We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a delight”
Review of 8 Dyer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
8 Dyer Hotel
Ranked #2 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a delight”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a wonderful visit to 8 Dyer Hotel during a rainy offseason weekend. The hosts were very flexible with our arrival time, and were able to provide all sorts of advice on activities and eating places (and extra umbrellas!). Very easy to walk everywhere in town.

The hotel is quite intimate, with its large central couch and open floorplan. Most of the rooms are on the upstairs mezzanine. We had no trouble with noise; there was some light traffic sounds that did not bother us at all, but bringing earplugs or using the in-room music through the provided player will work well if you require complete quiet. The whole place is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The hosts never felt intrusive, but were always accessible if needed.

The breakfast spread is truly incomparable-- I had seen other reviewers mention this when I was selecting a place to stay, and they were not exaggerating. Certainly the best food experience of Ptown starts with mornings at 8 Dyer!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay in Penthouse 3. Fireplace and jacuzzi soaking tub kept us warm and relaxed! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummycarrots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8_Dyer_Innkeepers, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Yummycarrots:

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We have been so pleased to have such wonderful guests stay with us and you were no exception.

You mention how quiet the inn is, and we have to agree: we strive to offer our guests an oasis of calm and relaxation and even in the summer season, our inn is quiet but not far from the fun venues and restaurants of Provincetown.

We hope you will return soon and look forward to hosting you!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
286
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Conveniently located at the quiet east end of Provincetown with excellent service and staff. A home away from home with the addition of a master chef. Eight Dyer Hotel has an appeal for all people with discerning taste.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Dominic560:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate when our guests give us feedback.

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying at 8 Dyer Hotel. We strive to deliver a comfortable, relaxing experience for all of our guests and we enjoyed hosting you. Please come back again soon!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My partner and I were very impressed with the hospitality shown from Brandon and Steve. We were welcomed upon exiting our vehicle, and our luggage was immediately taken care of. P2 was our home for 4 days and 3nights. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. For the cold nights we had a lovely fireplace, and an in-room jacuzzi tub over-looking the bed. The setup made for a very romantic stay. You will not have to go anywhere for breakfast!!! They put on an amazing spread of breakfast items daily, way beyond anything considered continental. From waffles to sausage and peppers we were overwhelmed with the variety in selection. I joked with Brandon about him being "Betty Crocker", but it was truly delicious. The hotel is located only a 5 minute walk from the center of Commercial Street. Having researched over 20 different hotels, comparing prices and different destinations we found our home away from home at 8 Dyer. We strongly recommend this place to anyone, and can't wait to return for future visits!

Best regards,

Christian and Shane





  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriscub21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Chriscub21:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay at 8 Dyer Hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed everything.

We take pride in understanding our guests' needs and delivering a great stay with delicious food and we try to pay attention to the details that make all the difference.

We enjoyed getting to know you both and hope that you will stay again soon. "Betty Crocker" will try out some new recipes on you!

Be well!

Brandon and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was out second time staying here. The rooms are great, the inn is just a block and a half away from the main pedestrian street where all restaurants and shops are. The breakfast each morning was magnificent and the proprietors could not be nicer. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Marek N:

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience at 8 Dyer Hotel. What we love is when we host guests who enjoy food and relaxation and all that 8 Dyer has to offer.

We really enjoyed having you stay and look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a blissful cocoon of a B&B. Brandon and Steven are perfect hosts who make you feel like their home is yours. The breakfast, the after-dinner drinks, the music, the fire, the flowers, the impeccable cleanliness--all make for a perfect getaway. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: P-2 was full of light from two skylights. Very comfortable bed. Fireplace at the foot of of the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannarellaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear NannarellaBoston:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your sharing how much you enjoyed 8 Dyer Hotel--it really is a special place and much of that spirit comes from guests like you!

We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to your next stay!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My boyfriend and I had a great experience at 8 Dyer Hotel. Steve and Brandon were fantastically accommodating even before we arrived to the Hotel. Amazing location, facilities, breakfast, trip advising, and hosts. Will be the number 1 place I want to stay from now on when I go to P-town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jordan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Jordan E:

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of 8 Dyer Hotel. We appreciate your taking the time to give us feedback.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you guys again soon!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

You couldn't ask for sweeter, more gracious hosts than Steve and Brandon. The house is beautiful, the rooms extremely comfortable (and romantic), the breakfasts were delicious, varied and generous to a fault. The wifi worked very well, the music selection they played was tasteful.The location is central... we walked everywhere within the town. They were also quite forgiving — my sleeping mask wasn't colour fast and ruined my pillow covers — but they refused to let me reimburse them.

All in all, the place was perfect for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_8DyerHotel, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear TeddyFrank:

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at 8 Dyer Hotel. We appreciate your kind words about the inn.

We agree that P'town offers a lot to do in the winter and we are so pleased you enjoyed your trip. We enjoyed having you guys stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.2 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.5 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Cook Street
The Inn at Cook Street
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Dyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Dyer Hotel

Property: 8 Dyer Hotel
Address: 8 Dyer St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 8 Dyer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Dyer is a traveler’s ideal: a haven of serenity for body and mind, only steps from the city’s best shopping, bustling sights and lively night life. A sophisticated boutique hotel, we offer refined and mindful personalized service. Conveniently situated near Provincetown’s renowned gallery district just off historic Commercial Street, 8 Dyer is a new, chic fixture on the Provincetown scene. 8 Dyer offers genuine and unrivaled comfort without fuss or pretense. Fall in love with our glass-walled great room; guests can soak up the sun and relax in comfort, listen to music, or get lost in a new book. It’s a great place to socialize and meet others, or just sit by the fire and keep warm on our crisp fall days. Indulge in our expanded complimentary breakfast by the heated swimming pool in the morning, then revive in our large Jacuzzi spa and Finnish sauna before you go out at night. Our accommodations are as modern as they are versatile. All rooms and suites are outfitted with King or Queen beds, luxurious bedding and linens, plush towels, our signature bath amenities, and complimentary internet access. Most of our rooms also have fireplaces, for those romantic afternoons. 8 Dyer: a hotel where you can be comfortable and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your 8 Dyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing