We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“T Dance wait - THE WORST EVER!”
Review of Boatslip Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boatslip Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“T Dance wait - THE WORST EVER!”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My partner got into the afternoon T Dance at around 5pm (it's from 4-7), it was packed, big lines at every bar, so we decided to split up and go to separate lines on different sides of the pool area to try to get drinks. I waited in line 45 MINUTES for a drink!!!! In all the years I've been going to parties like this, this was HANDS DOWN the worst, most ill-run party I've ever been to. The Boat Slip has been doing this party for years - I can't imagine how they could be so COMPLETELY unprepared for the crowd. Everyone I was with in the line was FURIOUS. I've never seen anything like it. They should have had 30 bartenders to handle that large a crowd. My partner said his lines were just as bad at the large bar where he was and people all around him were incensed. Unless you don't plan to drink ANYTHING or go to the bathroom (the lines to the bathrooms were equally insane), stay FAR AWAY from this party. It's really too bad because the music sounded great - I just never got to the dance floor. As I was leaving, they weren't even honoring the $35 passes that we we bought which were supposed to give us a separate line for entrance into the party! They were making the pass holders get in line with the hundreds of other people trying to get in!!! A TOTAL rip-off!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TraneInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    44
    23
    9
    14
See reviews for
5
48
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The Boatslip is far from a resort, but it is a well-maintained older motor lodge with a huge deck and nice pool. The room is simple, but clean and fairly roomy. I really did not like that the bathroom had no hook to hang your stuff on, which seems standard in any hotel, but otherwise, the staff was very friendly, the location was good, and we had a nice stay. We were slightly off season, and mid week, so the tea dance was nothing memorable, and it was not all that noisy -- we slept through it one afternoon in our room overlooking the pool. The rooms are a little pricey, but I guess that's Provincetown.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richnindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Room was $200+ because we went during peak for realxing weekend. Rooms need some updating especially the bathroom which has a closet-like door which is very odd.
AC worked amazingly well- probably too well and thats a good thing. Staff was friendly. No WIFI throughtout the property. For what we paid they should have had wifi in every room. Tea Dance was fun with good music. Slept very comfortably and room was quiet.Felt safe as well. The only bad thing was each morning at breakfast there is a an attendant who stares (very uncomfortable) are you as you are serve yourself (muffins,juice,coffee thats all). He will always replenish while you people are still standing there (its a very small space) and one morning I even had to step out of his way! That whole breakfast experience is totally unnecessary. I would recommend the hotel to ppl who want to and fun in sun and be close to all the activity.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarrolltonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The location of the hotel, near bars, restaurants and being host of the Tea dance is great. But the sink is rusting, the bathroom door is falling apart and the condition of the rooms are not reflected in the $200-300 rate that we paid per night.

Also, their breakfast bar attendant, Bob, needs to understand that there is no need to refill the OJ whenever the carafe is down just a merely 8 oz!! He was constantly refilling this and that, even in between guests trying to get a pastry, coffee or juice. He was in the way!!! He should consider coming back to refill things every 20-30 minutes, instead of lurking over the area.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rob1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Have stayed at Boatslip Resort 4 or 5 times over the past few years and it is the perfect base from which to explore P-Town!
Rooms are clean and tidy - complete with recently installed airconditioning.
amazingly enough on each of our stays have had the same room - complete with balcony and view over pool! Views from balcony can be impressive!!!!
As a base the resort is located on the main street, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Town. The deck is the perfect place to soak up the Sun, complete with pool or if the tide is right the sea lapping at the foot of the stairs from deck to beach.
Week we were there we turned off aircon and slept with balcony doors open, but had the choise!
Staff are incredibly helpful and always welcoming!
Although we only get over to the States about twice a year, we always try and include a trip to P-Town, and choose the Boatslip as our base from which to explore this incredible town!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Where can I begin in discussing my recent trip the Boatslip Resort? This was my first time and I had stumbled over this property through an extensive search to find a good hotel in ptown for my girlfriend and I to celebrate our bdays and have some friends join us as well. There are so many things to rave about in terms of this hotel and the things that it offers. The resort is mostly gay men but there were some lesbian couples too so we didn't feel alone.

The location is great since its on the main street of Commercial St, where all the bars, restaurants, clubs, and shops are. The hotel is also closer to the end of the street so at night you won't hear any of the noise the bars and clubs produce. Everything is about a 10-15minute walk from the hotel so you can park your car and leave it parked for your whole trip.

Sleeping was great, there wasn't any late night noise from partiers or cars. Everything was peaceful enough that we could keep our balcony door open and hear the ocean! The beds were comfortable and the sheets felt great against your skin, espcially after a long day on the beach and town. The rooms look like the pictures provided, nothing too fancy but nice enough and well worth it.

Terry, the GM, has a great staff working for him and helping rebuild the Boatslip name. Everyone was willing to help and all looked as if they truly enjoyed their jobs; if someone did not know an answer they made it a point to find out. I want to definately mention Caitlin whom works at the front desk and was very helpful in answering my questions.

The Tea Dance was fabulous and it hosted a variety of different types of music throughout our 4 night stay and contray to other reviews, the music is not obnoxiously loud like a night club. We were in a room above the dance and although we could hear the bass and feel a slight vibration, it was not unbearable and we were still able to relax and take a nap during the tea dance if need be.

The resort is right over the beach with an immediate access stairway for guests through the deck area. The deck are was very clean and comfortable, enough room for loads of people to stretch out in the sun without being on top of each other. The pool was excellent as well and the temp was always comfortable to dive right on in.

My partner and my experience at the Boatslip was increadible. Our original reservation was for 3 nights but a few hrs after we checked out we both decided to stay an additonal night and Terry was very helpful with this reservation. This is an excellent place to stay and leaves you feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. My partner and I, as well as our friends whom joined us for a bit, have all agreed that we will be returning next yr to the Boatslip, no questions asked.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HospBot39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Boatslip has gone under a great change over the last couple of years. The rooms have been remodeled, the bar at front has been remodeled and the staff is incredible. The rooms are very comfortable, roomy and each room has a refigerator. The central a/c is great even to take some humdity out of the air. If you can, score a room on the pool side facing the deck and harbor. It is a great place to have friends join you before going down to Tea Dance.

GM Terry has brought in a top notch staff who greet you and call you by name. They have a smile on their face. Make sure you stop by the Buoy Bar and say hello to Michael and David.

I highly recommend it if you want to spend some extra and be in the center of all the fun. Just be sure to say Fancy and Clancho sent you!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyGayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.8 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
960 reviews
1.2 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.6 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boatslip Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatslip Resort

Property: Boatslip Resort
Address: 161 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boatslip Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boatslip, the legendary waterfront landmark and home of the World Famous Tea Dance is located on Commercial Street steps away from historic Provincetown's retail shops, galleries, restaurants and nightlife. Situated in the West End on Provincetown Harbor, the Boatslip offers guests air-conditioned waterfront rooms with private remodeled baths, some with private balconies, limited on-site parking, continental breakfast, a heated pool and sundeck and of course, complimentary admission to Tea Dance! With more than 10 different bars on site, we are an over 21 years of age destination resort. Our wonderfully diverse clientele enjoy an open and inclusive atmosphere making the Boatslip Resort the number one Provincetown destination for the GLBT community and their friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Boatslip Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boatslip Resort Provincetown
Boatslip Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing