We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get nearer the sea which makes this a really cool place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is a great place but a posh hotel it isn't and if you have any concerns read the reviews here and they will provide you will all the information you need to make the right decision for you.

Lets start with the less excellent bits:

Main issue is that it's a bit noisy at night. Not because the guests are particularly noisy - actually, the guests average 50+ and tend to be early to sleep/up at 7am type folks!

But the walls and floors are quite thin and you can hear a lot of everything that's going on!

Fluffy is a light sleeper and while he has worn ear plugs every night the charms of this place compensate and it's not been that bad, so let's keep this in perspective.

The second issue is about the rooms. I would disagree with previous recent comments that it's a bit worn. Actually, i think they have recently refurbished but they did it in a really old fashioned style! Lots of nets and greens!

But importantly: everything is spotlessly clean and the housekeepers and cleaners have done a brilliant job every day.

But this place is not minimalist or trendy. At all.

Breakfast is limited but we ate there once and went into Ptown the rest of the time.

Now the good bits.

The best bit is the location. It's near to the centre and on the right/better side of town but it is one of very, very few places in Ptown to be right / directly on the beach.

A little more detail on this..... we are in the bay side block - there is another block over the road on the land side and this does not have direct beach access or even a view of the beach. So book the right block!

We are on the beach. The big sliding door/window means I can see a panoramic view out for miles. I am 5 metres from the surf. Walk down the staircase and I am on the beach. Sit on the balcony and you are facing the sea. You can't get much closer! It's brilliant.

The staff are really friendly too.

It's very, very dog friendly - which is cool for me but might worry some.

There is a massive, free car park out the back which is very convenient.

The staff and the fellow guests are gay friendly.

So, all in all, you can stay somewhere cooler and trendier in terms of decor, but you'll probably be a block or two back from the sea or in the town and never see the sea from your posh room. And that is not cool at all. I'd much rather have this place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiswickTurnhamGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2010

Thank you for your review of our hotel and Provincetown. The east end, yes a little quiter than the rest of Provincetown but just a short walk to the center from the hotel. We hope that when you return to the states you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

We’ve been in the hotel for 2 nights – labor day and the day after, and had great time at the hotel.
Stuff was professional and kind, place is well maintained, rooms were clean (but better job could be done in the bathroom), breakfast was more than expected and the swimming pool is an advantage that many other places in P-town does not have.

We were also very pleased with the dinner deal we got from the hotel – Dinner at Fanzzin’s turned out to be a delicious experience. Not a compromise in any way. Go there if you have a deal or not and try to ask for a sit next to the window.

We would also like to thank the stuff for a warm welcome and friendly attitude during our stay. It made the visit in P-town so much nicer.

Hope to come back again next year, although we are so far away, and bring ISRAEL flag with us :-)

Yftah and Guy

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yftah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2010

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be sure to order the Isreal flag when ordering next season. We will certainly address the bathroom cleanliness with our staff.
We at the Surfside strive to make your stay with us a memorable and pleasant one and hope that we make everyone feel at home. We love hearing from our guests and always pass the comments on to everyone on our staff, again thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We were looking for a place to stay in P-town for just two nights on Labor Day weekend. Impossible, right? Almost every guesthouse requires 3 or 4 night stay, minimum. Ah, but we are happy to report that the Surfside came to our rescue. We thought we would be disappointed to stay at a somewhat less chi-chi establishment, but in the end we were pleasantly surprised by the amenities and friendly service. Okay, if you’re looking for 600+ thread-count sheets, and down pillows, you won’t find it here. But there are so many other things that the Surfside offers. You are literally just a few steps away from the beach. Or you could spend the afternoon lounging by the pool. The hotel is very conveniently located right on Commercial Street, not too far from East End art galleries and the center of town. The Surfside is one of the few places in town that is pet-friendly, a real bonus for animal lovers. The complimentary breakfast is pretty standard, though the fact that you can make your own fresh waffles definitely kicks it up a notch or two! Bottom line: we will definitely stay here again. Only next time we'll stay longer!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

The staff at the Surfside thanks you for your kind review. We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable during their staff and I'm happy to hear that we accomplished this for you during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Right from start to finish the Staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean and tastefully decorated with all the amenities I was looking for. The common areas and pool area were spotless The view was spectacular from the balcony. I really enjoyed the sounds of the ocean at night right outside our door.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKangiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is very dedicated to meeting our guests expectations. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Surfside Hotel during in an oceanfront room, and were very satisfied. We had a beautiful view of the water on one end, and a view of the street and pool on the other. Breakfast was fine, but could start earlier (starts at 8 A.M.) for us. Short walk to the center. Beach is right there. A little pricy, but what isn't on the Cape. Location, location, location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2010

We hope to see you again, hope you try us off season when rates are a little lower. Happy to hear from another happy guest at the Surfside. We've been very lucky with the weather, we hope the fall weather is good. Pool stays open until Columbus Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My wife and I have stayed in Provincetown on many occassions, but we have never been as impressed with a hotel as we were with the Surfside Hotel and Suites. The room was clean, the hotel was within 10 minutes walking distance to downtown, the bed was as comfortable as I've ever been in when not at home and they served a continental breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends that plan on staying in Provincetown in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review, always happy to hear from a happy guest and a guest who will return to us again next season. Perhaps we will also see you in the fall, take a look at our Manager's specials for September and October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Surfside Hotel from July 14 through the 17. We had an oceanview room which was very nice, however, when we checked in we tried to call the front desk but had no phone service. Fortunately, we had our cell phones but were surprised we'd be put in a room with no phone. Even in this techno age, some people DO NOT have a cell. We went to the front desk and were told the phone had been out for days and wouldn't be serviced for a week. We had to depend on the front desk, but mostly our cell, to place calls to restaurants, etc. After the first day, we had to request add'l. shampoo and soap as the housekeeping staff didn't replenish. We also had to ask for clean towels.

For the price, I expected more. The mattress was very uncomfortable too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorkelmom1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2010

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. Just wanted to let you know that we have found the problem with the phones and they are now in working order. Due to the salt air some of the wires had corroded and the phone has now been rewired. I am addressing your problem with housekeeping as to why you did not get fresh towels, shampoo etc. Housekeeping is usually very good about replenish the rooms. I'm sorry you did not have a good experience; I hope that you try us out again. If you get this message please call us, I would like to know the room you were in, all our mattresses are Serta Pillow Tops and are new, if there is a problem with the mattress we would like to correct it, I have not had a complaints on any mattresses so please call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
244 reviews
1.7 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range: £137 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing