We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Provincetown Classic”
Review of Gifford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gifford House Inn
Ranked #46 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2007

Have recently stayed at The Gifford House in for a quiet winter weekend in Provincetown. It is wonderful to have a year round restaurant in the hotel now. The basement nightclub is free to guests of the hotel. The club is one of the top three clubs in town.

I have been staying at The Gifford House Inn for over 12 years.

It keeps getting better - but remains a wonderful escape from
the pressures of the "real world" and even the trendiness that has come to Provincetown.

A drink on the porchbar is relaxing - and you get to enjoy the view of the fully renovated homes and landscaping of the 5 star Brass Key Resort across the street.

The Restaurant is delicious Thai food. The Porchbar is relaxing outside and beautiful inside with vintage gay themed original artwork. The lobby has a Piano Bar with live entertainment. The nightclub has quite a history and brings in the wildest men in town.

While now a relaxed affordable party inn that would not meet the needs of those expecting quiet evenings (at least in the Summer Season), homemade breakfast and 400 count sheets - it does have a history of elegance. Three US Presidents have spent time under the roof on official visits to Provincetown in it's Victorian heyday.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RJP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2006

I have stayed in this place last year and I decided to book this one this time.. It is 3 story building with the raised entry level and several parking space on Carver street and Bradford street. The rooms are double occupancy all coming with the private bathrooms, some rooms have TV and have a front view and the top level overlooking the water and the memorial. the low rate room does not have TV or AC but the weather was cool enough to get by without even a fan during the carnival week .

The booking inquiry was answered within 12 hours over the phone and the person was very efficent with the process( half the charge must be taken upon booking and the rest at the checkin desk)

This place has 3 major features, a front porch bar with the cabaret style singer around 10pm every night (wine served mostly) and the bear den called purgatory at the lower level, burly men exclusively and it is always quiet unlike the porch bar every night. The guests with the room keys enter free of charge. The last is a Thai restaurant next to the check-in area.

The room is really basic, shabby to be honest and the mattress could be a little bit on the rough side waking up with the back pain in the morning. And the quilt are not washed often and has some sour smell. Other than that, at $100-150, you get the prime location close to boatslip, Spiritus, A-House, Heaven Cafe. The room size is large for P Town standard. The breakfast is about average with eggs, muffins, coffee in thermos, fruits, bagels, cornflakes..Expect that the whole building will vibrate for good 30-45min after 10pm from singing downstairs with the microphone.

The cleaning staff are working hard and efficiently and the general cleanliness is very good after the bar hours and during the day time.

There aren't any 5 star hotels in p town but some well-maintained guest houses around $250+ and they are trying to take 3-5 day bookings then the gap date fillers toward July-August months. at around $150, you can find a better inn than Gifford but location-wisely, nothing else can beat this one in this price range and facility even if it is on the basic side. And, they tend to have more rooms on any day as it has more rooms than many other places. A pre-peak season reservation requires min. 4 night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsianPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2004

As frequent visitors to Provincetown, we've passed The Gifford House many times, but never actually stayed there. For some unknown reason we always assumed it wouldn't be to our liking. Our assumption was erroneous. We needed a room just for one night this week, which is a near impossiblilty in high season in Provincetown when most lodging establishments require a 4 night minimum. To add fuel to the fire, this is carnival week, the busiest week of the summer, when a 5 night minimum is the norm. After spending an entire afternoon, calling every imaginable lodging establishment in town, the chamber of commerce, and the local lodging reservation service we had about given up. Especially after being snickered at, sarcastically barbed, and rudely spoken to by all who couldn`t believe our absurd request at such a busy time. It was then that The Gifford House came to mind. A very amiable hotel manager, Dave, answered my call. After some good natured banter about my bad timing, Dave announced that he did, indeed, have a room for us for that one night. It was reasonably priced, especially for carnival week, had a queen bed, private bath, and a bay view. Needless to say, we didn`t hesitate to book it. We arrived at the hotel, not really expecing much, but grateful for our good luck. Imagine our surprise to find the ambience of a really charming, yellow clapboard, early 20th century seaside hotel. The warm and inviting lobby, with floral print wallpaper and antiques, bustled with energy and activity from a genial and diverse crowd of gay men. The well know "attitude" of provincetown was totally absent here. The helpful and friendly desk staff showed us to our second floor room. The room was of modest size, but the bathroom was huge. It was actually 2 separate rooms: one for the tub-shower, another for the sink-vanity and toilet. Actually, the bathroom floors and tub area were newly tiled...surprisingly nice. Everything else had that old-world charm, but all was immaculately clean and maintained. Walls were freshly painted and carpet was in fine condition. We also enjoyed the aforementioned bay views from all 4 windows. There are no room phones and as mentioned in the previous review, no a.c. A good size fan is supplied, however, and we were very comfortable. The continental breakfast is simple but adequate. The reservation staff does point out that this is a party hotel and can be noisy until 1:am. The vast majority of the clientele are here vacationing, so that is hardly a problem. There are 3 bars here: the lobby piano bar with show tune sing-a-longs, The Porchside Bar, with atmospheric fireplace for the cooler months, and Club Purgatory-the dance bar. Also an excellent, but expensive restaurant, Stillwaters, off the lobby. The hotel has an exceptional location, close to everything you`ll want to see and do in Provincetown. We really got a very warm and friendly vibe from The Gifford House and we`ll definitely return next time around.

8  Thank quindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2004

I liked the gracefully aging Gifford House and its eccentric personality. It's primarily oriented towards gay men but very female-friendly. Pluses include a gorgeous sweeping veranda with bar, hilarious art and an attentive, sweet front desk staff. Minuses include no air conditioning. They could also stand to re-carpet the rooms... it' s getting a little nasty. Second floor bedrooms can get awfully noisy on weekend nights, between the nightclub in the basement and the piano bar in the lobby. (Both close down by 1 am.) The coffee's awful and the breakfast buffet is scanty, but what more do you expect for such reasoable prices and such charming company?I'd stay there again in a pinch.

9  Thank Mollydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pavel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViaggichepassioneLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.1 mi away
Crew's Quarters
Crew's Quarters
#42 of 62 in Provincetown
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Guest House
Lotus Guest House
#25 of 62 in Provincetown
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bradford - Carver House
Bradford - Carver House
#35 of 62 in Provincetown
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moffett House
Moffett House
#20 of 62 in Provincetown
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sage Inn & Lounge
Sage Inn & Lounge
#15 of 62 in Provincetown
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gifford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gifford House Inn

Address: 9 Carver St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2111
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from the mid-1800s, this casual, gay-friendly bed-and-breakfast is a 9-minute walk from the MacMillan Pier ferry dock, 3.2 miles from Race Point Beach and 18.1 miles from Cape Cod National Seashore. The straightforward rooms and suites (most with air-conditioning) feature free Wi-Fi; some have additional bedrooms, minifridges, TVs, microwaves and/or bay views. Continental breakfast is served. On-site parking are free. Other amenities include a relaxed restaurant, a lounge, a piano bar and a dance club, plus a communal porch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gifford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gifford House Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing