We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, great place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Colony Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Wow, great place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Front desk staff was friendly and efficient during both arrival and departure. Our room was immaculate. The bathroom and shower were spotless. The beds were clean and super comfortable. The pool was sparkling clean and even HEATED! The housekeeping staff was extremely friendly and helpful whenever we needed more towels, etc. Breakfast was great and the ladies who were helping everyone make waffles were cute :) They even had a tire pump for my friend who had a flat tire...awesome service! i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to go to PTown. The walk to where all the action is may seem a bit long, but the sights on the way down there make up for it...or just bring bikes like we did!!! We will be going back to the Cape Colony Inn for sure.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was spacious...not sure how the other rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayP0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCIptown, General Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jay,
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review of the CCI. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our clean, newly renovated rooms, Simmons Beautyrest Pillow Top mattresses, wonderful staff and heated pool. Please note for your next visit, the Provincetown shuttle stops at the hotel and runs every half hour in and out of town. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    354
    58
    7
    11
See reviews for
253
424
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed two nights in August. We chose a family suite, which was good in size for four adults and two toddlers. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the space quite nice. We had all we needed in the room: small fridge (making usual white noise though), microwave, coffee machine (Keurig, breakfast blend, reg and decaf capsules), reading lights, and two flat screen TVs. The bathroom is actually tight with sink outside. Some pieces of furniture are old, but overall, the room was good.

From the Inn, you can walk about 5 min to the beach. The beach is decent but with shards of glass in the sand, so not that safe. The staff at the reception area is welcoming and helpful (Sheila especially). Breakfast was continental, and a plus for warm waffles and hard boiled eggs.

Unfortunately, our second night was ruined by noisy patrons who decided to loudly chat outside next to our room. We heard them at 11 pm, then went off somewhere to come back and wake us up at 2am (we believe these are the same people, but we are not sure). They were having loud conversations in the parking lot area which is right outside the rooms. They had music on and carried on carelessly. We were so annoyed and angry. I did go out and ask them to quiet down, but they did not care, so I called the reception to complain about it and Steve, the nightime receptionist, finally dispersed them. We had such a hard time trying to get back to sleep. I don't mind people partying, but they could have done so in the picnic area which is a bit off the rooms area if they were respectful about others in a public place.
I did let the daytime receptionist know about it at check-out. They apologized for the inconvenience, that is all. I just hope that other customers will have a better luck.

I don't think that Cape Colony Inn reinforces quietness past a certain time (I was not informed myself), but it was a bummer for us. If I could rate it, I would say our experience was good, and not very good; however, Trip advisor jumps from Average to Very good as for rating. I am not sure that we will be back again. Still in search for our favorite place to stay in P-town.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucasarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCIptown, General Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the CCI. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, bathrooms, close proximity to town and expanded breakfast. We are sorry to hear about the loud noise from other guests. While we are not making excuses, when we discovered the noisy group, we took action to quiet them down. We certainly would like to make things right with you and hope that you’ll consider giving us another chance. Your feedback has been greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived in Provincetown for Carnival and this was one of only a few places that allowed for a less than 5-day stay. The location at first seems a bit far from the hustle and bustle, but then we learned to appreciate the distance. The walk from town is not too far and enjoyable. The ladies who work at the front desk are very helpful. The room was better than expected with a comfortable bed, Keurig coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator. The breakfast is pretty standard, but much appreciated when most breakfast locations have long waiting times. The pool area is nice and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCIptown, General Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Trevor,
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review. We are delighted that you had a great stay and experienced our clean, newly renovated suites, bathrooms, Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, heated pool and expanded breakfast. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Repeat visit here with friends - we chose to stay here again which is a nice testament on its own. The Cape Colony is not located right in the center of P-Town, but it isn't all that far away - and frankly, it's nice to be outside the hubbub on those busy nights. We rented bikes again - which is a great way to make everything work well. It's just 5 minutes or so by bike to the center of town. And on the rainy day we drove our car into town and paid for parking to make everything easier. Local bus works great - or a cab too - one day took a pedicab back from town but that seemed a little too expensive. The staff is nice, the rooms are updated, beds are comfortable, A/C works well, no noise issues or complaints, other guests were great, pool is nice. Additional fun features that we didn't use like the grilling area look great. Breakfast is continental - yogurt, waffles, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee - works great. The staff is well aware of the power of tripadvisor - so they "get it" and seem diligent to make sure they receive positive reviews and maintain what they have created. We had a 1st floor room this time and never noticed our neighbors above. I've written much lower reviews for much fancier hotels. Keep it up, Cape Colony! We will be back!

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor if you have mobility issues!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCIptown, General Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and write such a nice review. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated rooms and bathrooms and great staff that we are so fortunate to have. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our close proximity to the town and expanded breakfast including fresh waffles and hard boiled eggs. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The reception and departure at the front office was very professional, friendly and informative. The room was very clean, and the beds were supercomfortaby. Cape Colony location is excellent to all the local attractions. It is very easy to get to the rooms and the pool is fantastic. I especially enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast: waffles, fruits, cereal, bagels, juices, milk, coffee, yogurt, and it's nice to eat poolside or in your room!

Room Tip: The rooms are all very comfortable.
See more room tips
Green Features: Premises is clean and recycling is part of the hotel operations. Gardens, flowers and green are nice.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCIptown, General Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at CCI and writing such a nice review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful staff, the close proximity to town, our heated pool, our clean, newly renovated rooms and expanded breakfast. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Cape Colony Inn was the perfect place for us to stay during Carnival week. Not only were the rooms very clean and cozy, but the staff was extremely helpful and the breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend staying here to anyone who wants a cozy and convenient home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERS642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCIptown, General Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful staff, newly renovated spacious rooms and Simmons Beautyrest Pillow Top Mattresses . We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our expanded breakfast which includes fresh waffles and hard boiled eggs. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in August & can't wait to go back next summer. Our room was clean & included a microwave,refrigerator,ironing board & iron,flat screen TV,Keurig coffee dispenser, & Free WiFi. The bed was comfortable,providing a great night's sleep.
Loved the waffles that come with the free breakfast along with bagels,muffins,yogurt,cereal & fruit. There are several juices to pick from along with coffee & tea.
The pool is heated with great tables with umbrellas & comfortable couches surrounded by beautiful flowers. There is a fire pit which is surrounded with seating.
Another perk is the shuttle to town although it's a great walk.
Hope this gives others a feel for what a great place this is to stay. Sandy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy4151950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCIptown, General Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Sandy,
Thank you for staying with us at CCI and for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms, Keurig coffee makers, flat screen TV's, expanded complimentary breakfast and our new Simmons Beautyrest Pillow top mattresses. Additionally, we are pleased that you enjoyed our close proximity to town and all the additional amenities that the Cape Colony Inn has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.2 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.2 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#7 of 14 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Colony Inn

Property: Cape Colony Inn
Address: 280 Bradford Street, Provincetown, MA
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Provincetown
#2 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#2 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#3 Green Hotel in Provincetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Colony Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 Blocks from Public Beach, 57 Newly Renovated and immaculate rooms, featuring Simmons Beautyrest Pillowtop Mattresses & Pacific Coast Pillows, Cape Colony Inn offers the most comfortable bed at the best value in Provincetown. Air Conditioning, Heated Pool, Complimentary Wifi & Breakfast including Fresh Belgian Waffles, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Cereal, Coffee, Juices, Pastries, and more. A unique photograph adorns each room taken by local photographers of their favorite outer cape spots. Bed are triple sheeted with comforters and each room furnished with a new Flat Screen TV, Keurig Brewing Machines, Mini Refrigerator with freezer, Microwave, Ipod Clock Radios, Rusk Personal Products, Iron/Board, Hair Dryer and more. Outdoor Picnic & Games Area features Weber Gas Grills, Picnic Tables, Volley Ball, Ping Pong, Shuffle Board & Horseshoe Pit. Short walk to shops, galleries, restaurants, & clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cape Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Colony Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing