We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ambience and five star service”
Review of Salt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salt House Inn
Ranked #12 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding ambience and five star service”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

A restful retreat that manages to be both homey and glamorous at the same time. The Loft Room is chic, beautifully designed and luxurious while embodying the Cape Cod experience. The breakfast is as good as you'd get anywhere in the world. The owners are full of personality and local knowledge and clearly care deeply about giving their guests a top class stay. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFDubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
175
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Kevin and David were such great hosts. The room was very small, but had lovely character. The only downfall which will deter us from going back was the noise. You could literally hear conversations going on in the room next door along with other sounds. I am a very light sleeper, so didn't get much sleep either night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaduz
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Best place to be in Provincetown. A beautiful oasis with wonderful hosts.....nice rooms, great homemade breakfast.......
Right in the heart of Provincetown, close to all attractions.

We`ll be back.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helmut_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My mother and I were visiting from England and stopped in Provincetown for 2 days and 2 nights. I found Salt House Inn on blogs but nothing could prepare me for how beautiful and put together this little B&B would be!
Gorgeous rooms, AMAZING breakfasts (seriously, I still dream about that peach french toast!) and lovely owners. You cannot get better than this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ceribebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I love to travel and be surprised by places we visit and stay!
We had the pleasure of staying at the Salt House Inn, which has recently been redone. Not one detail has been overlooked! The upper deck was a wonderful place to relax...before heading out, or to have a glass of wine at the end of an interesting day. The deck was complete with comfortable seating, a very comfortable antique bed, and beautiful flowers and plants, in falls finest colors. Our room was very well appointed...and interestingly designed; the bathroom was very precise, with a wonderful shower, and the best hand soap...Further. The bedding was crisp and so fresh, and the bed more than comfortable. The "icing on the cake" was the gourmet breakfast that Kevin prepared! Excellent coffee, wonderful breakfast tacos, fruits, pastries...more than one could imagine. One whole wall in the breakfast room displayed the menu, the date, the tides and other useful information. I can't say enough about our wonderful stay here, and I will definitely stay here again! Thank you Kevin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was our first trip to Provincetown, and luckily we picked a GREAT place to stay.

As others have said, the breakfast was AMAZING. We always started off our days really full, because of course we had to try everything they offered, since it was always amazing. Lots of fancy torts and cupcakes, to go along with really good coffee.

The room we had was rather small, but very comfortable. The sheets looked clean and the pillows were fluffy. Also the air conditioning was set low and we slept really well. The bathroom was really nice also with a big shower and nice soaps.

One day I got EXTREMELY sunburned, and all I had to do was walk down to the front office and the nice lady who cleans the room gave me aloe and a lidocaine based spray to help me recover! I really appreciated this.

In conclusion, when we come back to Provincetown, we'll definitely stay at Salt House Inn. Good job Kevin and David!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I had to attend a wedding in Ptown in September. Having been to Ptown several times prior, and loving its quaintness and quirkiness, we were looking forward to our return.

We researched available accommodations for our dates and, based on photos, rates and reviews, booked at Salt House Inn in early summer. Luckily we had planned ahead because this inn is amazing!

First, the owners of Salt House Inn, Kevin and David, were (are) the best. They're attentive, friendly and funny. They gave us recommendations for restaurants (which were great) and suggested other activities too. When we left they drove us to the ferry to see us off!

Second, the breakfast each morning is like what one would expect when staying at a really nice hotel or at a good grandma's house. Kevin prepared a large spread of freshly baked goods, juices, GOOD coffee (not brown water like so many other places) and other deliciousness every day. He must get up really early to accomplish this breakfast feat! I asked if he has help and he just laughed and said no. I guess David sleeps in.

Third, the room was fabulous. It was large, very clean, and well designed and decorated with flea market or antique finds. We selected SHI in part because of the images online and it didn't disappoint. The bed was very comfortable, the linens were white and like new, the pillows fluffy and excellent! We slept like babies! The bathrooms were great, with a walk in shower, white tiles and cool fixtures. The soaps and shampoos were notably good quality Bigelow (sp ?) products. When we commented to them about how much we liked the inn and the rooms they told us that both have backgrounds in the hotel industry (it shows) and that Kevin did all of the design of the inn (I guess he did this after preparing those amazing breakfasts? I wondered, just how long does David need to sleep in? Just joking David, please let me stay here again!) Also, the air conditioning worked perfectly; cool and quiet, just how we like it!

Fourth, the lobby / dining / sitting room was comfortable and fun. It just felt good to be in there. There is a very large painting they have hanging that looks sort of like Cary Grant on a horse (Kevin called him Sir Gregory, I believe, and said he was "a find") that I especially liked. It would probably be quite an experience to go shopping / hunting with Kevin to find all his decor.

Fifth, the "other things" just topped it all off. There are nice tables and chairs to sit outside for breakfast or to lounge in the afternoon. There was free parking for guests (we didn't need it, but will for our future booking!). Commercial street is just a couple blocks away, making it convenient yet quiet. The lady who cleaned our room each day was very nice and did a great job of making the room look like we were just checking in every day. Lastly, the price was more than reasonable for Ptown. In fact, considering what you get for your money its a steal. On prior visits to Ptown we've stayed in musty, tattered rooms the size of a walk in closet that were more expensive than SHI.

So, in summary we loved this place. I hope they have availability next time we want go to Ptown. Actually, I don't think we would stay anywhere else.

Thank you David and Kevin!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OaklynSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eben House
Eben House
#15 of 62 in Provincetown
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt House Inn

Property: Salt House Inn
Address: 6 Conwell St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1597
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salt House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining bed and breakfast in Provincetown, Salt House Inn offers a chic modern retreat in the center of Provincetown. Fully renovated the inn features 15 guestrooms, all with private bathrooms, beautiful gardens and our lavish Sun Terrace perfect for soaking in the warm Cape Cod sun. Each morning guests are treated to our signature house made rustic breakfast in the beautiful breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Salt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexter`s Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing