We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite Beach Town Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 8 Dyer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
8 Dyer Hotel
Ranked #2 of 63 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite Beach Town Inn”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It's been over ten years since my last Ptown visit. Based on the reviews, I booked a few days here during Carnival week. The experience? Unparalleled.

I agree with the other reviewers that Brandon and Steve are incredibly gracious hosts; the cleanliness, decor, location, and ambiance are exquisite; and the breakfast is an epicurean delight. Moreover, the diversity and good nature of the other guests was an added bonus. I left considering many of them new friends with plans to meet here again next year. For a homey, down-to-earth, beachy-- yet modern-- bed and breakfast, 8 Dyer can't be beat!

Room Tip: My room had a veranda overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: I love their saltwater pool: no harsh chemicals and made my skin feel great. They seem to go the extra mile in being a "green" establishment.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8_Dyer_Innkeepers, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Peggy B:

Thank you for your review and your kind words about 8 Dyer Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We pride ourselves on our amenities and attention to detail and happy you found everything congenial. We agree that Provincetown is a laid-back and relaxing but unpretentious town and we strive to make sure our service is friendly and unpretentious but not familiar.

We look forward to your return and rekindling friendships in Ptown.

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
283
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Steve and Brandon are such gracious hosts. They, along with their team of Daniel and Shane, make you feel like you are visiting friends and family at their home. 8 Dyer is a beautiful and intimate property on a quiet lane near the heart of everything Provincetown has to offer. While the rooms may be on the smaller side, remember it is a B&B and that only adds to the charm of staying in such a historic town. The beds, linens, decor are all top of the line. NOW, let's talk about breakfast…when you decide to stay at a B&B you hope for a breakfast offering different than the generic egg or pastry fare. DING, DING, DING…Brandon's skills in the kitchen will astound you. The breakfast is an absolute feast, and included varying signature recipes each of the 8 days we were there. This property is perfect for couples or a small group of friends traveling together. The garden/pool/spa is bursting with beautiful flowers and plants. I cannot say enough great things about 8 Dyer and the boys. They and this wonderful inn made for one of our most perfect vacations! Thanks guys! WE WILL BE BACK!!

Room Tip: There are 7 rooms. 4 with king beds which I prefer. Two rooms are 'penthouse' rooms with a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green with recycling notices and trash cans separated for trash and recyclables.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8_Dyer_Innkeepers, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear JFSmurf:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review regarding your experience at 8 Dyer Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you!

We appreciate your comments about the breakfast, our service, the 24-hour snack pantry and amenities. We take pride in looking after the small details that can make a stay just right. Not everyone notices all of them, but when you do notice, we appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed Brandon's breakfast. He loves to cook for our wonderful guests and we think it shows in the result.

We look forward to hosting you again, and thank you for your positive feedback!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I (two guys in our 30s) stayed at 8 Dyer for four nights in August 2014. The hotel lived up to the positive Trip Advisor reviews, which says a lot.

Highlights:
* Service / Attention to Detail: Welcome glass of wine, homemade breakfasts, excellent coffee, snacks available during the day (perfect to take to the beach), night caps available before bed, umbrellas for rainy days - Brandon and Steve thought of everything. Simply put, they do a great job of anticipating all of the little things that make for a memorable.
* Location: Super convenient to all restaurants, bars and shops in town as well as public transport to area beaches.

We're looking forward to a return trip in summer 2015.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8_Dyer_Innkeepers, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Jim P:


Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review regarding your experience at 8 Dyer Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you!

We appreciate your comments about the service, our 24-hour snack pantry and amenities. We take pride in looking after the small details that can make a stay just right. Not everyone notices all of them, but when you do notice, we appreciate it.

We look forward to hosting you again, and thank you for your positive feedback!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Steve and Brandon are outstanding hosts. I'm sure plenty has been written on the over the top breakfast they serve up each morning. But it is their attention to all details that sets them apart. If you find yourself going to Provincetown you would be remiss not to check out their boutique hotel. Well done guys!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8_Dyer_Innkeepers, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Mark B:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review regarding your experience at 8 Dyer Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you!

We appreciate your comments about the service at the inn. There are no 7-star hotels in Provincetown; it is just a relaxed, fun beach town with tons of fun people and 8 Dyer Hotel is privileged to host the finest of them. We try hard with our limited staff to care for our guests and your review indicates that we succeeded.

We look forward to hosting you again, and thank you for your positive feedback!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were so happy to find our room so private and quiet. We were concerned about the room proximity to the common rooms and noise. Absolutely no problem and we were the closest room to the common area! The location of the property really couldn't be better. we were 2 minute walk to the busy street full of boutique restaurants, shops and live shows, yet the property is an oasis of peacefulness. The hotel has enough bikes for all complementary and the trails through the sand dunes are moments away. Quite exquisite ride! so different. Steve and Brandon are just so welcoming and warm. This is probably the most tasteful property we have ever found. So fortunate we found it. Thank you Steve and Brandon!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. There is a top one with a huge balcony that looked especially nice
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel offers free use of bikes. There are enough bikes for everyone in hotel.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriatraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8_Dyer_Innkeepers, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear VictoriaTraveler9:


Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review regarding your experience at 8 Dyer Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you!

We appreciate your comments about quiet and peacefulness of the inn. We agree: it is an oasis from the hubbub of this busy town but close enough that you can enjoy Provincetown and rest up back at 8 Dyer Hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again, and thank you for your positive feedback!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at 8 Dyer, and we could not have asked for a better experience. Steve and Brandon are wonderful people who did everything they could to make us feel welcome, from making dinner reservations for us, to the world class breakfast, to the lovely room. Being only a half block off Commercial St, on the east end, makes it super close to town, but seems very quiet and secluded. The pool was also great when we got done shopping and wanted to just relax. When we come back to P-town, we will only be staying at 8 Dyer!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8_Dyer_Innkeepers, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Ian S:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review regarding your experience at 8 Dyer Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you!

We appreciate your comments about the amenities, such as the pool. We take pride in looking after the small details that can make a stay just right. Not everyone notices all of them, but when you do notice, we appreciate it.

We look forward to hosting you again, and thank you for your positive feedback!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in Provincetown (we stayed a week). Steve and Brandon are excellent hosts and very attentive to every detail about your stay. The place is absolutely emaculate, all the time. The rooms are small but modern and comfortable. We've never had a better breakfast at an inn or B&B anywhere -- it's a real highlight. I usually don't like writing over-the-top positive reviews because I don't think they are especially helpful, but there are really only positive things to say about this place. The pool is lovely (and rare in P-town). They also do all the "little things" right -- nice bathroom products, snacks out at night, ice water by the pool, umbrellas at the ready, good sights and restaurant recommendations. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Some are smaller than others, so inquire if that matters to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8_Dyer_Innkeepers, Owner at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Chris C:

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We have been so pleased to have such wonderful guests stay with us and you and your friends were no exception. It was really great to have all of you stay and enjoy the inn!

You mention how much you enjoyed the breakfasts. We really strive to provide a nutritious and delicious range of offerings and we are thrilled when our guests love the food. Brandon loves to cook and that shows in the variety and quality of the buffet.

We hope you will return soon and look forward to hosting you all!

Best regards,

Steve and Brandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.5 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Cook Street
The Inn at Cook Street
#1 of 63 in Provincetown
544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#3 of 63 in Provincetown
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Dyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Dyer Hotel

Property: 8 Dyer Hotel
Address: 8 Dyer St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 8 Dyer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Dyer is a traveler’s ideal: a haven of serenity for body and mind, only steps from the city’s best shopping, bustling sights and lively night life. A sophisticated boutique hotel, we offer refined and mindful personalized service. Conveniently situated near Provincetown’s renowned gallery district just off historic Commercial Street, 8 Dyer is a new, chic fixture on the Provincetown scene. 8 Dyer offers genuine and unrivaled comfort without fuss or pretense. Fall in love with our glass-walled great room; guests can soak up the sun and relax in comfort, listen to music, or get lost in a new book. It’s a great place to socialize and meet others, or just sit by the fire and keep warm on our crisp fall days. Indulge in our expanded complimentary breakfast by the heated swimming pool in the morning, then revive in our large Jacuzzi spa and Finnish sauna before you go out at night. Our accommodations are as modern as they are versatile. All rooms and suites are outfitted with King or Queen beds, luxurious bedding and linens, plush towels, our signature bath amenities, and complimentary internet access. Most of our rooms also have fireplaces, for those romantic afternoons. 8 Dyer: a hotel where you can be comfortable and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your 8 Dyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing