We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for a Provincetown stay”
Review of 8 Dyer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
8 Dyer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base for a Provincetown stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent three nights at 8 Dyer Hotel and Brandon and Steve were charming and attentive hosts throughout. We arrived tired after driving from Logan airport but after drinking Brandon's gin and tonics we felt fully revived! Steve offered lots of helpful advice and provided us with excellent bikes for an enjoyable day cycling on the local bike trails. Brandon's breakfasts were wonderful with everything (even the sticky buns) freshly made by him. We particularly liked the biscuits and gravy! All in all this is a lovely inn and highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Ric:

We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you at 8 Dyer Hotel and appreciate your kind words of review. We have great guests stay with us and they often comment on the quality of the breakfast. You mention the biscuits and gravy. Brandon likes to feature American comfort cuisine like cinnamon rolls, crab cakes and tater tots and sometimes burritos and Mexican-American foods, reflecting his heritage.

We love our international guests and look forward to welcoming you back again, soon.

Cheers!

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
294
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Conn.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I had an amazing stay at P'town's contemporary resort B&B, 8 Dyer Hotel.

Steve and Brandon are new innkeepers but they have quickly figured out the keys to success: Brandon cooks the best breakfast in town which for me included scrambled eggs, bacon, muffins and delicious banana bread and then, the most fluffy and not-too-sweet cinnamon rolls. They were like pockets of bakery heaven.


The pool was heated and crystal clear avid the jacuzzi hot and inviting. The complimentary bikes were a huge amenity for me. I got all around town with that awesome bike.

All in all, while I am afraid other people will discover this little corner of heaven, I feel that to not tell people who could enjoy it would be bad karma. Please don't book it up when I plan to return next year. Until then, I'm dreaming about those cinnamon rolls.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny_Getaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Sunny:

We enjoyed having you stay with us and are so pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts and the bikes! We appreciate your review of 8 Dyer Hotel. Come back an see us in the off-season when there is still so much to do in Provincetown!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was my first time in Ptown since i was much younger, and was there for a wedding over Labor Day Weekend, which brought a crowd in. The hosts were both great guys and very accommodating -- we decided to stay an extra day and it was as though we could have stayed a week. The B&B was clean and roomy and it was such a convenient location you could get just about all over the town on one of their bikes that are made available to you at no extra charge. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
MIchael H:

Thank you for kind words about 8 Dyer Hotel. We enjoyed having you stay with us! You mention our bikes; we are pleased to offer 8 Specialized brand mountain bikes to our guests, free of charge. These bikes are great for getting around Provincetown all day and even out to the dunes. We hope this convenience is of value to our guests, and based on the feedback we get, they seem to be a great amenity.

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent our honeymoon at 8 Dyer, it was an amazing experience. The perfect location and friendly owners with lots of recommendations on where to spend our days. Very modern decor but made us feel right at home. We also enjoyed lounging poolside. We are looking forward to coming back this year in December for Holly Folly!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Angela F:

We appreciate your review and are looking forward to your return for Holly Folly! Please let us know if there is anything we can do in advance of your stay (dinner reservations, spa treatment reservations, etc.) We do offer concierge services and enjoy working with our guests to make sure we can assist in planning for any special activities or events you may wish to participate in during your stay in P'town.

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Steve and Brandon epitomize gracious, friendly, tasteful hospitality. The inn is a beautiful, European-feeling spot, a 10-second walk to Commercial Street. Breakfasts are relaxing and delicious. The room (one of the Penthouse rooms) was delightful and comfortable, featuring a luxurious bed and perfect shower pressure.. We didn't take advantage of the pool or sauna, but we probably will next time. Oh yes, there will be a next time. My wife and I could not have designed a better spot for two getaway nights in P-Town. Steve and Brandon, thank you so much for setting the standard for the way it should be done by all innkeepers.

Room Tip: Definitely grab one of the penthouse rooms if they're available! They're so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear NSS29:

Thank you for staying at 8 Dyer Hotel and for your kind words in your review. We really enjoyed having you at the inn and sharing stories. Our staff really loved the gifts you left for them. We are looking forward to your next visit! 8 Dyer Hotel is as much fun in the off-season as it is in the summer and fall.

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just spent 3 nights there and it was a fantastic experience! Steve and Brandon are the nicest guys on the planet and run a great B&B. The room was spacious and clean, the common areas immaculate, the breakfast spread was delicious, and the amenities were outstanding (pool, hot tub, complimentary bikes, etc).
They were also very good at suggesting things to do and great places to eat. They really know the town and how to get the most out of a short stay. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKinJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Richard:

Thank you for your kind review. We so enjoyed having you and Bob stay with us! As you could tell, we really love hosting fun people at 8 Dyer Hotel and your energy and sense of humor really contributed to making the weekend fun! Please hurry back.

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for two nights near the end of our New England trip last October, and after numerous other stops found the 8 Dyer Hotel to be our favourite place to stay.

The 8 Dyer is situated in a great location just off the bustling Commercial Street in P-town, handily situated for many great bars and restaurants, all within walking distance. Do make reservations for dinner in season to avoid disappointment.

Tim and Frank were excellent hosts during our stay, providing great breakfasts, and even better recommendations for drinks and dinner, and we hope the Hotel is in similarly great hands now it has changed hands.

There wasn't much in the way of parking, so keys were left with the owners, so cars can be shuffled around as and when people need them, but not a major inconvenience.

We stayed in Room 10 which felt a little tight, mainly due to the luxurious and large bed taking up most of the room. Doors lead out on to decking overlooking the heated pool at the back of the property, and internally to the large communal area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Antony P:

Thank you for your review of 8 Dyer Hotel. Since you stayed here, we are under new management but we have tried hard to maintain the high standards set by Frank and Tim. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Room 10-- with its private deck that basically doubles the size of the room space, it is one of our best rooms.

We hope you will return to Provincetown and see what new amenities we are adding!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
894 reviews
1.2 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Dyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Dyer Hotel

Property: 8 Dyer Hotel
Address: 8 Dyer St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 8 Dyer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Dyer is a traveler’s ideal: a haven of serenity for body and mind, only steps from the city’s best shopping, bustling sights and lively night life. A sophisticated boutique hotel, we offer refined and mindful personalized service. Conveniently situated near Provincetown’s renowned gallery district just off historic Commercial Street, 8 Dyer is a new, chic fixture on the Provincetown scene. 8 Dyer offers genuine and unrivaled comfort without fuss or pretense. Fall in love with our glass-walled great room; guests can soak up the sun and relax in comfort, listen to music, or get lost in a new book. It’s a great place to socialize and meet others, or just sit by the fire and keep warm on our crisp fall days. Indulge in our expanded complimentary breakfast by the heated swimming pool in the morning, then revive in our large Jacuzzi spa and Finnish sauna before you go out at night. Our accommodations are as modern as they are versatile. All rooms and suites are outfitted with King or Queen beds, luxurious bedding and linens, plush towels, our signature bath amenities, and complimentary internet access. Most of our rooms also have fireplaces, for those romantic afternoons. 8 Dyer: a hotel where you can be comfortable and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your 8 Dyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing