We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby, not chic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gifford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gifford House Inn
Ranked #43 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shabby, not chic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

If you're not fussy about the room decor, The Gifford House, offers a good value for Provincetown, MA. This is one of the oldest hotels in town. I recently stayed in the Annex. The Annex is quieter than the main hotel. The main part of the hotel has a club and piano bar in it. It's not completely quiet in the Annex, but not bad, certainly quieter than the main part. The room I had was very large with two queens size beds. The large room was nice since I shared the room with a friend. Plenty of room to spread out. This top floor room in the front of the Annex (looking out on Carver St.) also had a nice view of the harbor. Old furnishings, however comfortable beds, refrigerator, sofa and chairs. The room and bathroom were clean. Continental breakfast not bad, the mini-muffins were good, also, hard boiled eggs, toast, fruit, cereal, coffee, tea and juice.

Room Tip: It's an old hotel so you will hear some noise, or music from other rooms. For quieter rooms ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
3
24
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

The Gifford house is all in one it has a great bar with excellent drinks made by Greg, Roy and Gina David and Harvey at the front desk are welcoming and would do anything to help your stay more pleasant The rooms are spotless with friendly staff it is in the center of things so you don't have to walk to far also there are theme nights in the club downstairs

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here during off-season rates so it wasn't that expensive - the on season rates are overboard for this hotel. I found other hotels that were less expensive - so I'd recommend finding one of them because it wasn't worth the extra money to stay here.

There aren't many amenities and it's a basic hotel with basic rooms in an old style Victorian house. The breakfast isn't very good - there isn't much fresh fruit, not enough tea selection, and the assortment of food is very basic - mainly bread, cereals and yogurt. The hotel and rooms are clean. There was no AC, but luckily when it got hot in the room we were able to open the windows and cool off - if this was summertime we'd be cooking.

The bed is very hard and it was difficult to get a good night sleep. And the music that is in the parlor goes to very late at night. There is no chance to get to sleep before they are done. The piano musicians aren't very good - unless you like cabaret style singing you're out of luck.

The hotel is very close to downtown and commercial street so it's an easy walk to anywhere you want to go in ptown - so it is a good location. Staff and service is fine. They have parking available and you leave your key with them so they can juggle cars because of blocking.

Nothing special here.

Room Tip: Get AC if it's summer or into early September. Add a few days to that estimate every year due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank personallyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We've stayed at the Gifford House many times for the past ten years, & it's always the best time!! David always takes great care of us, & the staff is warm, wonderful & welcoming..When you go to Ptown, stay here. Great cocktails, & good breakfast, too!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxRule2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Gifford House Inn place is pretty basic (except breakfast which is a joke). Good place if you want a no frills mid price place to stay for a night and don't care about the service. I recently cancelled an off season reservation 1 week in advance and was charged $120 cancellation fee, so obviously I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BostonMike617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Provincetown hotels

key west
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I spent 6 days the end of July into the begining of August at The Gifford House. I was immediately greeted by a friendly desk clerk. I was checked in quickly and told of all the hotel had to offer. My room was bright, very clean and perfectly comfortable. The location centrally located in the heart of everything. I chatted daily with the staff and found each to be as nice as the rest. I would definitely recommend The Gifford House, its all you need for a relaxing low key stay in PTown.
Kevin Crawford

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plainfield, nj
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is my 29th summer visiting P-town and I've stayed in alot of places. This is a charming, mid-range Victorian style hotel. If you're looking for a michelin 5 star hotel, this is not it, but if you want a very livable place with helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms and central location, then this is a great place. My rooms are always comfortable. The owner, Jim, and his partner work hard to train their staff and make sure they provide good service (not an easy task in a transient, vacation town like Provincetown. The lobby and porch bars are great places for meeting folk. The basement disco may not be your cup of tea, but it, like the town, closes at one so it shouldn't disturb your sleep too badly. I recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comicbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Crown and Anchor Inn
Crown and Anchor Inn
#26 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crew's Quarters
Crew's Quarters
#42 of 62 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaconlight Guesthouse
Beaconlight Guesthouse
#48 of 62 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at 7 Central
Inn at 7 Central
#9 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Wind Inn
White Wind Inn
#28 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gifford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gifford House Inn

Property: Gifford House Inn
Address: 9 Carver St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2111
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gifford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gifford House Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing