass this review on to my staff they will be pleased that you enjoyed your stay and they met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay over the 4th of July holiday. The hotel room was nice/standard with very comfortable beds. Cleaning staff were friendly and helpful and the owners were kind and welcoming. They have a large parking lot which is rare in P-town so it's a definite advantage if you drive. It's a 15-20 minute walk into town. If that's too much, I suggest biking – there are bike rental places everywhere and it seems like the best way to get around town. The beach in front of the hotel was the perfect spot to spend the day and watch the fireworks. The continental breakfast was marginal - nothing to write home about. However, the owners treated us to a cookout on the 4th (well 5th, since Hurricane Arthur came through on the 4th) with hots, hamburgers, chips and soft drinks. We recommend the East End Market on Bradford to stock up on snacks and drinks for your room. They also have a nice selection of sandwiches made-to-order. We also had good food at Pepe's Wharf, The Lobster Pot, and Cach. The Squealing Pig is fun for a few beers and watching sports while the Old Colony Tap is a local's dive bar with cheaper beer, a lively bunch of regulars, and old tunes on the jukebox. We loved it there! We also recommend the whale watch - we saw 30, which we're told is "once-in-a-lifetime." We also saw several on our first trip 6 years ago so it's never been a disappointment. We'll definitely return to P-town and Surfside!

Room Tip: No elevators so choose accordingly for your group. We will go for a beachfront room next time.
See more room tips
Green Features: Plenty of opportunities to recycle - thanks for that!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RobinSDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your taking the time to let others know about your stay at the Surfside and in Provincetown. Sounds like you had a great time and we were able to enjoy much of Provincetown. We hope to see you again in the future when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Overall service and amenities could have been significantly better with increased hours at the pool and a friendlier managerial staff. Some were down right rude.

The bar and lounge are in essence false advertising and provided no form of guest service nor comforts nor fulfilled their guests needs.

Room cleanliness upon our arrival was poor at best due to worn /soiled carpets that gave a poor impression and other overlooked maintenance items throughout the property that gave a cheap roadside motel look and negative impression. Especially at the price.

May or may not stay there again based on this stay and would only consider it in a pinch as I am limited since I travel with my dog and the Surfside is somewhat pet friendly. There are better places to stay from what I have since learned but live and learn. Simply put there was nothing that won me over as far as making me a definite return customer - quite the contrary.

If the free breakfast sounds like a great perk...don't let that sway you. You'll be going to breakfast every morning after your first attempt. They should simply give up on their attempt at breakfast and reduce the prices. It's horrific. Better yet spend the money saved and clean the carpets in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am truly disappointed that you found our staff not friendly and will certainly look into this matter. I am very surprised at this comment as I am often approached by our guests commenting on the friendliness of our staff, just last night I had three guests approach me regarding this matter. The bar service by the pool and fire pit area are available every day from 12:00 to 11:00 PM as permitted on our license and our bartenders are there to accommodate your requests. All of our carpets were professionally cleaned just six weeks ago however, I will look into your problems with your room, please give us a call and let me know what room you were in so that I can resolve these problems. As for our breakfast, freshly made Belgian waffles, hard boiled eggs, assorted breads and bagels, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruits, a hot dish rotating daily of scrambled eggs, french toast, sausage, hash and biscuits and gravy, assorted juice, coffee and assorted teas served complimentary each day is a favorite of many of our return guests, I'm sorry you were not able to find something to enjoy to start your day during you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

One of our only holidays were we didn't want to leave and got the very bad holiday blues on return. Everything you could have wished for in a holiday, clean, safe, and attractive. Very helpful and fun staff. Loved every minute of it and will return very soon. Big thanks and kind regards to all staff well done. XXXX A special thank you to Dave and Kelsey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that we met with your expectations. Ir was a pleasure have you with us and we hope to see you if you return to the states. I will pass your review on to my staff they will certainly be pleased to see your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at this location. It is 20 minutes walk from downtown near the beach. First, It look like more a motel than an hotel. We had a room with waterfront view. First impression : the room did not smell very good. I understand it is waterfront but it should not smell bad (kind of a moldy smell). The buildings look like a cheap building and need some refresh. The staff is not specially nice or cheerful. Finally they mentioned on their website " A generous complimentary continental breakfast is served every morning"... So we were expecting something nice. Well, it is more a Motel 6 or Best Western tasteless cheap breakfast than "generous"...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am truly surprised that you were not happy with your waterfront room, the rooms were just updated two years ago and our guests who have been coming for many years truly love these rooms with the added seating on the balcony overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. We have never had a moldy smell complaint about these rooms but we will certainly look into this matter. As for our breakfast of freshly made Belgian Waffles, hard boiled eggs, assorted breads and bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, a hot dish changing each day from scrambled egg, french toast, sausage, corned beef hash and sausage gravy and biscuits I'm surprised you did not find it appealing for a complimentary breakfast. We have in the past two years spent many $$$ updating the outside out of property from the courtyard/fire pit area to the brand new pool area, each year we update another portion of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I arrived way before check in time. The desk staff was so nice and accommodating. A room was ready for us. We booked a three day stay in a waterfront king. I loved waking up to the water view. Everyone we met was so nice. It was close enough to town that it was just a short walk away. We will be coming back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your letting other know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your returning when you are again in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.0 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
20.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Cape Colony Inn
Cape Colony Inn
#1 of 14 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside Hotel & Suites
Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing